We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clos DuVal Winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clos Du Val Winery

Clos Du Val Winery
5330 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558
707-261-5251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 216 Activities in Napa
Type: Valleys, Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Dining, Drinking, Driving, Group tours/bus tour, Group tours/day tour, Group tours/train, Group tours/walking tour, Hot-air ballooning, Shopping, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tasting Room & Picnic Grounds: Clos Du Val boasts one of the most friendly, down-to-earth winery experiences in Napa Valley brought to you in an incomparably beautiful setting. We offer everything from a casual tasting at our tasting bar, to formal tours and tastings with our winemaker, to large group wine tasting and blending seminars. Our beautifully manicured grounds provide the perfect setting for romantic interludes or picnics with family and friends.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clos DuVal Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This winery is in the heart of the Stags Leap district. Their red wines are excellent. The wine tasting staff was very knowledgeable and we had a great time tasting. This has now become one of the few wine clubs I belong to.


Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    13
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy wine, good club to join”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We visited in January of 2011, having enjoyed their wines at home. We actually joined the club while we were there. We've enjoyed the wine shipments (reds only club, but we do occasionally buy their whites too), with the exception of the Cab Franc. We just don't like that particular wine, not to say it's a bad one. Sadly, we get 2 bottles every year. I guess I'll stash it in the cellar for a decade or so, then try it and kick myself for not buying more.

CdV also has a lot of nice specials around the holidays that they will email you about.

Tasting room is nice, and the grounds of the winery are fun to walk around and relax while sipping a glass.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our Best Wine Tasting Ever.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our best Napa wine tasting experience occurred at the Clos Du Val Winery, which is located on the picturesque Silverado Trail. Our "Wine Education Associate" Alex, did and outstanding job, and spent a great deal of time teaching us proper technique and what to look for when tasting fine wines. As an example, he did a paired comparison of a wine that had been aerated vs one poured from a freshly opened bottle. Similarly he pointed out the unique flavor characteristics of several grape types, and how when blended, influence the wine's final taste. In retrospect, we probably learned more during this one tasting at Clos Du Val than we did during our entire trip to Napa. After the tasting, Alex took us to the back of the winery and allowed us to see the freshly picked grapes being unloaded from plastic bins and readied for crush. This was the perfect "final act" to a already great visit. Overall we can't say enough about our experience here and would like to once again acknowledge the great job done by Alex.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service, average wine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Clos Du Val recently on a Sunday afternoon. We found the tasting room to be hectic, noisy and not an awful lot of fun. The staff working during our visit appeared to have been hired for looks rather than because of their knowledge of wine or ability to interact with customers. We were hastily rushed through our tasting menu with little additional information provided about what we were drinking. We were repeatedly asked if we had finished yet, and were ready to be moved onto the next wine. The wines themselves were unremarkable and certainly not worth the pricetags.
Given the choice again, I would avoid Clos Du Val. You can do so much better in Napa.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stags Leap winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lovely tasting room and outdoor seating available. we ended our day and it was the best decision we made.
So enjoyable and super yummy wine to boot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clos Du Val Winery also viewed

 

Been to Clos Du Val Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clos Du Val Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.