We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Model Bakery

The Model Bakery
644 1st St, Napa, CA 94559
(707) 259-1128
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 249 Restaurants in Napa
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
allen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My mom and I went to The Model Bakery for breakfast every morning throughout our stay in Napa. Everything is delicious! We had lunch one day, too, which was equally as good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    69
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“overpriced english muffins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Yes the Food Network guy Michael Chiarello rated this the best thing he's eaten, but its $2.00 a muffin! The Lexus Baking Company sells it lower and gives more. Its really not that great and the price is a rip off. Its good, not addicting but just good. Not Great or worth its hefty price.

The for sale cakes can be up to 5 days old. What?! I bought one, so pretty. Ate it 1/2 hour later, it tasted stale and nothing like it looked. Don't buy it! She told me it could have been 5 days old, but no sign stated so. You would think a classy bakery would not sell FIVE day old foods!! Yuck! Food poison and dry separating particles of week old cake drying up your saliva glands.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods and excellent coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just a half block from the Wine Train station this is a must stop. Small and busy this is more than a basic bakery. It makes huge breakfast sandwiches, great English muffins but if you want more than a half-dozen you need to order a day ahead because of the huge demand the max is 6 per customer. Fresh coffee and flavored drinks are good. Every day there is a new selection of pastries. I kept wanting to try the cupcakes because they were beautiful but never had the chance. There are tables outside and dogs are welcome. The staff is friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“OMG the best english muffins ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I never thought an english muffin could taste this awesome but oh yeah these were out of this world! Light and fluffy, and big! We picked them up at the Oxbow Public Market in Napa and they were $20 for maybe 5 muffins if I remember correctly - but heck after we brought them home and tried them it was totally worth the 20 bucks. A must try if you're in Napa. I'm even thinking of having them shipped for special occasions such as for breakfast on Christmas and Easter mornings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best peanut butter choc chip cookie ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Cookies are full of butter and flavor!!!! Scones are amazing---ask them to heat them up. And English muffins are WOW!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Model Bakery also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Model Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Model Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.