We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable and close to downtown Napa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Winery Inn to your Saves list
Napa Winery Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1998 Trower Ave., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable and close to downtown Napa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I were in San Francisco on business and looked online for Napa hotels which were scarce and ultra expensive. It is what you get booking last minute to a popular location. After some searching we decided to pay the just over $300 a night to stay here.

After a long day of work we arrived to the Napa Winery Inn where we were greeted warmly and provided a top floor room overlooking the pool. The king bed room was spacious and clean ... no frills, just a nice generic off the highway hotel kinda room.

We went back to the front desk to inquire about restaurants and the agent was extremely helpful and generous with his time. That was nice.

We drove to downtown which was a couple of miles from the hotel.

The next two morning we had breakfast and it was packed. So we had to wait 3-4 minutes for someone to get up but the food was fresh and tasty ... again, nothing fancy, some eggs, toasts, cereal, etc ... but good and just what we needed.

The weather was perfect and this was a great little place to rest our heads after some long days of work and travel and a long fund day of touring the wineries with Platypus Tours.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be all the same. I'd think the pool view is best as there isn't anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear James S,

Thank you for the kind words - we love hearing from our guests and we are excited to have had your stay enjoyable. After the purchase and the renovation - which included the new carpet, beds, TVs and the breakfast - we find the hotel sells itself. We still have to sell ourselves. We try to exceed our guest expectations and sounds like the team did their best to make your stay pleasant.

In a valley of very nice hotels, I hope you decide to join us again when you travel to Napa. We have some exciting changes planned - including a new front desk and lobby! Stop in and see what we are doing for your next stay!

Thanks

Liz and the Napa Winery Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    130
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
64
153
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

my husband,sister and brother inlaw had a trip from Los Angeles along the coast to Sanfransisco and the napa valley in september 2012.We stayed in very good accomadation along the way but none as good as the napa winery inn, in Napa. The staff were second to none, without exception they were all friendly and helpful but especially Sharon,who went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable and informative.The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool was small but adequate for our needs during our stay.The highlight of our stay was the free wine tasting each evening, conducted by Melissa,this encouraged all the guests to talk to each other,which lead to some lively discussions with people from all over the world as well as many other areas of America.I can highly recommend this hotel and would love to return some day.


i can highly recommend staying here and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your words of praise - we love to hear from our guests. I keep telling my team - when you get to the plate, swing and at least make it to a base. Sounds like we hit a home run during your stay! Sharon and Melissa and the whole team thank you too.

After completing our recent renovation - new carpet, beds, linens and the breakfast room this summer, we added the wine tasting and afternoon cookies to enable our guests to relax and unwind. We are already looking forward to our next phase of improvements - new lobby and front desk - all the better to serve you the next time you visit us.

Keep us in mind the next time you find your way to Napa!

Thanks again,

Liz and the Napa Winery Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was clean but.... When we first arrived the front desk agent was nice and helpful. We returned from a day of touring and the 2 new front desk agents were rude and unwelcoming. We asked for a taxi and to call and let us know if there was a problem. We never got a phone call and came down to find no taxi was called. Our dinner reservation was missed and all and all a bad ending to a delightful day!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you Catherine D for your feedback - I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the hotel - both good and bad.

This review is disappointing. We always try to provide the best service to our guests - such as keeping a clean hotel - but we dropped the ball that night. I apologize for my team letting you down. I've heard your feedback and I am working to make sure it doesn't happen again. We have new beds, TVs and linens - and now new training.

I hope if you ever return to the Napa Valley, you would consider giving us a second chance.

Sincerely,

Liz Accardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Can not even begin to tell you how please I am with the Napa Winery Inn! There customer service is amazing!! There was not one employee there, that did not ask us if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything we needed! All of the front desk staff felt like family by the time we left. Each day they would ask us what we had planned and then would follow up with how was your trip today when we returned back to the hotel in the evening.

I was traveling with my 85 year old mother and 2 dogs, 8 and 9 months old. Upon check in the dogs received a treat and a toy, very nice touch. They have doggie bags outside the door and plenty of grassy places to walk the dogs. They also were kind enough to look up doggie day care centers for me and to check yelp reviews.

They provide an expanded continental breakfast, which includes the usual cereal, bagels and toast, yogurt, etc... but it also included each morning scrambled eggs and bacon.

There location is wonderful, basically just off Hwy 29, which made for easy access to travel into Napa for the wine train, Oxbow market etc... but also very easy to head up the other way to the wineries, St Helena and Calistoga.

The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. Also I was very pleased that being so close to the freeway you could not hear it a bit inside the room.

On our next trip to Napa we are staying here again, a great value for a great hotel, and even better customer service!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your gracious words - we love getting feedback - both good and bad but the team and I are very happy we delivered on our commitment to service during your stay. I will pass on your words to the team - we all enjoyed hosting you and your family spending time with us.

Napa is a beautiful place to visit and we always welcome our four legged guests. Look on our website for pooch packages in the future!

Our greatest success is a repeat customer - we look forward to your return.

Again, many thanks.

Liz and the Napa Winery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We Chose this hotel last year because of rates and location, quick access to Hwy 29 and up-valley wineries. Upon our return, the property has been renovated and is a very good value. The breakfast is great and the restaurant across the parking lot is closed. The desk clerk said it was being opened soon with new owner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for you kind words! We are recently renovated and refreshed and here to welcome you back. We were recently purchased and the new owners spent a great deal of time and moeny to make the Napa Winery Inn a great place to stay. We have new beds, linens, big pillows, a new breakfast room and beautiful landscaping plus more - just to make you feel comfortable and relaxed to enjoy the Napa Valley.

We look forward to your next visit back to the Napa Winery Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Since this hotel has been completely rennovated it needs updated reviews. Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms. Nice pool but unfortunately it is near the road. Real good restaurant a couple nlocks away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words – we love getting feedback! Yes, we are recently renovated and refreshed. Our new owners bought the John Muir Inn and spent a great deal of time and money to reopen as the Napa Winery Inn in July 2012. We have new beds, linens, big pillow, upgraded our double beds to queen beds; along with 37 inch televisions in every room. We also now serve an extended breakfast with hot eggs, breakfast meats and assorted baked goods every morning.

Glad you like our new beds - we have many compliments on them - a great way to end the day.

We look forward to your next visit and return to the Napa Winery Inn - a Quality Inn located in Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This property seems like they just renovated it, even though you can tell it's an old place due to the bathroom fixtures and AC unit. The hotel is conveniently located in Napa, minutes from everything.

The breakfast was the highlight of this hotel! Great quality and bountiful, included with the rate.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words – we love getting feedback! And you're right, we are recently renovated and refreshed. Our new owners bought the John Muir Inn and spent a great deal of time and money to reopen as the Napa Winery Inn in July 2012. We have new beds, linens, big pillow, upgraded our double beds to queen beds; along with 37 inch televisions in every room. We also now serve an extended breakfast with hot eggs, breakfast meats and assorted baked goods every morning.

The pool is nice feature - fresh and relaxing. I think the grape vines when they grow up will help provide a more relaxing sanctuary. Plus we have ear buds at the desk.

We look forward to your next visit and return to the Napa Winery Inn - a Quality Inn located in Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Address: 1998 Trower Ave., Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Winery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.