We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wine Tasting...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caldwell Winery

Caldwell Winery
169 Kreuzer Lane, Napa, CA 94559
707.255.1294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 216 Activities in Napa
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Palmdale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wine Tasting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nothing like tasting fantastic wine with John Caldwell himself in his winery cave...truly an experience to have while in Napa.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved this tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We would never have found this place had it not been for Intimate Wine Tours. What a great time we had meeting with John and hearing his story. We felt welcomed and right at home. We would have loved to stay longer and are really looking forward to our wine shipment. Thanks John!

Ed and Elena Mayo

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful tasting, charming host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The tasting room at Caldweld is absolutely beautiful! John Caldwell is incredibly charming and has wonderful stories. I am a fan of his wines, and have placed several orders since visiting.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AWESOME Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

John!!! loved your cave!!! Beautiful wine, crazy and fun owner. best crackers and cheese!!! Must go if you're lookinf for rare and fine Napa wine thats not available outside of the US!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite tasting in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

John Caldwell does it right. From his storytelling, to the DELICIOUS wines and cheese plate, this is a top notch experience.

You walk into an intimate cave lit with candles, and get to taste amazing wines for about 2 hours. We've gone three times with new friends each time and it's always a favorite.

The wines are sometimes pricey, but the presentation and quality of wines makes it worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caldwell Winery also viewed

 

Been to Caldwell Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldwell Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.