We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 20th Anniversary stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Senza Hotel to your Saves list
Senza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
"Yule" Love Our Suites!
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic 20th Anniversary stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and chose to celebrate our 20th Anniversary in Napa. We were looking for a quiet, intimate inn without having to pay the exhorbitant prices you see from some of the other hotels. La Residence was a good location just off Highway 29. Our room was in the main building (#24) which is on the 2nd floor in the corner. No elevators. We had a nice surprise in our mini fridge - a slice of chocolate and a note congratulating us on our anniversary!

We loved the continental breakfast every morning (cereals, boiled eggs, croissants, amandines, quiche, bagels, bread, coffee, tea juices, fresh fruits) and the 6pm wine and cheese, cold cuts was a plus. The bathrobes are the best I ever had - light and comfortable. I wish they had small gym. I'm not sure where people went for their runs since the little service roads ends at an Italian restaurant and you end up jogging along the highway. The internet service worked well, the staff was friendly and helpful. There's a nice hot tub and swimming pool. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear YUL1770 ,

Congratulations on your recent 20th wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing La Residence as the place in wine country to celebrate this special occasion.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and hightly wine hour, as these are perfect ways to start and end your day of wine tasting in the valley.

Should you look to make wine country an annual destination to mark your future anniversaries we would be honored to welcome you back again.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    65
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
209
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thanks to reviews on Trip advisor, we had the wonderful opportunity to stay at La Residence in Napa Valley. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't spend a month there!! What a wonderful Inn. the staff was charming and most accommodating. We stayed in "the Mansion" with our traveling companions and had the upstairs completely to ourselves. Our rooms shared the front veranda which made for a wonderful place to relax, enjoy wine and conversation. The grounds are immaculate with fountains, hot tub, gardens and a pool. Complimentary wine and apps every evening. A fabulous breakfast. We travel to Napa every year and usually try different places to stay. But after discovering La Residence, we will definitely stay here again on our visit next year! Also, the room rate is among the best by far. An outstanding value!!!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the separate mansion. Normally I like to stay in the main house. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear DMax2009,

It was a pleasure to meet you during your recent stay. If I recall correctly it was mentioned at that time that "You have to leave to come back" and it is with that message that I look forward to welcoming you back one again next year.

Our historic "Parker" mansion is home to some our largest rooms, with the second floor in particular having the perfect set up for two rooms travelling together. The large front porch/veranda is ideal for allowing quality relaxing time together..... Along with a glass of fine Napa Valley wine of course!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you find the time to visit us again and we will be more than happy to welcome you home once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Serenity, peaceful, luxury, location… These are the ideals that La Residence offers its guests. This past weekend, my husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a Cottage King. I don’t think that I’d ever stay anywhere else on a visit to Napa.

Our room was nestled away in a small house on the property. It was very well maintained, with a lovely patio that we had coffee on in the morning, and wine and cheese in the evening. It overlooked about 6 rows of grape vines. The room was spacious, and generous with linens. Loved the small double doors to the closet and bath and we didn’t hear a peep from the neighbors.

The property as a whole had several houses which contained a variety of room options, for those with a more conservative budget, to those who were looking to experience a little more opulence. We went middle of the road, and were exceptionally pleased. The whole property is filled with grape vines, and you definitely have the feeling that you are somewhere special.

It is situated right on St. Helena highway. Yes, you can hear cars. No, they didn’t bother us. And, I have to say, it was great to be so close to the wineries and Yountville for some deliriously delicious food experiences.

Lastly, the staff were truly wonderful. They were always more than pleasant, but not fake, and always looking to be helpful, but not annoying. They were just genuinely nice people looking to make your stay a positive one.

Not only would I return to La Residence over and over and over again, I will most certainly be recommending it as well. Kudos on a lovely property!

Room Tip: Love the patio in the Cottage King house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear kelley g,

Thank you for the time taken to offer feedback from your recent stay with us at La Residence.

We are very fortunate to be able to enjoy La Residence everyday and it is always nice to see others enjoying the location and the property as much as we do, we are truly blessed.

La Residence although stunning, would not be complete without the staff that adds that finishing touch in caring for our guests and I am happy to see that you found them to be just so.

We hope that upon your return visit that you contact us in advance and we will be happy to make sure your Cottage King room is available once more.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you are in the Napa area, this is a great stop. Make reservations in advance and get a suite. Our family have stayed here several times and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a good start for the day and the late afternoon wine tasting is very popular. The kids loved the pool and the adults loved the hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Darrell H,

Thank you for your recent return to La Residence with the family.

We are very fortunate to have many options with our suites to allow families and large groups to stay together and enjoy the property.

Thank you for posting the picture of the view from the room, the grapes are nearly ready to be harvested.

When you and the family have time for some more R&R in Wine Country we hope to see you once again.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wonderfully positionned for a four day exploration in the Napa and Sonoma region; the la Residence country inn offers a state ot the art welcoming romantic getaway retreat. The room was charming, well furnished, roomfull and quiet. The satisfying breakfast and the six o'clock wine tasting openned and closed the day in a way that made us feel at home. The overall site is a gem with the pond, the vines, the fontains, the flowers, the patio, and the pool. Not to mention the kindness of the staff, especially David with is welcomess and is dinner recommendations.

Room Tip: The upper level and corner room was quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Robert G,

Your review title is very fitting of La Residence and what we aim to provide to everyone who visits us.

It definitely appears that you made the most of your stay with us and the location of La Residence allowed you to explore easily both in Napa and beyond.

As with all reviews, I will be sharing with the staff to relay your experience.

When your schedule allows, we hope that we may get the chance to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were late getting to La Residence and missed late afternoon wine and cheese on the
patio due to San Francisco traffic. No problem. They made a special tray of meat, cheese, fruit, crackers, and wine as we relaxed on the patio. We were in a house behind the main building, and it was quiet, with large rooms,and an excellent bed. The staff was very helpful selecting wine tours, and property was well maintained. We found La Residence very relaxing and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear cliff t,

Thank you spending time with us here at La Residence to celebrate your 42nd wedding anniversary.

I am glad that you found the perfect place to relax and unwind after arriving late from San Francisco.

If your travels allow you to spend your 43rd anniversary in Wine Country, we hope that we get the chance to welcome you back once more.

Congratulations!!!

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early August during our wine country excursion. The grounds and buildings were just as lovely as advertised online but I was disappointed at its proximity to busy Rt 29. Kim was very pleasant and was able to get us a reservation at the wonderful Cakebread Winery, which we would highly recommend. We were escorted to our room in the old mansion. I wasn't sure what to expect but the room was large and the pillows and mattress were very comfortable. The wine reception was a nice finishing touch to our busy day but when we decided to have a glass of wine on our upper level deck, we were hit with the traffic noise, an unexpected minus to our stay. Breakfast was an expanded continental and the fresh fruit and pastries made for a good start to each day. My only suggestion would be to ask for a room with a bit more of a buffer from the highway. Otherwise, it was a very nice facility and very serene surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at Senza Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Bob C,

Thank you for your recent visit to La Residence. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and wine hour that we offer daily, along with the property and the beautiful grounds we have here.

We are lucky that we have easy access to highway 29 to allow for an easy way to navigiate the valley without additional downtown traffic, yet understand the proximity can offer some ambient traffic noise for brief periods.

We truly hope that when you find the time to return to wine country that you would consider a return visit to La Residence.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senza Hotel

Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Senza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
Senza Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.