We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, but odd dated modern visitor center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artesa Vineyards & Winery

Artesa Vineyards & Winery
1345 Henry Road, Napa, CA 94559
707 224 1668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 217 Activities in Napa
Type: Valleys, Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built right into the mountain, this uniquely situated winery offers visitors a cool mountain aura while tasting the wine.
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great wine, but odd dated modern visitor center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The 2011 Chardonnay & the 2009 Estate Reserve Pinot noir were great - I brought a few bottles home. I am not a big Chardonnay fan - but this one was more on the Sauvignon Blanc side of Chardonnay, so I liked it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    112
    28
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Modern, bunker like building, beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a completely different experience from other wineries. The building is beautiful, and views from entry area are drop dead gorgeous. the wine is not too shabby either! Enjoyed their people more than any other place we visited. Friendly and informative. Price same as others, but liked the wine here more than most. Just so different from most. The center courtyard was nice to relax in. Suggest going to Artesa to break the mold on winery visits. The reflecting pools are amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice views and fountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The winery is located on a mountain between Napa and Sonoma with beautiful views looking south all the way to the Bay. Nicely designed fountains entertain you along the stairs up to the modern wine tasting building. Not too busy on a Tuesday noon, but the weather was sunny and clear to actually enjoy the view. The wine pourer was fun to talk to about the wines and more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Gorgeous grounds but wine wasn't my cup of tea. I'm sure other people love the wine....It looks like a grassy bunker from far. The view from the top is beautiful. We had a tasting and the wine was good but nothing we wanted to buy. There are reflecting pools and artwork to see and sipping wine on the patio is great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The winery was not crowded. The grounds were beautiful & the view... astounding. Also nice wine, we joined their club.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artesa Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Artesa Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artesa Vineyards & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.