We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Save Saved
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine Wanderlust
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this hotel! We had a suite during our stay so our room was quite big and spacious, the king bed was perfect, the stand alone bathtub was beautiful and the bathroom was large with a great rain shower! We were hoping to have a romantic and relaxing stay, and avoid the potential noise from the patio which stays open late, so they placed us in a room that had a private terrace and that was absolutely perfect! I was also very pleased with the hotel staff and how obliging they were, we had issues with our rental car and they helped us get it resolved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    555
    259
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
69
577
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay in downtown Napa. I tried to get in the Westin but it was booked so ended up here, and I am really glad i did. A really great check in experience with knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff. I had booked a room with a balcony, it is nice to sit outside but there is no view and no point to it really as there is a very nice environment in the outside bar area. Complimentary wine on arrival (with a good explanation of what we were drinking). Really impressed with my stay in an Andaz hotel and it will certainly not be the last time I use this chain of hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms with a Balcony are very nice but the balcony area has no view and you are better off sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel with a real funky lobby. Check in is done by the staff with a tablet ...real convenient as you can enjoy a free refreshment in the vast lobby. Hotel bar is open concept and connected to the lobby nice selection of designer cocktails !!! We were upgraded to a junior suite ...which was most welcomed. Had a nice fireplace in our room and a large deep pedestal type stand-alone bath by the side of the room which was rather sexy. Bed was extremely comfortable ....shower was huge ....could easily fit four people with a nice little teak stool .....to watch your significant other soap themselves ...great for couples !!!! Location couldn't be better ...everything is within walking distance from the hotel - restaurant, bars, tasting rooms, etc... The only thing missing for this hotel ....NO POOL / HOT TUB ....not sure I understand that ,,,,but it is what it is, Great place to unwind after a long and tiring day visiting the wineries in Napa !!!! Hotel deserves its high rating ...not cheap but well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for three days and really enjoyed our time here. The rooms have soaking tubs, fireplaces and great king size beds. This was by far, one of the nicest Hyatt's I have stayed at this past year. On our next trip, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Make us to get a room with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Very Clean, nice rooms, rain showers, free mini bar, good service, great patio/ great happy hour, good location!! I'm a hotel snob and this is in the top 10 that we've stayed at. Easy to walk to nice restaurants and tastings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a cute hotel in Napa. Price was on the high side for the room that you got. We requested two double beds, but weren't able to get them due to the demand of the hotel- so three of us had to share 1 king- which wasn't ideal.

The room that we were in was TINY!, but the bathroom was large- which was pretty weird. There was also noise coming from downstairs late at night, which kept waking us up.

Loved the fact that they had complimentary snacks and beverages in the room, and customer service we received was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We (two couples) stayed at the Andaz during Restaurant Week in Napa and chose it primarily because we could use Hyatt points. It's a very nice boutique-style hotel with great style, an onsite restaurant, and some nice amenities.

Check-in was slow for us with about a 20 minute wait. There wasn't a check-in desk but instead two concierges who walked over to you and checked you in using an iPad connected to their hotel system. The lobby was partially under renovation when we arrived (I figure that's what we get for visiting in off season). In general our limited interactions with the staff didn't feel like they were warm or welcoming. But it was nice that they had water stations and a little snack station that had a sample of some local foods/condiments.

Once we were checked in things went very well. The room was clean and we had a nice view of the river...though, be forewarned, I wouldn't call downtown Napa views astounding; you're not looking down on a winery. The room was decently sized, with the bathroom being one of the largest areas.

One plus, at least when we stayed, is that all the non-alcoholic minibar contents were free! And they had some great, local options like orange juices and ginger beer.

There are a few other things I should cover, so here's a recap of all the pros and cons:

PROS
- Restaurant onsite (we didn't get to try it however)
- Snacks/drinks in the lobby
- Seemed to be dog friendly (we saw a few in the lobby)
- Free internet
- Free minibar contents!
- Comfortable beds
- Good room decor (especially in bathroom)
- Clean rooms
- Free access to the health club next door, which had a lot of equipment

CONS
- Definitely smaller rooms/hotel
- Good location, but not too scenic
- No pool (not as important in January, but definitely desirable in the hot summer months!)
- Slow check-in
- A little pricey

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA
Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Amex, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.