We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norman Rose Tavern

Norman Rose Tavern
1401 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2815
707-258-1516
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 246 restaurants in Napa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good place to go for a beverage and burger. Everything was cooked to our liking, definitly would visit again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    81
    78
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch or Late Evening Snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very comfortable atmosphere, like a pub with good food and your choice of alcoholic beverage. There are many great menu selection with different items like their fried pickles. There is always a lot of activity. It is conveniently located across from the main downtown hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice bar & restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had dinner and watched a baseball game. Good food. lively crowd and reasonable prices. Plenty of selections to choose from......both food and drinks. Location is right in the center od downtown and at times parking may be a bit of a problem such as a 2 or 3 block walk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I stopped by for a mid-afternoon lunch and were pleasantly surprised. From the outside it looks like any old brew bar. On the inside, the ambiance was very pleasant, and the food selection was very good, mostly upscale bar/comfort food. The waitress was pleasant, attentive, and very helpful in describing both the food and bar selections. The bratwurst special was delightful, served with 4 different styles of mustard -- and I know its Napa, but the double red ale, micro-brewed locally was a perfect pairing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great downtown restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had lunch on Sunday. Sat at the bar with two football games on; although the crowd in the next room was more into yet another game.

Great service. I had a local beer along the lines of a Blue Moon. I had a special, lamb hot pockets, which was very good. DW had a salad, which I tasted, also very good.

The restaurant has some outdoor seating.

Parking was free at a nearby public lot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Rose Tavern also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Norman Rose Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman Rose Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.