We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1755 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Ranked #18 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

A B&B that's not too frilly, not too "shabby chic", not too austere. It is just right. Made moreso by the outstanding internet special we happened upon. The room was small, but not unpleasantly so, the bathroom could use a bit of updating but was always clean and well-kept. The staff was very, very helpful in guiding us to good food, good wineries, and interesting things to do that were off the beaten path. The breakfast and afternoon hospitality were good although since we opted to use the Blackbird as our base of operations for 10 days while we toured Napa Valley, we had a lot of repetition in breakfast quiche and pastries.
Since this was our honeymoon, and my new husband's 1st B&B experience I was concerned that all would go smoothly. My concerns weren't warranted. He enjoyed the B&B so much that we've subsequently stayed in several others.

Room Tip: We had room number 6 and it was snug. We were on our honeymoon so didn't mind :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    53
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
5
153
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Blackbird Inn is a beautiful craftsman-style property but unfortunately, it does not live up to the website hype. The Inn was lovely, but noisy and the breakfast was a huge disappointment. The website touted it as this wonderful meal and it was far from that. My husband refused to partake after day one. It consisted of a repurposed quiche every morning and stale english muffins and bread. The fruit was good as well as the coffee. We walked downtown each morning to get breakfast and considering that breakfast was part of the overall cost of our accommodations, I was greatly disappointed that I had to buy my breakfast each morning. Our "deluxe king" room was comfortable but the bathtub was an absolute nightmare and anyone over the age of 60 or in poor health would be hard pressed to get in and out of that horribly constructed tub! Also no magnifying mirrors in the bathroom which makes putting on make-up for anyone over the age of 40 a struggle! The Staff was very friendly and helpful, but other than that I was very disappointed with the Blackbird Inn.

Room Tip: As far away from the front door and common room as possible. With no carpeting in the property the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night, and while the room and inn were lovely (Renee MacIntosh would have been proud), unfortunately the whole experience was marred by the fact that we left our electric toothbrush there, but it could not be found apparently when I phoned about it the next morning. It wasn't just the theft we were annoyed about, it was the inconvenience it caused. It should have been turned in by the housekeeper when being cleaned. Otherwise, food good and ambience a-plenty, loads of character, but unfortunately sited on busy intersection. The manager also thoughtfully upgraded us which was appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Despite the poor breakfast (not enough protein) and afternoon hors-d'oeuvres (old veggies), there are many wonderful aspects of the Blackbird Inn. The style of architecture (craftsman) is ideally represented in the furnishings and types of wood. There are eight rooms to choose from, each with its unique touch. Of course the upstairs room with balcony is highly sought after and is consequently more expensive. But there are enough on-line specials to help amortize the somewhat high prices, unless the film festival in Napa or the tourist crunch begin. Many guests stay here as a base from which to explore the various wineries, and the staff eagerly provide personal assistance and several brochures and coupons. We decided just to stay in Napa and leave our car parked in the small but charming parking area off of Jefferson (no one mentioned the parking lot!!). It's a delightful 15-minute stroll down First Street to the Oxbow Market, modeled after the Ferry Building in San Francisco. Along the way are countless restaurants from which to choose. Having dined at both Martini House and Campton Place, we were eager to try Todd Humphries' Kitchen Door in the Oxbow Market. It's not really a restaurant in the style most of us recognize, but rather a kind of food emporium. There are tables and one does order at the counter and wait for the food to be delivered. Good wines and eccentric food (i.i. Armenian Fold).

Actually quirkiness sums up our stay at Blackbird Inn, but I mean this in a positive way. The cook trying to heat up breakfast fare managed to set off the fire alarm so that we could all meet the local fire department from a couple blocks away. The inn is locked from 8 PM until 8 AM, and guests are given keys with a set of explanations as to how to use them. But I must save the best for last: Elise. Rarely has either of us ever received such a cheerful welcome. She went out of her way to explain the inn's history, attractions in the area, the room's features. I might expect such service at the Four Seasons. If some find the inn a bit dark, there are plenty of lights to help. And since we are dealing with Craftman-style architecture, it really isn't feasible to brighten woods with a stain or paint. Now if only the manager could work on those food presentations...

Room Tip: Both rooms #2 and #8 have private terraces or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was given a $500.00 gift certificate for any "Four Sisters" inn. We had never done Napa, so decided to check this out. We are also from the Pasadena, CA area and have an appreciation for homes built in the Craftsman style/era. The inn is located strangely on a very busy corner across the street from the offices of the "Wine Spectator". Entrance to the small parking lot is only from one side of the Inn - not the front, so it took a couple of u-turns to get there (look them up on Google Maps Street View if you are curious). The actual house has been completely refurbished and is quite nice. The common area includes a fireplace, sofas, and small round tables/chairs, where they also serve the afternoon wine/snacks/cheese and breakfast. The atmosphere is quite dark with all the wood, and in my opinion additional light would be a great touch. The staff are very young, albeit friendly and eager to please. Our room was upstairs and had a balcony that was fully covered by some kind of climbing vegetation, so there was complete privacy. Furnishings were comfortable, but honestly not the most luxurious. I expected a little more in terms of amenities in the bathroom, but the offerings were pretty standard. There were nice robes, which proved handy while enjoying our wine on the balcony. While I can understand why there was vegetation covering the balcony - it just was overlooking the small parking lot - but it was kind of claustrophobic if you were hoping for some kind of expansive view. Breakfast was definitely a let down. It was basically a frittata of some sort that was generally cold or needing to be replenished, fruit, and pastries/bread. If you are like us and enjoy a nice brunch, skip the continental breakfast and enjoy one of the many great restaurants. The location is within walking distance of the downtown area, although I was not that impressed as it seems like the recession has really shut a lot of the small businesses down. To really see the winery and more restaurants, you have to drive down the road a bit. There is no jacuzzi or pool, so be advised. Also, this would be a very boring place for kids as there really is no space to accommodate. Overall, this place was comfortable and clean, but didn't deliver based on how much we paid for it. To me, it is the attention to the little things that really make something that is good, exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I am not a big B&B traveler but I decided to give this one a shot. I was very surprised as to what I found. The rooms are very spacious and quiet, I don't think I ever heard anyone through the walls. Breakfast was great and the staff was friendly, and you can park out back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was very nice and we enjoyed the wine, snacks and breakfast. The staff was so helpful and conversational and even made reservations for us. This bed and breakfast is just a few blocks away from downtown Napa and we enjoyed our walks every day.

Room Tip: I chose the "quiet room" and was glad I did because the other rooms bordered the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 mi away
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 27 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Senza Hotel
Senza Hotel
#2 of 27 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
0.5 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#1 of 24 in Napa
5.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 1755 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.