We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Tacos and a Morning Cold One” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Story Restaurant

Fish Story Restaurant
790 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3381
707-251-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Story Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 220 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Californian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Third Street
Description: Fish Story, offering sustainable, seasonal, ocean-fresh seafood, is Lark Creek Restaurant Group's entry into the Napa Valley dining scene. Located downtown, with ample riverfront patio seating, Fish Story serves lunch weekdays, brunch weekend days and dinner nightly, featuring live local Dungeness crab, live Maine lobster, fresh fish and shellfish all sourced in accordance with the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch Program, plus non-seafood items.
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos and a Morning Cold One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We walked into Fish Story about 11:40 AM on Friday 22 March 2013. Classy place and good location. We had our choice of tables and sat by a river view window. Didn't try any wines but enjoyed a crafted beer and the fish tacos were super. Super-sized chunks of fresh cod and great presentation -- plenty to eat. Service was attentive and efficient. By the time we finished our plates a steady stream of customers had developed for the noon lunch and it was obvious most were locals. A good sign by anyone's book.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    102
    44
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

all I can say is wow. This place is amazing. From the amazing wine list (with 50% off bottles for the month of March) to the fresh, sustainable seafood, this was one of the best meals I've ever had. I had the clams and chorizo and it was simply divine. Not to mention that it was reasonably priced, two of us ate (two entrees, an appetizer, and a bottle of wine) for less than $100. This place is a must go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must go to Fish Story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is the bomb! Only sustainable fish is served ((that's important). Eat outdoors on the patio (it was warm and cozy on a winter's night). Food, service and ambience is wonderful. The month of March wine is half off!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss Fish Story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to several restaurants in Napa Town, some with quite famous reputations. Fish Story, hands down was the best. I'm referring to the food, the server, the ambience, the store front and physical campus and everything else you would want in a fabulous dining experience. There were six of us, and each of us (some of whom are gourmands) loved the place. We closed the restaurant down that evening, and in contrast to certain other experiences (East Coast primarily), we were not at all given the 'bum's rush'. the Fish Story is a must on an itinerary to Napa Town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The food is good but the management staff was out to lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think the Lark Creek Group of restaurants in the San Francisco Bay Area are outstanding. Fish Story is their newest venture. The waterfront location on the Napa River in Downtown Napa is ideal. The decor was outstanding and creative (look for the fishing lures). The waitress was perfect. The food was good, not noteable but good. The management needs Food Network's Robert Irvine or Hell's Kitchen star Chef Ramsay to do an overhaul. It took nearly 30 minutes from the time we finshed our very tasty New England clam chowder before the entree arrived. The waitress handled it professionally stopping by on several ocassions to apologize and offer us more bread. But where was the manager, out to lunch?

I will try this establishment again, because every restaurant deserves a second chance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Story Restaurant also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Fish Story Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Story Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.