We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, lovely decor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Randolph

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn on Randolph to your Saves list
Inn on Randolph
411 Randolph St., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bud Break Special
Ranked #1 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Granite Bay, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable, lovely decor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I highly recommend the Inn of Randolph. It was so comfortable and clean and our hostess Sally was amazing! If you are someone who appreciates the architecture of classic homes you will love this Inn. The owners have taken great care in modernizing this home while maintaining the classic details that are so special to homes of this era. There is so much attention to detail! It's like Martha Stewart went on a shopping spree at Pottery Barn and Restoration Hardware and decorated this home. Simply lovely. The service and food were wonderful. We will visit again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    15
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
484
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Washington room during Memorial Day weekend and it exceeded all of our expectations. Karen and her husband were the ideal inn-keepers, they give you your privacy but also are friendly and offer fantastic reccommendations and go above and beyond for their guests. The Inn and the grounds are gorgeous, they were beautifully renovated with modern conveniences while still keeping the historical charm. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the fireplace that turned on with a quick switch made us feel so cozy on the chilly nights. Loved the 5p wine and cheese happy hour - definitely a great touch. Inn has a perfect location - less than a 5 minute safe walk right into downtown. No reason to stay right in downtown Napa as it shuts down by 9p everynight, so it's ideal to stay in a neighborhood inn loaded with charm like Inn on Randolph! Would definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wonderful place. We are true critics. My son is a chef, and I'm in the mattress business. If you want great food and comfortable mattresses this is the place! We also loved the sheets. What's better then a good night sleep and great food. Grounds are groomed perfectly, location is perfect.
Walk to dinner, theater any where you want.
Nice area to walk off your breakfast and see all the beauiful homes. We stayed in the Franklin House the room was nice and clean. All the restauants they recommended were great.
DO NOT VISIT CAYMUS WINERY,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

**Check out our photos to see what the new Inn looks like! The ones before ours are from before renovation**

My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and this was our first experience staying at a B&B. We were weary of the Bed & Breakfast experience from looking at other inns online. Upon arrival everything absolutely exceeded our expectations.

We felt like we walked into a Pottery Barn/Restoration Hardware catalogue! Everything was brand new with no hint of a traditional tacky floral B&B. We stayed in the Wilson room upstairs which was described as the smallest room, but it was on par with any traditional hotel room size. The room had great natural light and had the best bed I've ever slept on. The bed was a sleigh bed with luxury white linens and duvet. No ugly bedspreads here! Everything was completely new including the bathroom with its heated floor and dual showerheads. We felt like we were at the home we always wish we had. Karen, the owner, had also set up a bottle of wine with wine glasses and water for us, which was much appreciated after our long travel.

Another awesome part of this great B&B was that at 5pm she sets up wine and cheese in the event room at the back of the property. It was a hit, and we met several couples there who were just as pleasantly surprised at the modernness of the B&B. Every morning breakfast was served in the dining room and was absolutely delicious. Easily comparable to a nice breakfast in a restaurant downtown. Also included was granola, yogurt, good coffee and fresh orange juice.

To wrap it up, everything that management has done with the place is perfect.

Room Tip: Even though our upstairs room shared a wall with one room and was across from another, we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Inn on Randolph has a new owner, Karen, and she has created the perfect Napa retreat. I spent the weekend here with my boyfriend and his parents. Karen and her team went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed and more (e.g. stocking the parents' mini-fridge with their favorite beer, lending us a personal stereo set for tunes while we played backgammon in the garden, giving us extra bottles of wine, etc). Karen lives next door to the Inn, which allows her to give her guests space, but also provide immediate, personal attention when needed. She helped plan our itinerary, got us appointments at wineries, prepared us with maps and tasting coupons, and made dinner reservations for us in downtown Napa (a short stroll away).

Every tiny detail at this Inn is perfect. We had Frog's Leap wine in the room, heated bathroom floors and Jacuzzi tub, the cleanest, most luxurious sheets I've ever slept in (we ended up buying a set before we left!), speedy WiFi, a hot gourmet breakfast each morning... the list goes on. The Inn has updated, beautiful rooms that look like they came out of a magazine spread. None of grandma's floral wallpaper here.

I would go nowhere else for the perfect Napa experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed for long weekend at the newly and FULLY redone Inn on Randolph. Karen the new owner has literally redone this place to the studs and the entire place is perfect in every respect. Lovely pottery barn/modern cape cod type of styling. Attention to each and every detail just first rate! The property itself is large with gardens and beautiful common area living room. lovely tree lined block that is literally just a couple blocks walk to downtown napa, oxbow
market and short bike or drive to silverado wine tasting trail. It is truly an ideal place to stay in napa. The included breakfasts were terrific featuring baked goodies, great coffee, fresh squeezed juice, handmade granola with yogurt and fruits plus a hot entree. Karen is lovely
and extremely helpful like having a concierge service. She arranged rental bikes to be delivered
and pickup after our stay by a local vendor so we could cruise around town on bikes. She was
extremely helpful with wine tasting info and dinner reservations. I HIGHLY recommend this place I think it is really the top of the line accomodation in napa. and....the bed was like a cloud and the sheets are the softest most yummy sheets I have ever slept in....felt like they were coated with butter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed last weekend at the Inn on Randolph and loved our stay. We were a group of friends from all around the world meeting in Napa for a wedding and are a picky bunch having been used to travelling and staying at pretty nice places on the way! The Inn on Randolph was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted somewhere convenient to downtown Napa (10 minutes walk), yet peaceful, with character and in a residential neighbourhood. The main house is still under renovation but Karen, the owner, was extremely accommodating and we were able to stay in four of the newly done-up cottages (one of the cottages that we had booked was completed just in time for our stay!).

On pulling up to the property, we were all immediately delighted by the lovely and well-tended grounds of the Inn. Karen and Sally (the inn-keeper) welcomed us all warmly and gave us a short tour of our cottages. The cottages are to the back of the property which gives them a nice private feel but are easily accessed from the front entrance to the property or the small car park (which has three to four spaces) at the rear. Two of the cottages (Washington and Randolph) are adjoining and the interior doors can be opened up from both sides to link the two sides. The other two cottages are stand-alone. All have a lovely entrance area of their own.

The interiors of the cottages are contemporary but also retain the character and history of the original building (original flooring, unusual built-in ironing board cupboards etc). We really appreciated the more modern finish of the interiors as none of us were too sold on the more old-fashioned heavy and floral decor that many of the other B&B's in the area seem to have. Every attention to detail has been given - from the complimentary half-bottle of local Napa red wine, cotton pads and cotton buds in a lovely glass jar, the sweet mini-jug of fresh milk in the fridge, the chilled purified water, the tiny flashlights by the bed (for people walking out late at night), the iPod compatible radio player (which allows you to listen to your own choice of tunes), the high-tech tea/coffee maker. Even the adjoining cottages which are supposed to be a little smaller than the stand-alone cottages are a very comfortable size with good sized bathrooms (and a spa tub). The weather was wonderful in Napa last weekend but we still enjoyed the option for heating flooring in the bathroom and the gas-fire places in each cottage during the more chilly evenings. There was plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space for all our belongings and well-placed hooks in the bathroom for the fluffy white towels and bathrobes. There were a couple of minor things that we asked to be sorted out (one a result of the newness of the renovation and the other as a result of the original character of the cottage) but these were dealt with quickly and satisfactorily.

Everything was very clean and you can tell that Karen has not cut corners on quality on any of the decor. One of our group would specifically like to say that she would gladly spend hours in the bathroom as it is so warm and inviting!

We cannot talk about the cottages without talking about the amazing beds. There is nothing like spending a long day out and about and then climbing into a bed that makes you relax and feel cosy immediately. The bed was of good firmness but with a deep mattress topper to give the "sinking-in" feel. We have no idea what thread-count the bedsheets were but we did not care - they were soft and just perfect!

We also had access to a separate building with a lounge area and dining table which was great for a group of friends wanting to hang out and catch up after evening activities. This was also the area that our group had breakfast in the morning. Outside there are also a few patio seating areas dotted around the property which will be lovely when the weather gets hotter.

We stayed two nights and breakfast on both days was excellent. None of us had special diets and so we all had the same breakfast. The main hot course of the breakfast is varied each day and is unusual and thoughtful. This may not suit those who prefer the usual eggs and bacon type breakfast when they stay at a B&B (although eggs and bacon were certainly in evidence as we had a delicious baked egg, cheese and mushroom concoction on day one and a thick chunk of fresh strawberry french toast with bacon on day two). The home-made granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit (varied both days) and fresh orange juice filled us up ready for the day's activities.

Service by the team was attentive but not over the top. We all felt very relaxed and, actually, very at home! We were sorry to leave at the end but looking forward to a return stay one day.

Very impressed by the job that Karen and her husband (as first time inn-owners) have done. High-quality comfort mixed with a relaxed and chilled out ambience. We were disappointed that we forgot to take photos - but the ones on the website (which has been updated) are an accuate protrayal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperIOR, Owner at Inn on Randolph, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Wow, what a review! Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to let other travels know about your experience. We are so thrilled to have the Inn on Randolph reopened after a nine month extensive remodel and loved hosting your group!
Warmly,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Randolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Randolph

Address: 411 Randolph St., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip, fresh, and luxurious with a whole new attitude. Run by young, innovative innkeepers this stunning Napa property has become the destination of choice for savvy travelers who want the intimacy of a Bed and Breakfast Inn with the elegance and amenities of a boutique hotel. Historic - but stunningly renovated with modern conveniences. Secluded - but central to everything you want from Napa. Whether you stay in the historic rooms or the cottages your time in Napa should nourish and recharge – a luxurious massage in our private spa, a world-class breakfast prepared daily in a gluten-safe kitchen, heated bathroom floors and sumptuous beds that have become the talk of the travel sites. Outside you’ll find lush outdoor gardens, private spaces, and meeting rooms that can accommodate everything from intimate proposals to large group celebrations.Well connected to everything you desire from Napa and ready to make your stay one to remember - nothing competes with the Inn on Randolph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Inn on Randolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Randolph Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Randolph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.