We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, intimate Napa hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1755 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #18 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely, intimate Napa hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute and what a great find! Intimate feeling, beautifully furnished and decorated in craftsman style, quiet, clean, good sized room and bathroom. Enjoyed the breakfast, afternoon wine & appetizers. Within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the Oxbow market in the town of Napa. I'd recommed this hotel for couples. Wish we'd stayed another day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    51
    27
    15
    5
See reviews for
5
135
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Tristen and the entire staff at The Blackbird Inn were incredible. They made our honeymoon experience better than we could have expected. The breakfast was delicious. The afternoon wine and snacks were fantastic. Wine country offers and suggestions were really helpful.

You simply can't go wrong staying at the Blackbird Inn!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony and a tub with jacuzzi which were both fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Third time to stay at the Blackbird- Very convenient within walking to multiple restaurants in Napa. Staff was attentive and nice - Beautiful example of what a Craftsman home looks like. ( don't expect it to be new and fancy )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a terrific time at the Blackbird Inn last weekend with 4 other couples.
It was a great home base to explore wine country and thoroughly enjoyed great breakfasts and wine & cheese in the afternoon.
Our king sized bed in guest room #2 was very comfortable with a private shaded deck to allow a few quite moments as well.
Located within easy walking distance to down towns restaurants, the public market and American Legion Post 113.

Room Tip: Make sure you spend time with other guests and share experiences. We were reminded that Muir Woods w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent one night here and then one night in Calistoga. It was good to have one night closer to Napa downtown to see what that was like, but downtown Napa is the most southern portion of Napa Valley and not closest to all wineries, but we did save a bit of money by staying here one night, going to the more southern places, then heading up North to Calistoga. Yountville looked awesome, and more like what I imagined Napa to be, but was a little more expensive if you have that to consider - there is a four sisters inn there too that is slightly more affordable than others. If I go back, I'm trying Yountville.

Blackbird Inn itself was in a great area for us for the one night to try out downtown and had easy access to lunch and dinner and not far from the more southern wineries - we went up to rutherford on first day. It's also close to downtown tasting rooms and wine train in town.

We stayed in room 3 - right next to checkin area and back door entrance, but the room was pretty big and bed was set back enough so that it was not too noisy. (It was a little noisy when our upstairs neighbors came in later that night, but they just seemed like loud people slamming doors, wearing heels and such). It was really nice to have our own back terrace/deck. We were able to leave and enter from that back deck, so we barely needed to go into main areas, so it felt pretty private. We were also able to get take breakfast from the buffet style in the morning and enjoy on our patio as well, which was nice. Most of the private deck on this room was surrounded by landscaping to keep it private, but my only *minor* complaints is that there was a small section near the exit that could use some higher landscaping, because there was a small little spot that had visibility to a part of a next door parking lot. Most of the time it was fine and no one was around, but during breakfast some guy was just out in the parking lot next door smoking and chatting with a coworker or something, so that was a little annoying. It wasn't that he was too near us, or creeping, but still visible through the side angle, and I hate smoke. Other notes - TV is very small, but we didn't really use it, shower is enormous, no full length mirrors and it also would've been nice to have some throw blankets to have outside on the chillier mornings. Otherwise, great stay!

Also - we ate at Gott's for lunch, good burger and Fish Story for dinner, pretty good food there too.

Room Tip: Room 3 has private outside deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved my room, the only thing I have to complain about is the breakfast it was the same thing all three days and it contained no meats and they do not have a microwave available to guests.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We picked Blackbird Inn for our first trip to Napa, and were not disappointed. The rooms are great (even better than the pictures show) with fantastic bathrooms, patios, and fireplaces. The staff was very welcoming and nice. The breakfast buffet is perfect before you start your day but it's not a served meal if that's what your hoping from. It's in downtown Napa, a perfect place to walk to dinner. For newbies to Napa- everything is not in Napa proper. There are many other areas- Calistoga, Yountville, etc. We picked this place thinking we were in the heart of napa when really we spent every day in Calistoga (~30 minute drive). We didn't mind the drive but something to know. Also, although I love the bathrooms the bathtub is very high and hard to step into. For the older patrons, ask for a room with a lower bathtub.

Room Tip: We loved having the outdoor space with our room and the private entrance- unsure what room # we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 1755 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.