We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and peaceful......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence

Save Saved
You added La Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residence
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Charming and peaceful......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friends and I just experienced a wonderful girls trip to Napa and La Residence was the perfect place to stay. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff starting with Graham, the general manager, to Dave, Marta and all the others were experienced and friendly hosts plus our rooms were spacious and well appointed. We loved the Hall Vineyards wine at happy hour every afternoon and the low key breakfasts each morning. What a charming and beautiful inn. Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sydney711,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit with your friends at La Residence.

It is fantastic to read that the staff here made your stay even more memorable. We are lucky to have a great team who makes sure our guests have all they need to enjoy their visit to Wine Country, with Marta and Dave being no exception to that rule.

When you next return to Napa Valley, we hope to see you all again!!

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    62
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
200
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took a recent girls trip to Napa and stayed at La Residence and it was so relaxing. From the manager, Graham, to the bellman, Dave, and Marta who served us wine and great food, the service was outstanding! The rooms were very comfortable, the grounds were beautiful and we were surrounded by vineyards! What more could you want! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sher53,

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your friends during your recent visit.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to La Residence and the beautiful Napa Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found this place to be just what we wanted. A small, intimate inn located in Napa valley. The rooms were spacious, the breakfast was lovely and the nightly wine and cheese was an added touch. The location is between Napa and Yountville which are both great little towns and close to all of the wineries. There is not a lot within walking distance but there is a great restaurant located at the end of the driveway called Bistro Dan Giovanni which was excellent. Added bonus, sitting in an outdoor hot tub enjoying the beautiful Napa Valley evening. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a quiet, relaxing retreat.

Room Tip: We had a king sized bed which was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear renanddave.

Your time spent with us this month seems to have offered you everything you were looking for in a trip to the Napa Valley.

It is always great to read how our guests enjoy our little slice of heaven, with an evening in the hot tub looking up to the stars above with a glass of Napa Valley wine sounding just blissful!!

We hope that your schedule allows you to return again in the future and spend some more time with us. If this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had the best room right in the vineyard. Suite with bedroom, living room and great bath. Spacious and lovely. Hot tub outside. Wine and cheeses in the afternoon and breakfast - all delicious. Would go back again. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 13 very private with your own porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear TeddyPeter,

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and the time you spent in Wine Country.

When you have a chance to return to the Napa Valley, we look forward to welcoming you back once more.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at La Residence for my engagement weekend with my girlfriend. I couldn't have asked for a better hotel, service, and overall experience. I let the staff know that I was planning on proposing and they were extremely helpful. They helped me find a spot on the property to pop the question, had great dinner recommendations, and helped me all along the way to make sure my engagement was a special one. Once I chose the location I wanted to use, they even moved my hotel room location to better accommodate logistically for the proposal.

The breakfast was great, the wine happy hours were a lot of fun, and the small amount of rooms made for an extremely personable and peaceful experience.

I would recommend La Residence to any family or friends, and I will be staying there again the next time I visit the Wine Country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear wmbadams,

We are happy to read that your choice of location and hotel to propose to your future wife turned out to be the perfect place to do so.

We truly pride ourselves on making the details of a specific request become a reality, so it is great to read that your special question was asked in exactly the way you intended.

Since your departure, the concierge who helped this happen has been able to see some photographs that were taken as the proposal unfolded, and they look truly special.

When you look to return in the future, please contact us directly as we will be ready and willing to make your next visit as special as your first...... Who knows, it could be the perfect honeymoon location too!!!

Best regards and congratulations once more,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I were married at La Residence and returned for our tenth anniversary. We returned because we liked it so much during our wedding. As always, the staff is great. Everyone had a smile and had the answer to every question. A very big thank you to Kelly for the split of champagne, cheesecake and strawberries when she learned it was our anniversary. The room was very nice, with excellent bedding and linens. We learned that La Residence will be closing for a few months while they undergo an expansion and renovation. The place is gorgeous now, but I cannot wait to see what they do to improve it.

Room Tip: We have stayed here twice and both were very nice. The rooms on the east side might be a little qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Congratulations on your tenth anniversary!! Thank you for you returning to La Residence to celebrate this special occasion.

It is very pleasing to read that the hotel has kept its charm and beauty in the 10yrs since your last visit.

We hope that you will consider a return visit for your 11th year celebration, as this will allow us to show you the new additions to the property. We will be sure to not take anything away from what La Residence has been as this is what makes us so beautiful and unique.

Once again, congratulations!!

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Residence for 3 nights for my birthday/Labor day. We were surprised and delighted to be upgraded from our garden room to an amazing two bedroom, two bath, full kitchen swo storey separate house on the property (apparently the residence of the original owners). It was amazing, luxurious beds with great pillows, immaculate furnishings and great toiletries. A wonderful breakfast and wine and cheese (fabulous variety) come with the stay. Great location and staff, couldn't have been better, we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear jobrankin,

We appreciate you staying with us recently and celebrating your birthday in Wine Country.

We hope that when you return to the valley, that you will consider a return visit and allow us to take care of you again once more.

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Residence 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.