We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Senza Hotel to your Saves list
Senza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pre-Pay & Save!
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked a large group at la residence for my wife's birthday party. The staff was extremely helpful. They suggested places to visit, arranged bike rentals and arranged taxis and a contact at a limo rental service. There are several types of rooms, some located in the original B&B house and others in newer buildings spread around the property. The property has a number of sitting spaces and is well kept. The prices were reasonable for the area where basic lodging can fetch a high price. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The alarm was iPod ready and the rooms had DVD players and nice flat screen TVs. There were wine tastings every afternoon with the wines served with paired cheeses. Again, what I felt set la residence apart was the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Patrick R,

Thank you for bringing your party to La Residence to help celebrate your wife's birthday in October.

I am happy to read that your experience was made even more memorable by the staff we have here at the hotel, as it is our goal to make sure you find your home away from home in Wine Country and relax along the way/

Should you look to plan another celebration in the future, whether with a group of friends or alone, we hope that you may consider La Residence once more.

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    75
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
245
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 2 night there in this nov, 2012. Everything perfect, the room was very comfortable (even the the simplest, that we choose).
They have every afternoon wine and cheese tasting, and was very good. Also there is a hot tube, very convenient in this weather.

Only one think that wasn't that great was the concierge in the morning, did not have much patience in helping, but the afternoon attendants were exceptional.

We definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear MichMT1705,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to come back again in the future. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff here at La Residence to help us continually improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at La Residence in Napa. We could not be more please with our choice of accomodations. The room was large, nicely decorated, and had a very comfortable bed! The wine tasting an retreat to the room to enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace was relaxing way to wind our days in the valley. Kim and Kelly were extremely helpful in terms of recommendations for winieries to visit and places to eat during our time there. We were sad to leave, and are already planning our next trip to the Napa Valley! I am happy to recommend La Residence to anyone who may be looking for a quaint and charming property with lots to offer its guests! Great locaton, service, and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 20 if looking for a deluxe King.. Quiet at the back of the main building. Great spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Laxguy21,

On behalf of the staff here at La Residence i want to thank you and your wife for choosing to celebrate such a special anniversary with us.

We are always happy to share such important times with our guests and create more memories to add to those you already have together.

If your 11th anniversary is open for a trip to wine country, we would be thrilled to welcome you back once more.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited La Residence while touring wine country. Property is a great little inn with a cute landscaped space. Decor is traditional elegance. Staff ways helpful and super friendly. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear cmaidance,

We appreciate the time taken to offer feedback from your recent stay with us in September.

When you find the time to return to the Napa Valley once more, we look forward to taking great care of you again.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first time to stay at La Residence and will not be our last! The rooms are very nice and a good size if you will be there for more than a few days. The fire [place is a nice addition.

The breakfast and evening wine reception (at 6pm which is useful as a lot of places that offer this service do it at 4pm and you never are there for it) are both great.

Room Tip: ask for a room farther away from the road if there during colder seasons. With no leaves on the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Dennis M,

Thank you for choosing La Residence to be your home while visiting the Napa Valley recently. I am happy to read that you intend to return to see us again in the future.

Our breakfast and nightly wine hour are great starting points to both your day and your evening and also allow the chance to mingle and meet other guests also.

When your schedule allows, we truly look forward to welcoming you back and assisting in any way we can to create another memorable time here in the beautiful place we call home.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October and paid ~£270 per night. The property is attractive with well kept grounds. However, for the price we paid I have to say we were slightly disappointed. The check in area is something that you would expect in a b&b/hostel and our room (in the main house) although very large, clean and with a very comfortable bed, was far less luxurious than we had imagined based on the website and other reviews. We were lucky enough to have very good weather whilst in Napa and it was however lovely to sit out on the balcony by our room one day, although we basically overlooked the car park! The pool we did not use but is a nice addition (but is in the middle of the car park). Overall I have to agree with a few other reviews in that the website makes La Residence seem far more dreamy and superior than what we experienced, but all in all we had an enjoyable stay here and there was a very homely feel to the place. Contrary to some other reviews we actually found the breakfast to be perfectly adequate with fresh fruits, cereals, breads, juices etc. so no complaints there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Lucy C,

Thank you for visiting La Residence in October and taking the time to offer feedback from your stay.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us in general and the comments offered for areas to potentially improve are very much appreciated and will be reviewed to find solutions.

We are always striving to improve our guest experience both before, during and after their stay with us and the input you have offered is very valuable to us.

I hope that should your travels allow a return visit to the Napa Valley that you may consider La Residence as an option to use as your base from where to explore Wine Country once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked a two night, non-refundable stay a few months ago and the rate was not cheap for booking in advance. At $250/night, we were expecting a room on a grander scale and were fairly disappointed. We were taken to a corner room on the third floor. Not much of a view. The room is just ok. The shutters did not work properly so our room was somewhat dark during the day. The shower is a joke! I've seen larger shower stalls in cruise ships, where space is confined. Fortunately we're not large folks, or showering would have been a challenge. Also, why no coffee pot in the rooms? Many guests prefer to make the coffee (while still in their sleepwear) without having to put on street clothes, walk to the lobby and get coffee. Breakfast and the evening reception were mediocre.

On the plus side: The bed was comfortable and the TV works well.
Dinner next door at Don Giovanni's was excellent.

David

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear 101Park,

Thank you for offering feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are always looking to improve areas in which to make our guests stay more memorable and rest assured that we will look to use your comments to address areas where we fell short.

I hope that if you have the time to visit the valley once more that you may consider us again as a place to stay.

If this is the case, I would like to assist personally in making your next stay more to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review, we truly appreciate it.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Senza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senza Hotel

Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#16 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TIG Global, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Senza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
Senza Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.