We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Place!! Unbelievably lame” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Soscol Ave., Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Napa
sf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this Place!! Unbelievably lame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We were booked in, to this hotel, for two days (signed contract, at front desk, upon check in) and planned to leave on the third morning. We were in Napa for a friends wedding. On the first night, after checking in, there was a lot of noise in the parking lot outside our room. Come to find out, there was a group of about 30 high school aged kids drinking alcohol in the parking lot & playing loud music from their cars. HAWTHORN SUITES STAFF APPARENTLY DID NOTHING!!! After ~ 3am, & some earplugs, I finally fell asleep. We were running late the following morning, to get to the wedding, and consequently never said anything to the front desk. The following morning we went to the wedding and when we returned, that afternoon, our room key didn't work. I initially thought our key had been damaged, so I went to the front desk and got a new key made. Upon returning to our room, WE FOUND SOMEONE ELSE IN OUR ROOM!! AFTER ONLY ONE DAY, OF OUR TWO DAY STAY, THIS DUMP RENTED OUT OUR ROOM TO SOMEONE ELSE????? Our things were later found, in the maids' area & we were informed that there were no more rooms, of the type we'd paid for, and we could leave if we wanted to. The manager didn't seem to care at all. Luckily we were able to find much better accommodations, at a nicer location, nearby.

DO YOURSELF A HUGE FAVOR AND AVOID THE HAWTHORN SUITES IN NAPA!!!

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The poor quality of service by the staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    160
    90
    25
    19
See reviews for
83
169
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Pros: large room, free breakfast, pool,
Cons: view, location

The room was large, and clean. There was a large sink and lots of counterspace. There is a fridge and coffee maker in the room.

The hotel had a small pool and whirlpool which we didn't use but it looked nice. The hot breakfast was good. There were eggs, potatoes, sausage, fruit, muffins, bread, bagels, and cereal.

The hotel is not in the best location, Soscal is a busy road. It is next to a Ford dealership and an abandoned liquor store so the view is not the best. However, since you have to drive to the wineries anyways, it is pretty easy to get to the main roads to get where you need. The directions from their website is not helpful. Make sure to get directions beforehand either by calling or using mapquest.

It is near IHOP, Denny's, Jamba Juice, Target, Burger King, and a supermarket. Lots of chain restaurants I know but convinent if you need supplies, a quick bite or pick up a gallon of water for the hotel room.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

The hotel had basic rooms, no frills or thrills. The location was good because it was only a few minutes from downtown Napa and not too far from many wineries. The breakfast was also good. The best part of the hotel was the front desk's knowledge and friendliness. They were able to recommend great wineries and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiemill
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

My friends and I visited Napa Valley for a wedding. The staff at first was very friendly and offered us information about wineries in the area. However, the attitude changed when we arrived back at the hotel late at night/morning after the wedding. We were being very respectful, not being loud or anything that would disturb the other guests, we just wanted to go to bed. We arrived at our room and our key cards did not work in the lock on the door. After going back twice to retrieve new cards we had the staff member on duty come and look at the door. Nothing worked to open the door; he brought numerous keys and a machine. After about 45 minutes the staff member on duty called the manager but explained to us that he did not answer the phone and we asked him to call again but he gave us the number. One of the members of our group had to call the manager herself, and explain to him the problem. Finally after an hour of waiting with little apology our door was open.

The next morning when we went to pay we asked for a discount on our room and the staff member that was now on duty was extremely rude. Was condescending to us calling us "girls" and telling us that we only had to wait an hour and it was very late at night we came in. After loosing sleep and being spoken to very rudely we were only given a $30 discount. We should not have to worry about getting in to our hotel room no matter what time it is or who we are. They had no regard that they had left 3 women stranded outside their hotel room. I was left with a sour taste in my mouth, and I have never written something like this but I feel that I was completely treated inappropriately. I would not recommend to anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

This is a deal during high season like June. Our room with a Jacuzzi tub in the room (literally in the bedroom- you could see pics on their website) was $189 ($129 without the jacuzzi) when all of the other hotels were charging at least $250. The receptionists was also very helpful and courteous during the several calls we made asking about breakfast, the tub, quiet room, etc... And the room was quiet and very clean. There is hot breakfast, a basic one: eggs, sausage, potatoes, bread/bagel, good coffee, juice, cereal, hot chocolate, tea. Free internet access in your room. Fridge (excellent for storing your bottles of water or leftovers or refreezing your icepacks) , microwave, coffee maker, and hair dryer too.

They also take Hyatt points here.

With all that said, this is a basic hotel/motel, not a luxurious one and not a romantic one. There is no view. The location is in downtown Napa, so it's a short drive north to the wineries.

During low season, I'll look for bargains at the B&Bs or romantic high end places, but during the summer, when most of the day is spent outside, and I just need a nice cool, quiet, and clean room with all the conveniences, the Hawthorne fits the bill.

We also had our toddler with us, and she thought the Jacuzzi was one of the best part of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

Stayed one Friday night, AAA rate of $159 - Double Queen, 3rd floor. Would stay here every time. Minutes from Copia and downtown. Free, warm breakfast was plentiful!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

As mentioned by every one before me the location is awful, but there are other reasons to stay in this place:Nice and helpful stuff, large rooms nicely decorated, good breakfast included in the price.
If you come with a car it's not a problem, but no attraction or restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley

Address: 314 Soscol Ave., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Inn & Suites Napa Valley provides exceptional, yet affordable, boutique style hotel accommodations in downtown Napa in the heart of the Napa Valley wine country, with in-room spa tubs, complimentary breakfast, and high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Hawthorn Suites Napa
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Napa Valley CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.