We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and friendly service at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Winery Inn to your Saves list
Napa Winery Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1998 Trower Ave., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersSilver level
kensington
1 review
“Comfort and friendly service at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A european family (grandmother, mother, with an infant and also an active three year old kid) travelling through California, bursted into the hotel one late Thursday evening after several unsuccessful attempts getting a place to sleep at a reasonable price in Napa valley. We were immediately booked into two adjacent rooms, the staff swiftly brought us everything we needed and were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were far better than we would have expected at this price; spacious, but cosy, fine furniture, good beds, nice bathrooms and everything was very clean and in good shape. Although the hotel lies close to the highway, we did not hear any noise from the road, the windows were good and the room airconditioned. Only downside is that we missed a place to relax outside the room in the evening. Breakfast was tasy and simple. Thumbs up for this inn!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side of the hotel, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Elisabeth I,

Thank you so much for posting a review. We so enjoyed having you stay with us.
I am glad that we were able to accommodate your requests.

We had just completed a renovation in July, with new carpet, new beds, bedding,
and flat screen televisions. Our breakfast buffet and wine pouring began then as
well.

I am sure happy that you got to enjoy yourselves and take it easy while you were here.
I know with a family sometimes it is not easy, but it is nice to hear that we could make
your stay a memorable one.

Hope to see you again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    110
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
127
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked the Napa Winery Inn per my son's recommendation. Our room was very spacious but cozy. The continental breakfast was tasty and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. the property is clean and well maintaind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Robbie J,

Thank you so much for writing a review & please thank your son for recommending us. We just love hearing from our guests, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad that you liked the breakfast. Our new hot breakfast, and breakfast area is one of the improvements made during our renovation this past July.

We hope you can come back soon and enhoy our next phase of improvements: Our new lobby area, with new front desk. Plus, we have just been approved to join the Ascend Collection in February - and we're adding more improvements later this year.

Thanks again. Hope to see you the next time you are in Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Arrived Napa late from SFO and didn't want to break the bank for a room. This Quality Inn fit the bill, newly redone, large clean room, very quiet, and full breakfast, all for $98. Plus tax. Easy to get to off the highway. Very comfortable beds, front desk staff very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Jathat,

Thank you for posting a review. I can tell you that we love hearing from our guests, good and bad.

We are happy to hear that you had a good experience during your stay. Our breakfast is just one of the many improvements we have made since July.

We do have a great staff and I am glad they made a good impression on you.

We are continuing our improvements, with a new lobby and front desk, and we were approved to join the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels in February. We are all very excited and hope that you will be able to return soon and see all of the new wonderful changes.

Thanks again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked Napa Winery Inn as we were bringing our small yorkie with us on this trip. She was treated like a princess. They were very accommodating in working around her schedule. Very clean, well maintained. Breakfast buffet was tasty. Staff were all super friendly. Couldn't of asked for a better stay, will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Napa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. K,

Thank you for sending in a review. I have to say it was our pleasure treating Nicki like the princess that she it. We just loved her.

Our housekeeping staff is the best. They all love their jobs, and you can certainly tell that they do.

We hope that you can return soon and see all the wonderful improvements just since you were here. We have been approved to join the Ascend Collection in February and we are adding more improvements later this year.

Thank you again, and give Nicki a hug for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked through a special Travelzoo offer which I think gave us a slightly lower then usual rate. However it still semed rather expensive but I suppose is a reflection of the general hotel rates in this area.
Our room was fine, nothing special but clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, being at the front of the building it overlooked HWY29 and attracted traffic noise. The trucks on this road seem to keep moving all night long so it was not a restful nights sleep.
The complimentary evening wine tasting was somewhat disappointing in that it consisted of one small glass of wine and two biscuits wih cheese. No interaction at all with the server and no offer of a top up. We did enjoy the buffet breakfast and our limited time at the small pool.
These are nice, friendly people. I wish them well with their new venture but I suggest it will be difficult to sell rooms that have traffic noise.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms at the rear of the hotel might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Redhand,

Thank you for the review - we love hearing from our guests and we appreciate your feedback! I have shared with my team your review and I agree - we have nice people who have been here many years and I have a great team working with me at the hotel. Having been here for so many years myself and welcoming guests from around the world, it's still nice to hear feedback.

I read your feedback several times and I do wonder if you wouldn't have a more enjoyable visit to Napa Valley during a slower time period. You were here in the height of wine harvest. So much of the truck noise you mention was from the loaded trucks taking fresh picked grapes to the processing plants or juice to the wineries. As our guest - and to all our future guests - we are here for your comfort and we try to please and accommodate everyone.

Our hot buffet breakfast is a nice way to start your day - glad you enjoyed it! And I am sorry you were unhappy with our evening wine tasting. Most of our guests find it a nice way to relax after a full day in the valley or a nice way to start the evening. When you come back in the spring, (one of my favorite tiomes of the year...) we will have a vintner pouring wines Friday and Saturday evenings from some of our local Napa Valley wineries.

Again, when your travels find you in Napa Valley, we hope you think of us with kindness and give us another try.

Thanks again,

Liz and the Napa Winery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I were in San Francisco on business and looked online for Napa hotels which were scarce and ultra expensive. It is what you get booking last minute to a popular location. After some searching we decided to pay the just over $300 a night to stay here.

After a long day of work we arrived to the Napa Winery Inn where we were greeted warmly and provided a top floor room overlooking the pool. The king bed room was spacious and clean ... no frills, just a nice generic off the highway hotel kinda room.

We went back to the front desk to inquire about restaurants and the agent was extremely helpful and generous with his time. That was nice.

We drove to downtown which was a couple of miles from the hotel.

The next two morning we had breakfast and it was packed. So we had to wait 3-4 minutes for someone to get up but the food was fresh and tasty ... again, nothing fancy, some eggs, toasts, cereal, etc ... but good and just what we needed.

The weather was perfect and this was a great little place to rest our heads after some long days of work and travel and a long fund day of touring the wineries with Platypus Tours.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be all the same. I'd think the pool view is best as there isn't anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear James S,

Thank you for the kind words - we love hearing from our guests and we are excited to have had your stay enjoyable. After the purchase and the renovation - which included the new carpet, beds, TVs and the breakfast - we find the hotel sells itself. We still have to sell ourselves. We try to exceed our guest expectations and sounds like the team did their best to make your stay pleasant.

In a valley of very nice hotels, I hope you decide to join us again when you travel to Napa. We have some exciting changes planned - including a new front desk and lobby! Stop in and see what we are doing for your next stay!

Thanks

Liz and the Napa Winery Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

my husband,sister and brother inlaw had a trip from Los Angeles along the coast to Sanfransisco and the napa valley in september 2012.We stayed in very good accomadation along the way but none as good as the napa winery inn, in Napa. The staff were second to none, without exception they were all friendly and helpful but especially Sharon,who went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable and informative.The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool was small but adequate for our needs during our stay.The highlight of our stay was the free wine tasting each evening, conducted by Melissa,this encouraged all the guests to talk to each other,which lead to some lively discussions with people from all over the world as well as many other areas of America.I can highly recommend this hotel and would love to return some day.


i can highly recommend staying here and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your words of praise - we love to hear from our guests. I keep telling my team - when you get to the plate, swing and at least make it to a base. Sounds like we hit a home run during your stay! Sharon and Melissa and the whole team thank you too.

After completing our recent renovation - new carpet, beds, linens and the breakfast room this summer, we added the wine tasting and afternoon cookies to enable our guests to relax and unwind. We are already looking forward to our next phase of improvements - new lobby and front desk - all the better to serve you the next time you visit us.

Keep us in mind the next time you find your way to Napa!

Thanks again,

Liz and the Napa Winery Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Address: 1998 Trower Ave., Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Winery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.