We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Residence to your Saves list
La Residence
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pre-Pay
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Absolutely loved my stay! The Molten Brown bath products, fireplace, extremely comfy bed and location. The B&B is built into a vineyard and is quiet, comfortable, and quaint. There are many places to grab a glass a wine and go outside and sit and just enjoy the moment. We stayed in a corner room upstairs above the kitchen. It was a bit noisy in the morning but other than that I have no complaints. The staff was very helpful, the evening consisted of wine tastings from Hall wineries, and a wonderful breakfast. I would recommend the cave tour at Hall /Rutherford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Jody_Brookshire,

The word "perfection" to describe your stay with us in November is music to our ears. We strive to make everyone's stay a positive and memorable experience, and we are glad that we were able to meet that expectation with your visit.

When you next have the time to visit the Napa Valley, we hope that you will spend time with us once more.

Thank you for your feedback and Happy Holidays!

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    64
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
205
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful even before we arrived for our stay. The room was very nice although I wouldn't have expected less for the price. The disappointment came in having to call the front desk every night to request items that should have been replaced by the maid. There was also a problem with the toilet and when we called the front desk they simply brought a toilet plunger and left. I had expected a higher level of customer service then was provided. Overall the facility was very nice and the evening wine and cheese reception was fantastic although I don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sandelz,

Thank you for offering feedback following your stay with us in November. While I am happy to see that you enjoyed the property, your guest room and wine reception, I am disappointed that we missed the mark in regards to the one thing we pride ourselves on, which is service.

I will be following up with staff and have already met with those concerned to see how and why we made these oversights.

Should you return to wine country and be willing to try us once more, I would like to personally assist with your stay to ensure everything goes smoothly.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us an insight into your experience.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked a large group at la residence for my wife's birthday party. The staff was extremely helpful. They suggested places to visit, arranged bike rentals and arranged taxis and a contact at a limo rental service. There are several types of rooms, some located in the original B&B house and others in newer buildings spread around the property. The property has a number of sitting spaces and is well kept. The prices were reasonable for the area where basic lodging can fetch a high price. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The alarm was iPod ready and the rooms had DVD players and nice flat screen TVs. There were wine tastings every afternoon with the wines served with paired cheeses. Again, what I felt set la residence apart was the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Patrick R,

Thank you for bringing your party to La Residence to help celebrate your wife's birthday in October.

I am happy to read that your experience was made even more memorable by the staff we have here at the hotel, as it is our goal to make sure you find your home away from home in Wine Country and relax along the way/

Should you look to plan another celebration in the future, whether with a group of friends or alone, we hope that you may consider La Residence once more.

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 2 night there in this nov, 2012. Everything perfect, the room was very comfortable (even the the simplest, that we choose).
They have every afternoon wine and cheese tasting, and was very good. Also there is a hot tube, very convenient in this weather.

Only one think that wasn't that great was the concierge in the morning, did not have much patience in helping, but the afternoon attendants were exceptional.

We definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear MichMT1705,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to come back again in the future. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff here at La Residence to help us continually improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at La Residence in Napa. We could not be more please with our choice of accomodations. The room was large, nicely decorated, and had a very comfortable bed! The wine tasting an retreat to the room to enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace was relaxing way to wind our days in the valley. Kim and Kelly were extremely helpful in terms of recommendations for winieries to visit and places to eat during our time there. We were sad to leave, and are already planning our next trip to the Napa Valley! I am happy to recommend La Residence to anyone who may be looking for a quaint and charming property with lots to offer its guests! Great locaton, service, and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 20 if looking for a deluxe King.. Quiet at the back of the main building. Great spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Laxguy21,

On behalf of the staff here at La Residence i want to thank you and your wife for choosing to celebrate such a special anniversary with us.

We are always happy to share such important times with our guests and create more memories to add to those you already have together.

If your 11th anniversary is open for a trip to wine country, we would be thrilled to welcome you back once more.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visited La Residence while touring wine country. Property is a great little inn with a cute landscaped space. Decor is traditional elegance. Staff ways helpful and super friendly. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear cmaidance,

We appreciate the time taken to offer feedback from your recent stay with us in September.

When you find the time to return to the Napa Valley once more, we look forward to taking great care of you again.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first time to stay at La Residence and will not be our last! The rooms are very nice and a good size if you will be there for more than a few days. The fire [place is a nice addition.

The breakfast and evening wine reception (at 6pm which is useful as a lot of places that offer this service do it at 4pm and you never are there for it) are both great.

Room Tip: ask for a room farther away from the road if there during colder seasons. With no leaves on the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at La Residence, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Dennis M,

Thank you for choosing La Residence to be your home while visiting the Napa Valley recently. I am happy to read that you intend to return to see us again in the future.

Our breakfast and nightly wine hour are great starting points to both your day and your evening and also allow the chance to mingle and meet other guests also.

When your schedule allows, we truly look forward to welcoming you back and assisting in any way we can to create another memorable time here in the beautiful place we call home.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TIG Global, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.