We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence

Save Saved
You added La Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Residence
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
La Residence Expansion
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Napa
Gilroy, California
1 review
“quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The property was everything we thought it would be. The location is great - just outside of Napa so it is quiet and easier to access all the wineries than places in Napa. The rooms are fantastic. All updated and have the amenities you are looking for. The complimentary breakfast is what surprised us the most. A very nice and fresh selection of fruits, pastries, yogurt, quiche, etc. The only potential con would be the price. It can get expensive, but so is everything in Napa Valley...

Room Tip: choose the bungalow or suites if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear JustinD312,

Thank you for visiting us in June. It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

With so many fantastic options to choose from in the Napa Valley, we are thankful that you chose La Residence to enjoy some R&R.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    62
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
198
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I used hotelstonight to book our first night at La Residence. The hotel seemed to have everything we needed...great location, amenities and romantic. We were thrilled at how wonderful it was we ended up staying an extra night!
We can't wait to find another opportunity to head to Napa and stay there again.
It was wonderful to have so many outdoor areas to relax, sit by the pool, enjoy the hottub, eat on the patio, read outside of our bedroom, everything was really amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Katie B,

In the world of technology and on the fly decisions being made daily, we are thankful that you came across us on a mobile app that we participate in, when we have availability.

The fact you extended your stay says a lot about your satisfaction once you arrived.

We hope that you find the time to visit again soon. Don't hesitate to call us directly to make sure that you secure a reservation ahead of time, that way guaranteeing a room as we are only getting busier as the year moves forward.

Once again, thank you for your feedback from your visit in June.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Looooved La Residence! The breakfast was great every morning. They had meats and cheeses, fruit, bagels, oatmeal, cereals, quiche, baked goods...very good and a nice way to start the day of wine tastings. The staff was friendly and helped us book a couples massage in our room, highly reccomend it! The happy hour of wines and apps in the evenings was also very wonderful. It was nice to relax and take a breath before heading to dinner elsewhere. The room was very spacious (we fit 2 massage tables in there!) and the bed was very comfy. Very nice bathroom, which was also spacious. I loved how large the tub shower was, that was really nice! And I loved that you had a little private outdoor deck space, that was very nice and we sat out there a few times just enjoying ourselves. It was a great stay and I would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear ktinspencer,

Your stay with us in April seemed to have made a lasting impression, which is always fantastic to read.

We are very lucky to have a beautiful location to be set in, and with that the opportunities to relax and watch the world go by are plentiful.

When your schedule allows for a return visit to enjoy more of the same, please do not hesitate to let us know how we can help once more.

Thank you again for spending time with us and offering feedback from your visit.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at La Residence for four nights. This lovely Inn was a highlight of our trip to Napa Vally! We had four rooms including three king rooms as well as a cottage suite. The rooms as well as the suite were a very good size. very clean and well maintained. In the rooms there were fireplaces. Our family enjoyed coffee in the mornings on the porch at the cottage suite. It was right beside a small vineyard! So peaceful and serene! Each morning we had a very nice continental breakfast which included a couple of times, quiche. In the evenings there was a lovely wine and cheese reception.
I cannot say enough great things about the staff, very friendly and polite and ever so helpful. Many thanks to Kimberly who helped organize our trip including dinners, drivers and excursions!
The grounds were beautiful. The pool and hot tub were centrally located on the grounds.
The Inn is situated just off Hwy 29 easy access to Napa as well to the rest of the Napa Valley. It was a very short 5-6 minute walk to a very good restaurant called Bistro Don Giovanni. Each morning we enjoyed a 25 min run around the neighbouring vineyard.
We are already planning our next trip to Napa Valley and would definitely stay at La Residence again!!

Room Tip: The cottage suite beside the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear hockeymom89,

There isn't much else to say regarding your review other than thank you!!!!

We love working in this industry for creating enjoyable experiences for all those that visit us, and your feedback is music to our ears.

Although said before, La Residence is the perfect place where you can gather and relax, watch the word go by and make memories that will last a lifetime.

When you finalize your plans for available dates to visit once more, please do not hesitate to reach out to me, our Kimberly directly.

Once again, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

While planning a weekend trip to San Francisco, we discovered that we had a few extra days available and decided to spend them in Napa. Although not a last minute decision, we began looking for lodging a little later than we normally would. We soon discovered that most of our favorite options were either booked, required three night minimum stays, or were prohibitively expensive. After days of on line searching we were about to give up when we decided to look into La Residence Country Inn. We have to admit that we have driven by La Residence dozens of times without even being aware of its existence. But the pictures on line looked great, the location was very good, rooms were available, and the price was reasonable. So we took the leap.

We ended up being totally surprised. The pictures very accurately conveyed the character of the Inn. The rooms are spacious, very well appointed, and very comfortable. The Inn currently has only 31 rooms spread across four different buildings. The grounds are very well groomed and relaxing, even though you are literally only feet from Highway 29. General Manager Graham Yallop and his staff are first rate. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast and evening wine tastings were a very pleasant surprise.

We are already planning our next trip to Napa and we will be staying at La Residence again. If you are looking for something a bit different, close to the action, reasonably priced compared to properties in Yountville or St. Helena, and want to be treated like an appreciated guest, we recommend you give them a try.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but the staff can help you choose a room to your taste if your are uncertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Bill M,

Your recent visit to Wine Country definitely seemed to have been a good one. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It is not uncommon for a lot of new visitors to have driven past us for years, then only to be surprised once they find out what we have here, tucked behind the mature trees that line the property.

La Residence is a place where you can relax and make new friends in the process, with wine hour and breakfast being the perfect time to compare notes with a stranger who in turn becomes an acquaintance by the time you leave.

Our 24 rooms are so unique that we have something to offer for everyone.

It was a pleasure to meet you and your wife and we hope that your hope to return in August is achievable. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure that you have a fantastic time once more.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Once you arrive at the property, La Residence is in a very nice setting – an oasis off the highway. Our room was in the Mansion building and was nicely appointed and spacious; there was a separate sitting area when you entered. As we were celebrating our anniversary, there was a nice note in our room and a plate with two pieces of cheese cake & berries in the refrigerator. The complimentary bottled water was greatly appreciated, too. The bathroom was quite large and got a lot of natural light in the morning. A word of caution, though: the bathroom floor is quite slippery in some places. As others have mentioned, the noise from the highway was an issue. I am usually a heavy sleeper, and the cars going by were fine – just a whisper of sound. However, the trucks changing gears during the middle of the night woke even me up. We were on the second floor, and our upstairs neighbors were rather heavy-footed, which also woke us up.
The wine & cheese reception in the afternoon was a nice way to unwind after a long drive and meet some other guests. The breakfast was plentiful but could use a bit of an upgrade in quality; the pastries seemed as if they might be from Costco? It would be nice if, for example, a cooked item such as frittata or French Toast was offered. We didn’t use them, but the pool and hot tub looked very inviting.
The staff was very nice and friendly. When we commented about the highway noise upon our departure, Judy showed us one of the king cottage rooms for future reference and described all the other accommodations to us.
La Residence is midway between Napa and Yountville. As a result, you are ‘out in the country’, which has advantages and disadvantages. You are away from the hustle & bustle of a city/town, and you got more for your money than you would in Yountville. With the exception of one restaurant within walking distance, you need to drive anywhere else. So, it really comes down to which situation you prefer. I think we would stay here again if we had one of the rooms facing the back of the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear trvlquestions,

Thank you for your very informative feedback following your recent visit with us.

I am happy to read that Judy was helpful in presenting alternative room options that we have here at La Residence should you return to see us again in the future.

Our proximity to highway 29 is definitely as asset when looking to get out and explore the beauty of the Napa Valley, as you do not have to contend with getting out of town, as others may have to.

That said, we make our best effort to reduce any impact that the passing traffic has on our guest experience and will continue to look at ways to improve further.

We are glad that you enjoyed the wine hour and the options we have for breakfast, where we have our artisan bakers deliver fresh pastries daily. I will definitely look into the items you note to continue our improvement in all areas of our service.

When your schedule allows a return visit, please feel free to contact me, or Judy directly to assist in arranging anything you may need.

Thank you once again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

La Residence is one of those places that are actually better than what the Web site shows. Great people, Beautiful gardens, pools and ponds. The rooms are all unique and very clean & comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accomodating.. This experience at La Residence was a wonderful experience and made our trip to Napa very enjoyable. We met many, very nice guests that were visiting the wine country. I would highly Recommend. The OAk Tree outside the main building is huge. Probably over 300 years old..

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place. The individual cabins are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear jon e,

Reading your review follow your recent visit to La Residence and the Napa Valley is music to our ears.

It is great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here, along with all the amenities we offer.

We created our new website with the hope to capture the beauty of the property in an honest and realistic manner, so it is fantastic to see that it reflected the beauty, albeit better to see in person.

We hope that your next visit to Napa Valley and La Residence isn't too far away in the future, as we have beauty here all year round and the wines aren't bad either!!!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham

P.S - Great estimation on the age of our majestic valley oaks that we have here on property, our arborist estimates about 250-300 years old!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Napa
La Residence Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Residence 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.