We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence

Save Saved
You added La Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Residence
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
La Residence Expansion
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Napa
Atlanta, GA USA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very nice property with good location, very nice rooms, and polite staff. Pricing was very reasonable with well above average and included complimentary internet as well as wine and cheese tasting 6PM - 7PM. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear GSSATLANTA,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Napa Valley and also to La Residence.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit with us. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer and would recommend us to others.

When you visit Wine Country once more, we hope to be able to take care of you again.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    62
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
198
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am not sure if the "country" experience is the best for the wine country. La Résidence location, by the highway between Napa and Yountville limits the possibility of a good long walk without having to drive for a few miles and park your car. Besides from that it is perfect!
Good service, professional and kind. Our room was big, comfortable and silent. The continental breakfast's choice is wide. The evening wine serving with wines from the owner's winery excellent.
So if you like the country experience this is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in "the mansion"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Juan U,

We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit to La Residence.

We are very lucky to have a great location that provides privacy and seclusion, yet the flexibility to navigate the valley more conveniently.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the property and the amenities we offer. Should your travels bring you this way once more, we hope that you will consider La Residence again as a place to stay in Wine Country.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful trip to Napa Valley. We booked a room at La Residence a few months before our trip. Candy was very sweet and sent an email to see if we needed help with scheduling any tours. She gave us a great recommendation for a private driver on Saturday so that we could enjoy the wineries without worrying about driving in a new area. She also made our appt at Round Pond olive mill (highly recommend) so we really appreciated her help in this area.

We had a room on the 3rd floor in the mansion which was the building furthest from the street. Yes, I did hear street noise in the middle of the night. Not so loud that it kept me up but when I got up to use the restroom I did notice it. The building was very charming and we loved the creaky wooden floors and old doorknobs. We usually stay in nice hotels when we travel so this was something different. It just felt very Napa to us. The grounds were very pretty and peaceful. We did not utilize the pool or hottub but they looked nice. They had a nice little sitting area with chairs and a fireplace pit. The room was cute- the beds and sheets were comfortable. The bathroom was small (the shower was tiny) but that wasn't a huge deal breaker for us. The iron leaked water and didn't really steam much but again, not the end of the world.

The wine and cheese reception each night was a nice touch. Breakfast each day was simple- oatmeal, pastries, fruit and coffee and juices. You won't find many hot items but we are not huge breakfast eaters so this was fine for us.

There are over 450 wineries in Napa and this hotel was in a good spot. Right off the main street and you just head north to get to everything. All the little towns are close to each other and nothing seemed too far out of our way.

The ladies at the front desk were very nice and helpful when we asked for dinner advice. They printed off directions for us and that was much appreciated. The little Bistro Giovanni down the road had great Italian food. It's pricy but every place we ate in Napa was.

Robert Mondavi winery is a must. Very pretty and super educational. Learned a lot about wine and how it's made.

Del Dotto was very pretty and the caves were awesome. Generous tastings too.

Peju and Salvestrin were smaller wineries..... both decent.

We LOVED Round Pond olive tour. They practically fed us lunch and the oils and vinegars were so good we had some shipped home.

The castle winery (can't remember the name.......Castillo I think) was very different from the others.

We had an amazing trip and hope to go back some day. There are so many neat places to stay and wineries to see that you could go 100 times and have a different experience each time. Napa overall is so beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed La Residence and would stay there again and would recommend to anyone going.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear townie75,

Thank you for your very detailed feedback following your recent visit to us at La Residence. We truly appreciate the chance to take care of our guests and create experiences for them to remember for a long time to come.

When you next find the time to travel out to Wine Country, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to allow us to take good care of you once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I want to start by saying we have not stayed here yet however I felt compelled to write and say we are so looking forward to hosting our wedding accommodations here next year.
The staff, esp Alana have been so tremendously helpful. Prompt on returning emails, always open to providing tips & so much more. I can not wait to return and update this review on what a wonderful experience we had. Thank you La Residence

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear bumblebeewaxing,

Thank you for taking the time to review the service you have received from us here at La Residence already.

We look forward to taking good care of you once you arrive also!! Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of further assistance prior to your arrival.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

La Residence was such a great find - really a hidden gem, tucked out of the way in a great location which is very accessible to the wineries. The property has beautiful grounds and the rooms are well-appointed, but cozy and comfortable. There is a lot of history at the property, especially the mansion which has historic charm combined with all the upgrades that make it modern-day comfortable, including plush, cozy robes. Each room seemed to have access to outdoor seating which added to the charm of La Residence. There is a pool and hot tub on the property - we wish we had brought our suits for a hot tub dip after dinner. We received a complimentary room upgrade upon our arrival and we were in a beautiful room in the mansion, complete with complementary Internet. And the La Residence staff is charming and friendly, too.

The daily wine reception is a nice touch, with cheese and crackers, and both a red or white wine you can enjoy on the terrace, when the weather is nice. It's a nice way to get to know other guests at the hotel and share stories about your favorite winery experiences. Daily breakfast is ample! Our selection included quiche Florentine, oatmeal, fruit, cereals, coffees, juices, pastries, meats, and cheeses.

I noticed some advanced-booking discounts on the website which would make La Residence an even better deal for the money.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved our room in The Mansion, so I'd request that to be in the more historic part of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear karenkDallas,

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us at La Residence.

The historic "Harry C. Parker" mansion is a beautiful location to relax and unwind on the patio or balcony, along with taking in the rest of the property, where we have numerous places to relax even more.

We hope that you are able to visit again soon and let us take good care of you once more.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very small and intimate place; an old main house with some newer buildings in the grounds. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room in the old house lovely. That said, unless you sleep like a log it would be better to get one of the rooms in the newer buildings which appear to have double glazing. There is a four lane highway about 100 yards in front of the hotel and the traffic noise was very intrusive. A good location to explore the valley.

Room Tip: The old house rooms are lovely, apart from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Daniel H,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit in October to us here in the Napa Valley.

While we happy to see you enjoyed the property and what we have to offer, we are disappointed that you were affected by the road nearby. While we cannot change our location, we take all feedback seriously to help us consider ways to improve how we take care of our guests.

Your comments allows us more insight on how we can mitigate future instances. We will be undergoing an exciting renovation and expansion this winter, with improvement happening throughout the property.

If your travels brings you this way again in the future, we would truly appreciate the chance to take care of you once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

At first we were surprised that La Residence is outside the little city of napa. We quickly learned that was a huge plus, so every trip back from a long day of wine tasting didnt have to include rush hour traffic into the city. Would recommend to anyone! My only issue was that the bathrooms are a little outdated but otherwise fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the backside of the property so that you cant hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear sines9,

Your feedback from your recent visit to us is much appreciated. As you note, we are very fortunate to be located where we are, making the ability to explore Wine Country that more convenient, as the closest vineyard is only a minute or so away.

We hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future, allowing us to show you the updates we plan to do to the property this winter, which among other upgrades will be new bathrooms in our existing rooms.

When you find the time to return, please feel free to contact us directly, so we can take great care of you one more.

Thank you again for the review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Napa
La Residence Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Residence 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.