We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Design, Great Service, Great Food, Restful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Save Saved
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine Wanderlust
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Design, Great Service, Great Food, Restful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed two nights here for a little birthday trip and we didn't want to leave! The glasses of wine at check-in were a nice touch. The lobby is very cozy and relaxing, very non-traditional and interesting. Our room was spacious, we had 3 adults with two king beds. Our room overlooked the street below and was very quiet. One night I opened one of the windows to get some fresh air and we could then hear the noise from below so those windows, when shut, were great at keeping the noise out. The beds were amazingly comfortable. The closet was quite large with plenty of room to store things. The bathroom was also large and well appointed. I loved the double sinks and the rain shower. The interior design is modern, interesting and beautiful. All non-alcoholic items in the room were complimentary and they stocked the frig, I loved not being nickel and dimed on everything. Yes, the room was a bit pricey but worth every penny. We tried the gin that was in the room, it was pricey but a fun splurge, it's distilled in Berkeley and was fun to try. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and they feature local ingredients and tell you where each item is from, we really loved that. The food was excellent. All hotel employees were professional, friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    277
    61
    15
    8
See reviews for
74
622
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at this property in May 2012 when it was called Avia Napa. We decided to spend a few days touring the various wineries and stayed here based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint.

We had driven up to Napa from the Santa Barbara area, and got to the hotel a few hours before check-in time. The front desk was very accommodating and let us do an early check-in, which gave us some time to rest after our long drive.

Concierge was especially helpful in answering our questions and giving suggestions as to the best winery itineraries as well as some non-winery related activities (i.e. Old Faithful). We were able to make the most out of our visit based on their recommendations, plus we were given discount coupons and tickets for various wineries in the area, which was great.

The room was very modern and comfortable with enough space to move around and relax.

We loved the terrace on the second floor and spent a few nights out there around the firepit. It's also in a great location: close to the Oxbow Public Market, a shopping mall and near alot of great Napa restaurants. If you get a chance you must try Morimoto and Ad Hoc.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at Avia Napa and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street, which we thought would be a problem, but it was ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel! We arrived at about 9:00am and, being in Napa, were promptly served glasses on wine - LOVE! There is no registration desk, they have tablets to check in guests. Between that and the comfortable, living room like lobby, check in was very smooth and relaxing. I really liked the way the hotel and rooms were decorated - purple walls, antique mirrors and marble bathrooms. Wish I could have stayed more than one night!
Best part is the location and being able to walk to everything in downtown Napa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A unique hotel! I loved everything about it! The staff was very personable and willing to please. So nice to have the freebies. Liked the wine tasting at 5pm each day! Great location. The gym amenities are very nice and convenient

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We overall enjoyed our experience at the Andaz Napa. I love the more personalized check-in process. After a long drive in from in Yosemite, we appreciated being able to sit down and drink free wine during the process. Our room was lovely and very large. It was set up suite-style, with an additional seating area that had an extra tv in it. We also had a large soaking tub in our bedroom and a nice rainfall shower. I loved the upstairs bar area, and everyone on the staff was extremely helpful. One day we tried to rent bikes and ride to the wineries, but after riding in the wrong direction for quite a distance and then realizing we would be on main roads, we decided to return to the hotel. The staff felt so badly that we had been given poor directions, that they credited our account for the bike charge. We also took advantage of the gym, which is located next to the Andaz. I was a little off put to find out it wasn't actually at the hospital, but it was so close, that it didn't really matter. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because we were told when we booked that our credit cards would be charged immediately for the entire stay to ensure our current rate. We always just pay off our credit cards in full, and we should have paid closer attention that our card had not been charged, but it was extremely upsetting to find out that we had not been charged for the stay until we checked out. And then I was very annoyed when the woman checking me out told me that they have been having problems with their payment system and that this has happened on several occasions. She then went on to tell me that they don't like to charge cards ahead of time because people need to change travel plans, like for instance in the SFO plane crash. She was extremely contradictory and insensitive, which left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths after leaving, but I'm still giving the hotel 4 stars, because the rest of our experience was so wonderful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Love Andaz properties. Rooms at Napa Andaz are great, special in fact. Staff is friendly and courteous but this did not seem to be up to the level of ither Andaz properties we have stayed at. Wait for valet parking too long. 15-20 minutes to get your car is not acceptable. Also, our room was right above the open air club with live music. The noise was not acceptable when paying over $400 per night. They should have at least warned us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Andaz, which is a Hyatt property, for 2 nights around July 4th. From the moment we walked into the lobby, we knew this was going to be a different place. There's no usual check-in registration. An associate directed us to a couch and gave us two glasses of white wine. We chatted for a while before she pulled out her IPad and checked us in. Our stay came with use of the health club next door, which we used.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable. First time staying in a hotel room with wood floors. The king bed was super comfortable. the 2nd floor room was very quiet even though it faced the street.

This location was great for touring the Napa vineyards for two days as well as casual walks around the Napa downtown. The hotel staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. We did not try out dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was OK. Fairly standard buffet breakfast offering.

The self parking involved driving around to the rear public parking, walking down from the 3rd level and into the rear of the hotel. A bit of an inconvenience but parking was free. The hotel provides valet parking if this is an issue.

Overall, the hotel has plenty of energy from staff and a younger-leaning clientele. Try the cucumber infused water....not bad ; ^ )

Room Tip: 2nd floor room above the lobby with wood floors was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.