We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Diem Wine Bar

Carpe Diem Wine Bar
1001 2nd Street, Napa, CA 94559
707-224-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carpe Diem Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 220 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brown Street
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not sure what to expect from this downtown gathering spot. Went through a recommendation from a hotal staffer.
Welcome was quite of chaotic...bar area on left and restaurant on right run together. Hostess very welcoming, asking if we had been there before and explaining that the plates are meant to be shared. Waitress let us take our time in ordering and pointing out items that were especially good that night.
Everything we ate and drank was wonderful...only downgrade would be any sense of privacy due to takes being crowded together.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    108
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
katemanzano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I ate here for our New Years Eve dinner and it was unbelievable. The food was amazing, the service was superb and their wine selection was fantastic. We will definitely be returning!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Ostrich and goat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Context: two of us went for dinner at 7pm on a Friday night with a reservation
Atmosphere: we were met at the door and given a wine menu while we waited for a few minutes for our table to be ready. To the left is a lively wine bar, no cocktails, with a few tables for eating. To the right is the dining area it's fairly plain, black tables, some wood trim and pretty packed tables, not much room between diners. There is little decor in the dining room, but large windows overlook 2nd street. It's bustling and noisy and was full for the two hours we were there. Bathrooms are actually in a common area outside the restaurant.
Service: wait staff were friendly, timely and cheerful. We were quickly given menus, water was filled and food came quickly, almost too quickly, but we never felt rushed to leave. Service is casual but informed.
Food: the menu emphasizes sharing plates and is heavy on the apps and starters with a few flat breads, an ostrich burger, cioppino, short ribs and changing taco and soup specials. We started with the house made burrata that is served with a chopped beet like salsa and grilled bread with lots of olive oil. Is huge. He burrata is huge, easily a half pound and they brought more bread when we finished ours. The bread is grilled and very soft at the same time with lots of good grill flavor and lightly salted. The table next to us had these lovely looking oysters, which almost made me wish I liked them. Before we barely made a dent in the burrata, they brought our mains, which could barely fit on the small table. We had the ostrich burger which is cooked medium rare on a soft, yummy bun and double fried French fries with truffle oil for one main. The other was the taco special, shredded goat on small corn tortillas with a shredded radish, cabbage, jicama salsa. Both were very flavorful, well cooked and I'd order them again. We were unable to finish our food.
Drinks: wine list heavy on cab with few unusual varietals or even Rhone varietals. There were probably about ten reds and ten. Whites by the glass. We went with the suggested cabzin they had with the ostrich and did their wine directors wine flight of three 2oz pours. The cab Zin was fine. The flight was probably not the best idea. The wines were okay.
Overall, very tasty food,casual at osphere and somewhat disappointing wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Don't go for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife is pregnant and I'd had enough wine after tasting all day. We came here based on reviews I read about the food. Someone raved about the ostrich burger so I thought I'd give it a try. It was just okay and certainly nothing worth much comment. My wife had the piggly wiggly pizza and it was below average as well. (And this is coming from a guy who generally never met a pizza he didn't like.) I feel bad saying this because the staff was very friendly. The bar was packed so maybe that is the place to be here. I certainly wouldn't come back, not because it was terrible, but we were really looking for something with nice atmosphere and cozy and warm on a cool night. The decor left us cold with no tablecloths and generally drab decor. We would have gone elsewhere on first sight, but we were anxious to get back to SF and my wife was hungry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent- this place is successful for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Book early! We skipped the queue to our table.

Service is warm and friendly and efficient. Wine list was excellent and gave us plenty to think about for planning our next day in the valley.

Food was of a very high quality. Board options were delicious, especially the cheeses. Donut dippers with Nutella and Kahlua sauce were to die for (from people who don't usually love dessert).

Stop in, it's good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpe Diem Wine Bar also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Carpe Diem Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Diem Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.