We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Addition to Downtown Napa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oenotri

Oenotri
1425 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2815
707-252-1022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 254 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School Street
Description: Daily changing menu available on our websiteLunch served daily from 11:30a - 2:30pDinner served Sunday - Thursday from 5:30p - 9:30pDinner served Friday & Saturday from 5:30p - 10:00pOpen late night for pizza and drinks on Friday & Saturday
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to Downtown Napa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The atmosphere, service and food was all great. We really enjoyed our first visit to Oenotri.

The wine list had an extensive Italian selection and also some California wines, and it was reasonably priced. We started our meal with tomatoes and mozzarella which was good. Some of the tomatoes were better than others, but all in all a good dish. Next was the margherita pizza which we get everywhere as a way to compare restaurants. It was really good. My husband kept raving about the thinness of the crust. For our last course, we enjoyed the carbonara. Wow, was that amazing. It was so creamy and delicious. We were actually tempted to order a second one. We restrained, but it wasn't easy.

This is a great addition to the downtown Napa dining scene.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    108
    59
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The food was killer; I had a simple pasta which was cooked perfectly and with fresh ingredients. Cool ambience at this place with a good level of noise and an open kitchen. The best part though was our server - he knew the menu backwards and forwards, and was hilarious and great. Would definitely go again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ecclectic atmosphere, exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We planned a trip to Napa for my husbands birthday and after reading about Oenotri in Food and Wine Magazine I was pleasantly surprised to find I was able to make a reservation for the day and time we wanted(about 6 wks in advance)and the prices looked reasonable. What an outstanding evening! The service and food were exceptional. The atmosphere(while a bit noisy)was relaxed and fun. My husband is still telling friends that it was the best birthday dinner he's ever had. Everything on the menu is made or grown locally and the menu changes frequently so you know everything is fresh. When my husband told me we'd be going wine tasting again next month in the Napa area, I immediately made dinner reservations at Oenotri.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Enthralled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food was good but not great. The service was fine but this place was not as good as others in the area. Won't return anytime soon. Almost attended a wine dinner where they were catering. Glad we didn't.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, B.C.
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Napa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have eaten at Oenotri on a few other occassions. The food is consistently excellent. We went there with 2 other couples and everyone enjoyed their meal thoroughly. I was particularly impressed with our Brazilian waitress. She gave us really good service and didn't automatically put in a 20% gratuity because our group had 6 people in it. Because of this refreshing experience and excellent service, she got even more than the 20%. Definitely recommend Oenotri for a great Italian food experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oenotri also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Oenotri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oenotri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.