We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little outdated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   837 California Blvd., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Napa B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“A little outdated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I think this place was probably really nice about a decade ago. There are just so many little things that could have been improved.
1.) Our A/C unit broke on our first night. We told them about it before 5pm but they didn't bother to get it repaired until the next day, so we had a miserable time trying to sleep in the heat. The man at the front desk didn't even bother to come look at it that evening.
2.) They had two different cd players in the room, but who still travels with cds? Pretty nice 10 years ago but everyone has an ipod now.
3.) All of those fancy cd players means that there aren't any outlets left. In fact none of the outlets in the bathroom worked.
4.) We stayed in the Junior Suite which has a big tub and shower, but the shower head was clogged with calcium and lime. Plus, a shower that size should really have two shower heads. .
5.) The food- It is nice that they bring it to your room but they don't let you choose what time you get it, and they give you about a 30 second warning before someone comes knocking on your door. So if you aren't dressed, the nineteen year old girl delivering it is going to see more than you want her to. Also, with food options like: raisin bran cereal, yogurt, pastry, and cranberry juice, you don't get much more than a continental breakfast.

All in all, not a horrible experience, just woefully underwhelming. If you're looking for a, "special occasion" sort of stay, I would suggest somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We are very sorry that you did not receive the level of service that you expected. It is our goal to insure that every guest has a pleasant and memorable stay at the Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn.

As you know the air condition problem was fixed the very next morning and we thank you for brining this issue to our attention.

Our breakfast menu changes daily. We ask our guests to let us know what time is most convenient to have their breakfast delivered in the morning. Also, we have a variety of traditional breakfast items along with a selection of healthy options which has been suggested to us by our guests.

I am sorry that your experience with us fell short. I have shared your review with our staff as we always are striving to provide a wonderful experience at the Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn for each our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    77
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
9
145
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The accomodations are nice, spacious rooms and luxurious sheets - just don't expect it to be like a B & B - as I did. The staff is rather young and inexperienced. The breakfast is prepackaged.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The rooms and staff at this B&B/Inn were great. The Wine/Cheese mixer was a nice touch with some good local wine selections. The restrooms were very nice and the provided soaps and relaxation salts were a nice touch.

It's French/European style so it isn't staffed at night so no late night room service for those so inclined.

Oh one last thing, to get the shower going you must pull the ring near the sprout. Two people asked me that question in the morning ;)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are pleased you enjoy your stay with us at the Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn and that you were able to join us for our afternoon wine and cheese reception. You are right that the showers do have a ring that must be pulled to get the water flowing. Our decorator/designer thought that the style of the ring added to the overall ambiance of the Inn. We agree that sometimes the ring does get overlooked. We hope to see you back soon and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

i don't know how anyone could not like this place. the rooms are huge, bedding so very comfortable, in room breakfast. everything is great. they have a nice wine reception in the afternoons with good wine, nothing cheap. the room is very large, they have a/c which is nice and an in room fridge for leftovers. we were able to walk nightly into downtown napa and it's a great location to get on and off the highway. only tiny issue is the water pressure was not great, but it certainly didn't take away from the stay. i had a surprise package for my wife delivered to the hotel and they put it in our room which was very nice. cannot say enough about this hotel. the price is great compared to other places around and it's much nicer than those others. a note to hotel staff, we visited several wineries that had never heard of you, so we told them the great things. might want to market to them better so they can send guests your way. thanks for a great stay. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Wow, thank you for taking the time to write a “fantastic” review of your stay on TripAdvisor. We do our very best to provide a wonderful and welcoming experience for our guests. We are working hard to get the word out about the Bel Abri. We are now marketing ourselves as an Inn as it is more reflective of our property type. Your suggestion in letting the wineries know about us is a good one. Thank you and hope we see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

rooms are spacious and quiet. those on ground floor have a patio (and our son did not mind being on the street). staff is helpful. wine & appetizers in evening are fun; breakfast at 8.45 has good choices. Inn has a great location: convenient to the main highway *and* to downtown Napa. I would recommend this hotel strongly for anyone wishing to stay in the Napa area.

Room Tip: I'm for the ground floor, with patios, because we had no noise problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. As a small Napa Valley Inn, we too like the first floor rooms with the patios. The rooms with patios give our guests the opportunity to enjoy a bottle of wine in an outdoor setting. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you back at the Bel Abri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We booked this hotel through the Napa Visitors Bureau (they were amazing USE them, for any info about Napa) the day we arrived in Napa. We were on a tight budget and I was nervous as I had heard that Napa was Extremely expensive and that we wouldn't find anything decent in our price range. I was very pleasantly Surprised.

Our rooms were extremely spacious and had large bathrooms as well as fireplaces and sitting areas. The staff were very helpful. I loved the extra touches like complimentary wine and snacks in the evening, the honesty bar in the room was a nice touch as was the makeup remover pads in the bathroom. One of our rooms was upgraded to a Superior room, this provided a little more space as well as a couch. It was a great room on the 3rd floor. (cant remember the number but it was in the corner) I did notice that there were rooms on the ground floor off the lobby, I would probably stay away from those, might be a little loud.

Complimentary breakfast was delivered to the room, the selection changed daily and was very nice. The hotel was well located to town, a quick drive or a longish walk.

We really enjoyed our stay, and if we are ever in Napa again, hopefully we will be soon, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are great! Try and stay on 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments about the Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn. We are glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

After reading the mixed reviews of this inn, we were a bit skeptical, but we decided to try it because it was very reasoably priced. we were more than pleasantly surprized by the inn. the room was large and comfortable with a fireplace and large window. the bed was very comfortable with luxurious sheets (5200 thread count acutually). breakfast, although served at a quirky time (between 815 and 900am ) to your room in room-service style, was delicious. yes, as one review complained, it was a small european-style breakfast, but when you go to napa you wind up eating breads and cheese all day at the wineries, so the breakfast does not need to be an american farm-style breakfast. the breakfast time was also just right because none of the wineries open for tasting until 10 am at the earliest. there was also a nice convenient grocery store about half a mile down the road where i bought bread, cheese and meats for our lunch picnics at the wineries. the afternoon tasting was quaint with a light selection of crackers and cheese to eat with 4 wine pairings (sterling, mondavi, and folie a deux were the ones that i remember). the furniture and art was nice. we did not turn on the fireplace bc it was summer. after staying here, i went back and read the negative reviews, and it sounds like the guests who did not like this place were looking for an old victorian mansion turned into a B&B with the type of personal service only feasible when there are only 5 or so rooms to maintain. that type of B&B runs you around $450/nt in napa. this is definitely a great value with a clean, convenient, comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
916-925-5080, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the time you spent reviewing our property and providing your comments. Our focus is to deliver outstanding service and value to each or our guests. Comments on Trip Advisor and other sites help us to continually improve our service and offer the best service to our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn

Address: 837 California Blvd., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn has the charm of a Inn and the amenities of a boutique hotel. We welcome you with French tapestries, deep cushioned sofas, stately wrought iron accents and slate floors. We provide a wonderful morning breakfast delivered to your room and an afternoon reception featuring a selection of area wines and cheese. Our intimate Inn is designed to provide you with the utmost comfort and privacy. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Abri Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Country Inn Napa
Napa Country Inn
Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Abri Napa Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.