We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great people, great food, GREAT STAY!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great hotel, great people, great food, GREAT STAY!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Arrived at the hotel late one evening, not quite sure what to expect. Were met by Nancy and Pierre at the front desk. They ensured our stay was so memorable, we booked another night! Great service guys! Many thanks!

As far as the facilities are concerned, we can only compliment the hotel for excellence in every area!

Needless to say, we will be back!!!

- Andy and Samantha

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

It sounds as though every aspect of your stay at AVIA was great! Thank you for recognizing our front desk staff. They work hard to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay and it sounds as though they succeeded. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    290
    63
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
658
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Avia is everything the reviews say it is. The room was nice, the bed comfortable. Staff was warm and accommodating. The location is perfect. I have to say that in the one negative review the hotel has, the woman had a point. There is no sheering on the windows. There is some see though netting and black out curtains so you have dark room or totally open room. The sheering would be nice for privacy depending on the location of your room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad AVIA lived up to your expectations. Thank your for the kind comments regarding the staff and location. Thank you for the suggestion regarding the window coverings as we take all comments and suggestions to see how we can improve the overall experience for our guests. We look forward to you staying with us again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford,CT
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I was visiting Napa for 5 days over Columbus Day weekend with my husband and another couple and all my usual spots were booked solid. After browsing trip advisor this hotel popped up as available and had a good rating. What a great find, the price was right, location was good, hip decor, loved the bathroom. Take advantage of the wine tastings everyday at happy hour. We had dinner there our first night and the the food was very good. The only negative was that the room was a little small. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you chose AVIA for your recent 5 day trip to Napa. Thank you for the nice compliments regarding the décor and nightly wine tastings. I do apologize you felt your room was a little small. We do offer several room types. Please contact the hotel when making future reservations so they can assist you in choosing the proper room for your needs. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The title says it all.... great place, super-clean rooms and appointments, decent service and do yourself a favor.... take advantage of the cheap upgrades when they are offered on the hotel's site, when booking. Super hip, slick and perhaps the only downfall is that the area around the hotel is not weathering the economy too well...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the very nice compliments regarding AVIA and your recent stay. We are so glad you took advantage of the upgrade option and had a wonderful visit. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Napa.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Avia Napa for two nights in October and absolutely loved it. The room is spacious and the hotel is in great shape. The location is ideal for winery hopping and exploring downtown Napa. We only had two complaints which were minor....1) We thought we had booked a room with a bathtub but it wasn't the case. (booked through expedia but be careful with their false advertisement) 2) check in time is pretty late.

We would definitely stay at Avia again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you loved your stay at AVIA and the location was perfect for your sightseeing in Napa. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I went to Avia for a weekend getaway. Our review would have been 5 stars were it not for a couple of strange service foibles. First of all, the hotel is almost brand new; the rooms are extremely clean and linens, beds and bathrooms are excellent. The location is right in the heart of the city of Napa; it is easily walkable to many of Napa's best restaurants.

We had a few strange service issues. None of which, however, was a deal killer. When we checked in, we requested a late checkout. Always worried that these types of things don't get recorded, I later that evening walked to the front desk to confirm our late checkout request for the next night. It was not. The front desk said, however, that it would be no issue and entered the late checkout into the computer again. The next morning, we got a call from the front desk warning us that if we needed to check out. They didn't have our late checkout in the computer after two inputs into the system. It was no big deal, we ended up changing our plans and were leaving at that moment anyway, but still???

Lastly, the hotel concierge gave us a restaurant recommendation for brunch, gave us a printout of the address and driving directions. After driving for 45 minutes up into an absolutely obscure country road in the hills of Napa, I concluded that this couldn't possibly be right. My wife called the restaurant to learn that the hotel had given us the address of their associated ranch/farm and that the restaurant was half an hour away.

So, two pretty serious goof ups. Thankfully neither ended up ruining our stay. We ended up not having an issue with our checkout b/c we ended up deciding to leave at noon and we weren't too hungry for our brunch!

On the upside, they have a great hidden discount for California residents and generally speaking the service was very friendly. As mentioned before the facilities are very good and the price that we got was a tremendous value. I would stay here again but if I did, would check our checkout time repeatedly just to be sure =)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for staying at AVIA Napa and are glad you enjoyed the amenities offered and the location. I do apologize for the issue with the late checkout not recording properly in our system. I am reviewing the process to make sure this doesn't happen again. I also apologize for the incorrect directions given to you for the restaurant you were going to for brunch. I do hope you let us know so we can correct for future guests. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We've stayed at Avia twice this year for last-minute Saturday night getaways -- both times we had excellent experiences. Both times we paid $199 the same day or day before we went. We stayed once in a suite, and once in a great room with a large patio and chaises. Staff was helpful and friendly. The lobby is well-appointed with a funky bar. We loved the rooms -- beautiful new bathrooms (showers, no tubs), nice linens, flat screens, all the amenities we like when we travel but a very nice price. We had breakfast in the hotel which was an incredible buffet and omelette bar for something like $16 -- a great value. We enjoyed dinner in downtown Napa -- very quick drive or long walk from this well-located hotel. You are not near vineyards at this hotel, but we've done that enough and actually prefer the location of the Avia, near the restaurants and other attractions like Oxbow market of downtown Napa. There's also free wireless here and the valet parking is easy and not that expensive -- maybe $10/night if I recall correctly.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to read that you are a repeat guest at AVIA. We thank you for taking the time to share such great compliments regarding the hotel and all we have to offer. We are also pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast and the location of the hotel is perfect. We look forward to hosting you again and again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.