We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Napa secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Napa secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved this hotel.
Very personable. Excellent service. Beautiful rooms. Reasonable rates for wine country.
Location is the best, as it's within walking distance of many restaurants in Downtown Napa.
Recommend staying at least two nights. And another plus is that parking is FREE!

Room Tip: There are rooms with TWO king beds if you are traveling with family. We found this to be a real plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    313
    64
    15
    14
See reviews for
82
720
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had scored a great rate on Jetsetter for our Christmas trip. Being a Hyatt Gold Passport person, we were upgraded to a two room suite. The room is very large and has an in room soaking tub. A two way fireplace separates the living room from the bedroom. The room is very contemporary and up to date. Our only complaint with the room was with the shower controls, but that was a selection mistake, not a hotel mistake.

The hotel is right downtown and within walking distance of some good restaurants and a gym. The staff is friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is a great place. Friendly staff with beautiful rooms. Fire place right in the middle of the room. Price is very reasonable. It is right in downtown with walking distance to every where. Room experience is very high scale. Two Thumbs Up for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for comp upgrade. If available they will give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice location. Lovely lobby with nice small bar. Very helpful staff and cozy fireplace in the back.
Our room was up to date and the bed was comfortable!.

The shower was large but the water backed up and almost overflowed. We were in too much of a hurry to complain since we were only there one night. If they read this review they will know to look at room 226 .!!
Our room rate was $122...which was a steal....even in December.

Room Tip: Always asked to see a map of the room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
725 helpful votes 725 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Who doesn't like staying in the Valley of wine, women and song?? Great wines, great vistas, great food, lovely spas, etc..., etc. etc.....

We live about an hour away but try to come to the wine country at least every few months. But......the city of Napa is not IN the valley (still a good car distance south from the wineries) and we have rarely visited downtown. And, we have never stayed this far south. But the city of Napa is changing. New development have introduced quaint walking streets, riverfront walkways, art galleries, tasting rooms and tons of interesting restaurants.

The Andaz is in a great location, the center of it all. Everything is walkable. The lobby was under construction when we arrived so the transition from the Avia was still in process. Although we never stayed there, our impression of the Avia was very slick, modern and trendy. The Andaz is going for a more rustic, barn, vineyard feel. The success of the merging of the two opposite styles remains to be seen.

The rooms are large and you can see that much of the furniture and decor from the Avia still dominates. I don't know the plans for upgrading. Not that what's there is bad, but some items showed wear in what is supposed to be a new themed hotel.

The bed and sheets were very comfortable. The towels could be upgraded but we loved the rain shower! The free minibar items was an appreciated touch.

We spent the end of the evening around the fire pit. It was a great feature and added to the specialty of our stay. I could see, however, how it may be intrusive to the rooms that faced in that direction. In fact, the windows in the rooms had sheer curtains that allow natural light in but also do not block the visibility into the room. And.... due to the city center location and the proximity of the hotel to other buildings, there are lots of opportunities to be viewed from outside the hotel. The only way to ensure complete privacy is to close the black out shades which means researching the maze of light switches. Personally, I prefer natural light and would love to have sheers that block the view INTO the room.

Breakfast in the restaurant was just so-so. It could use some help but the wine bar was great.The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

We definitely had a fun night and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel rooms are modern and updated. When an entire bathroom is clean and made of carrera marble, you feel like you are at a 24hr spa. Beautiful renovations. It reminds me of a picture out of a Restoration Hardware magazine. Check ins are done as you walk in on an iPad and Internet is free in your room.

They offer free soft drinks in your mini bar and organic type snacks which is nice. There's free parking in the parking garage right behind the hotel only a 2 minute walk. Starbucks is within walking distance and the downtown area is quiet and quaint.

Vineyards are all 10-30 minute drive away. Very convenient location.

I'd pick to stay here for $250 on average instead of $400 at the 'boutuque' hotels and spend
$150 on a nice meal and bottle of wine a night :0)

P.S. if you've never been to Napa before, do not leave this area until you visit Dean and Deluca. Gourmet meat, cheese, and bread to die for. What else can you ask for in the midst of wine country?

See you soon!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for two night during our honeymoon. We had booked one of the Tower Suites. The room was very nice, everything was clean. The room consists of two rooms, one living room with a couch/table and a work-desk, and one bedroom, with a tub. There was also a shower in the bathroom.

As in all Andaz hotels, the minibar was free (except alcohol). Breakfast was served in the restaurant at ground level. Since this Hyatt hotel does not have a club, breakfast is free for GP Diamond Members.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, and the concierge helped us with both restaurants and attractions in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.