We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Napa Valley at Blackbird Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1755 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #18 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
“Our stay in Napa Valley at Blackbird Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a great trip for us. We loved the B & B idea. Met some great couples which made our Wine tasting better since they had been there before. This is a beautiful and intimate Inn. It has a very homey feel, and remarkably quiet for being on a main road.

Room Tip: We had a room with a very private patio. I can't compare it to a balcony, but I would think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    51
    27
    15
    5
See reviews for
5
135
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We typically stay further north in St. Helena or Calistoga when visiting the Napa Valley. This was our first stay in downtown Napa and we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable, the hospitality of the staff was fantastic and our breakfast Saturday morning was excellent. Very easy walking distance to many restaurants in downtown Napa along the river. We will definitely go back to the inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to Napa this year for our anniversary and decided to go the B&B route instead of a large, impersonal hotel. We were not disappointed! At the recommendation of our travel agent, we stayed at the Four Sisters Property in Napa, the Blackbird Inn. From my initial phone call to our departure, everything was handled promptly and professionally. We needed recommendations on touring companies, hot air balloon excursions, and local restaurants. All were provided and all were "top notch." The Inn itself is lovely, clean, well appointed, and charming. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. Both the Queen and King rooms were comfy with a bit of old-world charm. The location makes walking to lunch, dinner, etc., easy. Breakfast and afternoon refreshments were very nice and sufficient--with unique flair without being odd. Based on our stay in Napa, we will certainly be staying at Four Sisters properties in the future. Job very well done!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet of the King Superior room facing the back of the property. The deck was privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Quite a disappointing stay here, and I've written up my observations & feedback to send to Four Sisters... to condense: I completely agree with previous review dated yesterday (9-9-13), and would add ... while our room was clean, the dusty fake plant in our room wasn't aesthetically pleasing OR good for one with dust mite allergies to share space with. Our blueberry breakfast dish was cooked all the way through, though not kept warm. Right at 8:30 when breakfast started, the hot dishes were set out without a way to keep them hot. Quiche was cooked well, but thin, yes. We recognized last evenings veggie plate leftovers in it, but that's ok. Better not to waste. Cold cereal & oatmeal packets, though?! No granola, no hot steel cut oats? Tables not set, had to do that yourself - a little awkward.

There are pluses & minuses here. Good coffee. Bath towels rough. Lots of hot water. Busy intersection location. Air conditioning works & is appreciated. Drapery pull unattached, so awkward. Interiors restored & improved true-to-architecture (1905 Craftsman), worth seeing. Heavy, handsome Craftsman furniture in rooms, throughout house - and the art & pottery - very well done. Room rate of $250 not warranted based on what you do (don't) get for your money. Regarding personnel - ditto prior review. Young, unsure, a little awkward. The young man that Checked us in was friendly, though. Security company was here working on things, drilling, etc - a little disconcerting, really. We loved Four Siaters' CHANNEL ROAD INN (Santa Monica) in 2012 ... but Blackbird has disappointed us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Inn is beautiful and great care has been given to restore the old 1905 home to its current beauty. However, our compliments end with our respect for the fabulous architecture and restoration. On our first evening, as we sat on the balcony relaxing before heading out to dinner, my husband noticed that a lot of debris and old food under the bed. That discovery certainly made us wonder about the cleanliness of our room and the Inn from the start! On Sunday morning, we went downstairs for breakfast. Expecting a typical Inn or Bed & Breakfast meal, we were dreadfully shocked to find what was offered. Service on Sunday morning included a half inch thick quiche that was overcooked with absolutely no taste. An attempt at French toast, or perhaps it was a version of bread pudding, was cold and soggy with uncooked egg mixture. The other choices of fruit, muffins, toast, English muffins, cold cereal, coffee and juice were the items we opted for as the hot items were inedible. The breakfast offered on Monday morning was not any better. The Blackbird Inn failed miserably on many unforgivable levels. There was NO hospitality period. All of the Blackbird Inn employees we encountered lacked the basic hospitality skills necessary to run a successful establishment. The young lady that was on duty on Sunday and Monday did not bother to look up from the computer screen she was so engrossed in to (1) acknowledge guests, (2) find out if a guest needed anything, (3) say good bye as guests were leaving or (4) look at the breakfast service to make sure it was running smoothly. My husband actually stood in front of this young lady with an empty coffee cup and was completely ignored! Additionally, that same person NEVER said a word to us even during check-out. Considering the youth of the Blackbird Inn employees we encountered, I suspect they either just didn’t care or may have failed to receive proper hospitality training. We also observed a severe lack of supervision at the Blackbird Inn. We will never return to a Four Sisters Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSistersInnsInc, Manager at Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Despite our best efforts to provide excellent service in all areas, sometimes things just don’t go as we planned. Such was the case at Blackbird Inn on the weekend when this guest stayed with us. We did have a staff change that weekend, and we are so sorry that our housekeeping and cooking fell short in her case.

This guest wrote to us directly about her concerns, and we have given her a complimentary stay at one of our other properties, the Blue Lantern Inn in Dana Point. We appreciate her comments, and we have made several changes at Blackbird Inn that should remedy the problems she encountered.

Despite the miscues in communication, we’re glad this guest and her husband enjoyed the historic restoration to the inn, and hope they had fun while in Napa. We hope she will enjoy her upcoming free stay at Blue Lantern Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great stay at the Blackbird inn for our wedding anniversary! The breakfast and happy hour were excellent. An ideal location to walk into town for dinner. The rooom was very nice and the porch ideal to enjoy the morning and evening ideal weather. All in all, a superb experience! Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. Our room was a little small for the price and because we were on the first floor it was a bit noisy in the morning but probably wouldn't be noticeable to a heavier sleeper then myself. The breakfast was always different with fresh fruit and better then most breakfasts you pay for. The wine and appetizer hour was our favorite with wonderful snack, always fresh and different and always a full bottle of wine to enjoy from. The walk to downtown was very short putting this inn at a wonderful location for those without a car. We would stay here again and are trying to look into staying at another inn owned by Four Sisters during some remaining nights of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 1755 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.