We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this palce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Residence to your Saves list
La Residence
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Pre-Pay & Save 10%!
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this palce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for years and love it. The service is great, the place is clean, the even offer breakfast. We enjoy this location and the apartment like suties. It is close to many restaurans and and shopping.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Carol M,

We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback from your visit to us in July. As you already know, we truly love taking care of all our guests and are thankful for having such a large number of return visitors on a regular basis.

You may or may not be aware that we recently closed our doors temporarily to allow us to expand and update the property. Do not be alarmed though, our focus is on maintaining our charm, feel and ambiance, along with all the other great reasons for your repeat visits in the past.

We look to be reopen in the spring, with completion shortly thereafter. Be sure to follow our progress on our website, facebook and other social media sites.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    64
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
204
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at La Residence the week of Thanksgiving, which this year also included our 10th anniversary. We had one of the suites in "The Mansion" - one of four buildings on the property. It was absolutely lovely. Lots of space, a cozy fireplace, relaxing balcony and thick walls - once in our room, we barely heard the other guests, which included a family with kids. The rest of the property was also very pretty. We relaxed in the hot tub under the stars and there were a lot of nice outdoor spaces and an outdoor pool, which I can see would be very enjoyable in warmer months. The staff was very warm and helpful and the included breakfast was what I'd call a "hearty continental" - many options for a filling breakfast before heading out wine tasting. The location was very convenient to the many wineries and restaurants throughout Napa Valley.

There were only two downsides to the visit. The property is quite close to Rt 29 and, despite a barrier of tall trees, there is some noise from the road that can be heard in the room. Not enough to keep me awake, but I'm a pretty solid sleeper. The other thing is one of those things that's really hard to critique because everyone's needs are very different. But the mattress on the bed was extremely uncomfortable for us. It was a very soft, which felt nice at first, but the lack of support left us both with aching backs each day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear KarrieSue78,

We hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving Holiday in the Napa Valley as part of your 10th anniversary celebrations.

We have recently updated our historic "Harry C. Parker" mansion and it's good to read that you enjoyed your room and it's amenities. As part of our ongoing improvements here at the property, we have recently broke ground on an expansion to add more to our guest experience, along with a renovation project of existing rooms.

With this in mind, we look to address any items that need attention and your comment regarding your mattress will be taken care of also.

We look forward to welcoming you back once more when your schedule allows.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This week was our 4th stay at La Residence. The moment we stepped on the property 3 years ago- we knew it was something special, It is a small, understated, elegant property with cedar shingled buildings-surrounded by lovely trees, gardens and vineyards It is steps away from one of Napa's finest restaurants, Don Giovanni's. La Residence is the gateway to many vineyards along Route 29. We always stay in Cottage 16, which has french doors that open onto a brick patio-where you can sit with your morning coffee in the sun and there is a lovely fireplace in the room, to cozy up to. The staff is pleasant, courteous,and available if needed.The rooms decor and furnishings is french country- warmly decorated-unpretentious and comfortable. We always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Spanky98,

Thank you for this visit and your many others in prior years to La Residence.

We are truly blessed to have so many return visitors, who treat La Residence as their home away from home and have become true friends, as we make plans for "same time, next year".

We look forward to seeing you again soon, same room, same date maybe?

Thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback and we look forward to the next time.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Feels very comfortable. Great areas to sit and enjoy some quite time. Staff is very helpful and good meal in the morning. They have a great wine and cheese every evening. You can walk to Don Giovani for a good meal. 5 min to Yountville.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear ronjen817,

Thank you for visiting La Residence recently, we appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again when your future travels brings you to the Napa Valley.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yecal37
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here on our anniversary trip to Napa. We stayed in the mansion. The service was great. We absolutely loved sitting by the fire pit at night and the staff was more than happy to light it, give us wood for the rest of the night, etc. The breakfast was sufficient. nice to be able to grab a bagel or yogurt in a pinch. We were also told Don Giovanni's, which is within walking distance, was awesome. We never made it there but it was nice to know it was a close option.

Location of la residence was great. It was close to both downtown Napa and Yountville. Easy to hop On over to either for dinner.

Last comment- the shower in our room was SO tiny my elbows touched both walls if I held my arms bent at each side. (I am only 5'4"! So it was even more cramped for my 6' husband!) This was certainly not a deal breaker, but I would definitely request not to stay in that room again. The shower was just too tiny and claustrophobic!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear yecal37,

We appreciate your comments following your recent visit to La Residence.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and the services that we offer. We are always looking to improve our guest experience, and the comments you offer with regards to the shower size in your room is appreciated and taken very seriously.

We will be undergoing an expansive renovation and expansion starting in December and we will look at ways to eliminate areas that are of issue.

We hope that you are able to return again next year and enjoy the improvements we will be making. If this is an option, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a great time at La Residence. The location is between downtown Napa and the long stretch of wineries to the north, so it's a short drive either way. The grounds are pretty, well-kept, and quiet. The room itself was nice (we stayed in the deluxe king) and clean. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese tasting both nights we were there, and the continental breakfast was also satisfying.

Above all, though, the staff is incredible. As others have mentioned we were contacted by the concierge before arriving about booking tours during our stay. We opted for the olive oil tasting at Round Pond and the hot air balloon ride from Napa Valley Balloons, Inc. In both cases we received a discount over the normal price by booking through the hotel, and in the case of the balloon ride we even got free photos from the ride, which are usually extra. As a side note, the balloon ride was well worth the cost and is not to be missed!

We want to particularly mention the amazing service of one of the staff, Candy. Always with a smile, she set up a complimentary fire in our fireplace both nights, helped find a DVD player and hooked it up to our TV for us, and even baked us a personal batch of warm, soft chocolate chip cookies and delivered it to our room (her suggestion!) She really made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Ranjan R,

Thank you for your recent visit and taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

It is fantastic to read that your stay was enjoyed thoroughly, along with being able to experience the service that others have noted in their reviews offered following stays with us at La Residence. We are extremely fortunate to have the staff that always go above and beyond, with Candy highlighting this perfectly.

We hope that you should you return to the Napa Valley for another vacation that you will think of La Residence as your home away from home.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and found it very warm and friendly. The hotel fits really well in with the local area. The room was clean, spacious and charming. The daily breakfast was excellent - good choice and coffee readily available throughout the day.
The evening wine and cheese tasting was a lovely touch and we looked forward to it each day.
It was a bit chilly outside so we did not use the outdoor pool but some other guests did use the outdoor hot tub.
It was a nice, peaceful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear 489Mike,

Thank you for your visit to La Residence last month and taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

It is great to read that you had a good time with us and in the Napa Valley. We hope that when you next look to visit California that you will consider a return visit.If this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, TIG Global, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.