We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines at reasonable prices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanella Family Winery

Fontanella Family Winery
1721 Partrick Road, Napa, CA 94558
(707) 252-1017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 197 activities in Napa
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Great family, boutique winery in sunny Napa, CA. I want to review this great winery that we just visited! Cheers!
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great wines at reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our visit was great fun with a private tasting, great information and wines. Can't wait to see the Vineyard after the new fields are planted...coming soon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great people, great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

enjoyed our tasting with Stacey - she taught us a lot about the wine making process as well as Fontanella's personal philosophy. We tasted from the barrels and learned about the history of the family. They were actually getting ready to plant their first fruit on the property the very next day so there was a lot of excitement around the property. We met Jeff who was a pleasure and just from talking with him for a few minutes we could really sense his passion for wine making and it came across when drinking his wines. Would highly recommend a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wines, wonderful tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend and I had the pleasure of doing a tasting at Fontanella Winery with Jackie. She was aboslutely fabulous - so much fun and we learned a ton about the fantastic wines we got to enjoy. I became a member and can't wait to get back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get our wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We loved the laid back atmosphere and the story behind the winery! Stacey was so personable, it was like hanging out with a long time friend as we got to try some excellent wines. We are looking forward to getting our GW III wine soon! :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fontanella is on Mount Veeder and offers a very different feel than most wineries. Even though the owner/ winemaker has a tremendous pedigree and reputation, it seems like you are visiting a friend's farm. The wine is outstanding and the hosts are even better. We were also able to do barrel tasting and learn a lot about their process. Great visit!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanella Family Winery also viewed

 

Been to Fontanella Family Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanella Family Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fontanella Family Winery to your Saves list