We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Just wish it was quieter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morimoto Napa

Morimoto Napa
610 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3317
707-252-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto Napa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 249 Restaurants in Napa
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including creme fraiche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, Just wish it was quieter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Food - outstanding, spectacular. Inspired, well seasoned, expertly plated. Really enjoyed the tartar, crab legs, beef.
Service - excellent. Loved our waiter 'Z';.
Ambiance - awful. It was so noisy we couldn't hear the waiter or each other. If the food wasn't so good I'd be rating this a 1 since it was so uncomfortable.
The food was so good we'll let it slide, but for this price you should be able to enjoy your company and at least hear your waiter!!
Morimoto, please put up dividers/noise silencers/whatever to help the nosie level!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    143
    105
    44
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a late reservation because it was booked. It all was worth it. Everyone's dinners were outstanding, along with our waiter.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My friend recommended Morimoto and it was AWESOME!

The food is amazing and the service excellent.

Being our first visit, our waiter took the time to explain the menu in its entirety. He made recommendations based on things I liked. Everyone from the person was super friendly.

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herald, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

A meal created by legendary Iron Chef Morimoto is a must for any serious foodie. His Napa restaurant is located in a renovated historic building on the downtown Napa River waterfront. Free parking is available in a large garage across the street or on-street if you're lucky enough to find a space. The restaurant, open daily for lunch and dinner, has an elegant, subdued Asian ambiance and includes both indoor and outdoor dining areas, a cocktail bar, and a large open kitchen where you can watch the cooking action. You can also eat at the bar if you like.

The menu is comprised primarily of Japanese dishes, but also includes Morimoto's take on other Asian as well as Western cuisines. There is a huge selection of sashimi and sushi options along with various hot and cold appetizers, raw bar, soups, salads, noodles, and entrees. Presentation is impeccable--each dish is artful and perfectly arranged. Service is excellent, and waiters genially guide you through the more exotic items. Everything is a la carte, so be prepared for a big tab. Bar selections include inventive specialty cocktails, many premium wines by the glass, and a number of sake and shochu options.

We went there for dinner on a midweek evening to celebrate a birthday. When we were about halfway through our meal, we sensed something unusual was afoot because the atmosphere suddenly turned electric. When we glanced into the kitchen, we were delighted to see Chef Morimoto himself at the helm--an unexpected surprise that made our evening.

We have only a couple of nits to pick. First, the dining chairs on the outdoor patio are hard, flimsy plastic. If you want to be comfortable while you eat, choose an indoor table with much better chairs. Second, there aren't enough restrooms for a place this size. There is only one ladies, one gents, and two unisex. During the busy dinner period, plan on waiting in line.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went in for my wife's birthday and it was fantastic. We started with a shrimp appetizer that consisted of two different sauces that were each uniquely delicious accompanied by martinis. The restaurant itself is modern and gorgeous. The sushi dinner was some of the best ever. Highly recommend this for dinner!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Napa also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Morimoto Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morimoto Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.