We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milliken Creek Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Milliken Creek Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
4.5 of 5 Inn   |   1815 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine Country Uncorked
Ranked #11 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Amazing location, beautiful room, staff who could not do enough for us and amazing places to eat just a cab ride away for around $5.

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights on route from San Francisco to Big Sur and from the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were simply amazed at the care and attention to detail by the staff. They are friendly and often second guessing our requirements - I'm going to suggest half the hotels I've stayed in around the world take a visit to this hotel to find out how to offer exceptional service.

I booked a massage in the Spa, it was so good that I booked for the next day - best massage ever and I go to the 'best one' in London.

Everything from the breakfast to the turn down service was handled with love and care.

I'm puzzled by the complaints in other reviews on matters such as parking - perhaps they own a truck and trailer? There's plenty of well laid out parking.

One of the best features was that we felt that we were the only people staying, although the place was full. My wife and I would often spend hours simply relaxing in the room or the grounds.

We've been to some of the best hotels in the world and this one is up there with them.

Book it without hesitation - it was far better than our next hotel in Big Sur and half the price!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    25
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
219
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The staff is very friendly and the room was extremely comfortable. The grounds are relaxing with fountains all around, nice flower beds and the Napa River running through it. Given the cost for the room, however, I expected Milliken to be the kind of place you could relax at for part of the day before hitting town. Not the case. You can walk the grounds from one end to the other in less than 5 minutes. Small facility- only 12 rooms. Breakfast is not served until 8:00 am and there are no coffee makers in the room (neither lunch nor dinner is served). For an east coaster like me, waiting for coffee until 8 was life threatening. I asked for a coffee maker and was told they would bring one over. When we got back that night there was no coffee maker. Stayed 2 nights and each night, around 10, an air compressor in the whirlpool/tub went off inexplicably for about 2-3 minutes and was real loud. Finally, parking is hard. They do not have enough parking spots so people get creative. There is no street parking because the Inn is on a highway (leaving no place to jog). Next time we will look for a place in Yountville, which is a much more quaint area of Napa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It started with the phone call with Joyce and was followed up by our check in with Missy. AMAZING!! The attention to detail, the help and suggestions offered, were wonderful. The grounds were immaculately groomed and the room was cozy (had a fireplace) the bedding so comfortable, and the robes were just what we were looking for after a hectic stay in SFO. Nightly wine tastings and then finishing the evening off with some port and chocolates was divine! The spa was perfect. My husband and I planned two massages and probably could have had one daily! The staff was so nice and accommodating. As you can see I don't have enough words to express how nice our stay was at Milliken Creek. I certainly hope to get back someday!!!

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony, but breakfast was delivered anywhere on the grounds. But, many other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Though I have no frame of reference for the Napa Valley specifically, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On a global basis, this is one of the best hotel stays I have experienced.
The staff is polite and attentive, but not overly accommodating in that "leave me alone already" sort of way. I prefer some space, but do like to have all needs addressed either proactively or very quickly if it is a reactive situation.
I enjoy places that are a bit more classic, low key, and of course high quality. Milliken exceeded expectations on all fronts. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place that is low-key, classic, yet sophisticated. No glitz or glam, there are plenty of other places to see and be seen in Napa.
Loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and loved it, not sure what the other options were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Gorgeous hotel set in the lush gardens complete with babbling fountains next to a beautiful river. The room had its own private patio with a table and chairs, perfect for morning coffee. Incredible service – they bring you breakfast to order in the morning. The room was clean, beautiful and perfect. Loved the fireplace! In the lobby they have DVDs that you can watch in the room. Perfect romantic inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenbach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed three nights at Milliken Creek. It was the end of our long journey through the western part of the United States with a total of 10 stops.
We were really looking forward to this last stop, it should have been the highlight which it wasn't.
We paid US$2,024.82 for bed and breakfast for 2 people for 3 nights in a deluxe room which in our opinion is quite an amount of money.
Our bed (king-size) had seen better times. Your could really feel the inside of the mattress. The room was quite dark. Whilst this may be romantic (we have no problem with this) a bit more light in between would have been good.
There is no breakfast room at Milliken Creek which is good for the resort since they can use their space to sell more rooms. Breakfast is being served to your room which sounds good in the first place. We would however have preferred having the choice. Breakfast is not really good and it is not sufficient. You have the choice between a few variations. Looking at the size of the breakfast, it is probably good for some models in Hollywood and not for "normal people". Coffee is just enough to fill 2 cups by approx. two thirds. Ordering two pots on day two we got 1 with the explanation that we can always phone during breakfast and another coffee will then be delivered. I am not interrupting my breakfast to fill up my cup.....
There is a creek close by. The water is not really flowing and there is always a certain smell in the air. Talking about smell, Milliken seems to have some problems with their drain. You clearly notice it when you sit on your little terrace hoping to enjoy a good glass of wine.
We are not recommending the place. It is simply too expensive for what you get. Should other guests have a different view, no problem, we are living in a free world.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenview, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Frankly, I was expecting a more upscale boutique inn for the money that I was paying.

Upon arrival I didn't feel especially welcomed by anyone. There was no bellman or anyone showing any sort of hospitality. Once I found Joyce, she didn’t seem very happy to be doing her job. She had no personality and has no business working the front desk or showing guests to their rooms. The young woman working the desk Saturday morning, May 31, was greatly under-trained. She had no knowledge of what time most stores opened up in town or any recommendations of shops. Her reply was, "I don't really shop in town." What a poor response! Train your staff! No staff member stood out or impressed us in any way during our stay.

Room #8 was nicely decorated, but was dated. The bed and bedding were the best part of the room. The carpet on the stairs leading up to the room appeared to be new. However, as soon as we stepped into the room we noticed that the carpeting was in horrible shape. It was worn and ripped. Why stop the new carpet just outside the guestroom door? What a shame... The bathroom door squeaks terribly and the toilet tank 'runs' and needs adjustment. The warped Pergo flooring in the toilet room makes the place look cheap. Very disappointed that this room was so run down and housekeeping, the maintenance crew and management aren't more on top of these things (and does something about it.)

Our stay was enjoyable because of the memories that we made, unfortunately not by the quality of the inn. For the premium cost per night, this inn fell far below expectations. I felt completely ripped off!

We had nice massages at the spa, but (again), way overpriced for the quality of the facility and services given. The grounds were nice, but could have been more manicured and weren’t as large as advertised.

There was only one person who stood out and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. That person was Missy Parras, whom I didn't even have the pleasure to meet personally and thank her. She made numerous reservations for us ahead of our trip and I'm very grateful for her assistance.

The awards, accolades, & fancy website are all false advertising.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSInns, Manager at Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
I was so sorry to read the review of your stay at Milliken Creek Inn & Spa as we always strive to ensure that our guests feel they have experienced the ultimate in luxury, comfort, hospitality and value while visiting with us. Every one of our staff takes pride in the level of service they provide, so I apologize that we missed the mark on this occasion.

Our front desk staff are highly trained in guest service as well as being local to the area, the perfect combination to assist our guests in experiencing the very best of wine country. I understand that we made every effort to help during check-in as well as in researching store information, so again, I apologize for the situation.

I would very much like to discuss this matter further, directly with you, in the hopes of welcoming you back to Milliken Creek Inn & Spa.

Warmly,

David Jessup
General Manager
Milliken Creek Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milliken Creek Inn and Spa

Address: 1815 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milliken Creek Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, an elegant Napa hotel in California's esteemed wine country. Hidden away on three verdant acres overlooking the idyllic Napa River, discover a place unlike any other Napa hotel.Here you will encounter five-star luxury that emphasizes thoroughly sophisticated service and style in a tranquil, intimate ambiance.In this superb Napa Valley setting, simply sumptuous accommodations are bathed in serene colors and accented with an exotic flair. Thoughtful touches invite pampering and romance, such as flickering fireplaces, canopy beds with the finest linens, rain showers and oversized hydrotherapy tubs outfitted with green tea bath salts and votive candles. Combining the best signature service of larger Napa hotels with a very exclusive and intimate ambiance. This luxury Napa hotel offers 12 exclusive and very private suites, each with a unique style of its own unlike other Napa Valley hotels.Ease into your day with a gourmet breakfast served wherever you wish, from the privacy of your room to al fresco on the Waterfall Terrace. At day's end, unwind at the Magic Hour, our complimentary wine and cheese reception, where you can meet local vintners, chat with our staff members and share stories with other guests.Envelop your senses in pure bliss at our stunning Milliken Creek Spa, where healing, natural elements unite with holistic, therapeutic treatments. Treat yourself to a restorative aromatherapy massage and a revitalizing facial in this private spa that caters exclusively to our guests.Do as little or as much as you would like. Wander the lush grounds, relax in Adirondack chairs, or take it all in from your private deck. Venture forth and explore everything from the scenic Silverado Trail to the area's incomparable wineries, world-renowned restaurants, intriguing shops, plus endless events and activities. Milliken Creek Inn & Spa is a Boutique Napa Valley hotel paired with world-class service. We look forward to pampering you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Milliken Creek Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milliken Creek Hotel Napa
Milliken Creek Inn And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.