We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hidden gems in Napa Valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Brien Estate Winery

O'Brien Estate Winery
1200 Orchard Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
+1 707-252-8463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 148 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: O'Brien Estate covers 40 acres in the Oak Knoll District of Napa Valley. From grape growing to bottling, the entire winemaking process is managed at the estate. The vineyards are planted with Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Chardonnay, and Sauvignon Blanc. Our wines have received many awards, including a recent 96 point score for our 2012 Unrestrained Reserve Bordeaux Blend. We are by appointment only. Please call (707)252-VINE(8463) to inquire about our experiences.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hidden gems in Napa Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went to O'Brien on a bicycle trip through the valley for our daughter's 21st birthday. It was the prize of the tour of small wineries. We have been back several times, joined the wine club and savor our regular shipments. O'Brien wines are delicious! Every time we have visited it has been a personalized experience. We ate lunch between the vines on our first trip, enjoying a bottle of Seduction.
All of their wines are good (in a sea of intense competition). But Seduction and the ultimate Unrestricted Reserve are PRIMO!
You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    33
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Wine in Napa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My family and I visited O'Brien Winery on a whim as we didn't have anything planned the day we stopped here. However, our trip to Napa would not have been complete if we would have never visited O'Brien! Their wine is the best we tasted in Napa.

We were greeted by Hulio with a glass of wine, and went straight to the vineyards to learn about their estate and wines. Hulio has a true passion for his job and truly shined through when discussing the wine making process with us.

After he gave us a brief lesson, we were able to sit down under a tree to finish our tasting. Hulio even brought out some cheese, almonds and crackers to go along with our tasting.

My favorite part about this winery was the fact that you didn't have to belly up to a bar to taste the wines. Instead you are sitting in the backyard of the owners' home looking at a view that will take your breath away! The owners are generally home and greet all of their guests; however, they were away visiting family when we were there. I would absolutely visit O'Brien! Your visit to Napa won't be complete without it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Experience of My Life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My boyfriend arranged a picnic just last week at O'Brien Estate Winery. As you arrive, you are welcomed by a friendly staff. Along a rustic path, we were escorted to a picnic table surrounded by the grapevines and laced with mountains like in a portrait. As I sat down, I looked around at the views. My eyes filled with tears. The most beautiful scenery and my amazing boyfriend in this secluded, romantic picnic area. I couldn't help but feel like the most luckiest girl in the world. We sat at the picnic table, relaxed and amazed as Ray brought the wine tastings to us. Ray was very knowledgable and laid-back. He welcomed us to walk around the vineyard, which we did and enjoyed the romantic stroll. One of the best experiences of my life. If you are looking for romance in Napa Valley. This is it!!!!! Thanks, Ray!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Though you will need a reservation to visit the Estate, you certainly will not be disappointed. The wines here are absolutely fantastic and if you're lucky enough (become a member) you'll be able to try their winemakers own wines KIND. The staff here is very attentive and accommodating. We could not be happier with our visit and wine selections.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST Winery Experience in Napa!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

O'Brien goes far beyond just tasting wines. We were able to actually walk in the vineyards and learn about the different types of vines and the grapes they yield. Julio was THE BEST ! ! He explained each of the wine selections, their unique compositions and tastes, and what grapes went into the production.

Your experience in Napa is not complete until you make an appointment and experience O'Brien Estate Winery.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Brien Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to O'Brien Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Brien Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.