We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in downtown Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Save Saved
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine Wanderlust
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Napa
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in downtown Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for two night during our honeymoon. We had booked one of the Tower Suites. The room was very nice, everything was clean. The room consists of two rooms, one living room with a couch/table and a work-desk, and one bedroom, with a tub. There was also a shower in the bathroom.

As in all Andaz hotels, the minibar was free (except alcohol). Breakfast was served in the restaurant at ground level. Since this Hyatt hotel does not have a club, breakfast is free for GP Diamond Members.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, and the concierge helped us with both restaurants and attractions in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    274
    59
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
614
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend, and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the top floor facing First, with a comfortable sitting area, gas fireplace, and spacious bathroom. Our room service breakfasts were delivered quickly, and all of the staff were super friendly. One thing we would suggest changing -- we wanted to go to the bar for a drink, but it was mobbed by patrons of the free wine tasting. It would be nice if the bar seating was reserved for paying guests who want cocktails and who are not interested in participating in the free wine tasting.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor facing First seem quieter and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was checked in by Omar who was very friendly and gave good advice on dining and wineries. Room was a deluxe room with a fireplace. Tub was in the bedroom just outside the bathroom. Bathroom was very nice with a large shower area. Breakfast was fair and service was good. Self parking in the garage behind hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The suite we booked was huge, with tasteful decor, a huge bathroom, an in room soaking tub and fireplace, all equipping us to relax in style. The minibar offerings were free (except alcohol, understandably), the restaurant's food was amazing, and the hotel's service delivered with a smile. The location was central, right near the many restaurants and shops and not too far from the Oxbow Market. There were a few minor drawbacks... The restaurant service was a little slow, the gym and parking are next door or a block away rather than in the building. These didn't preclude an enjoyable stay, however, and we had a terrific time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel the first weekend after it was converted to the Andaz. The hotel itself is beautiful -- the lobby and rooms are very nice, and the decor is great. However, there were a few issues that I wouldn't have expected given the price and caliber of the hotel. This could have been due to the opening weekend, but the front desk was fairly unorganized during our stay. It took much longer than they originally told us for our room to be ready, and at times the front desk was totally unmanned. The pool / fitness center adjacent to the hotel is also pretty low quality. And when we woke up in the morning we found an old, dirty used pencil underneath the sheets that seemed like it was from the last person to stay in the room. Not sure if this meant that they didn't fully change the sheets / blankets when cleaning the room. I'm usually not too picky about hotels, but wouldn't have expected this from Andaz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazNapaManagement, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments and giving us the opportunity to be your hotel of choice in downtown Napa. We are very fortunate to have the Andaz hotel in Napa and as noted, while the property itself has been here for over three years, the week you arrived is when we physically transitioned from Avia Hotel to Andaz (by Hyatt Hotels).

One of the key features of the Andaz brand is a mobile check-in process and the week you arrived, we physically went from having a “typical” front desk to checking guests in on iPads. In addition, we started to offer other additional amenities and touches such as complimentary internet, complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks in the guest rooms as well as complimentary self-parking. Admittedly, we hit some bumps along the road as some changes were new, but I am confident and most grateful that we have implemented these amenities for our guests and have made a strong transition during this time.

Over the past three months, we have worked diligently to address opportunities where we could have done better. While most of our hard work has paid off with many positive comments (as seen on this and other sites), Andaz Napa has also been going through some cosmetic refurbishments to continuously stay up to date with our customer needs. I apologize that you had such issues during your stay and can assure you that we continue to work to meet and exceed one’s “Andaz” expectation.

While we still have some way to go to become a perfect Andaz Hotel, we are working to become the best we can and look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Napa in hopes of a truly better experience.

Best Regards,

Greg Nomura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Andaz Napa is the ultimate in customer service! Check-in was seamless and easy. Free parking, free snacks. A wonderful outdoor patio on the second floor with fire pits and cabanas to enjoy your wine. The bar on the first floor was excellent. Service was an A+. Very close to everything downtown, great shops, restaurants, wine tasting rooms. The place to stay in Napa! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights as part of a Girl's Weekend during crush season. The hotel is centrally located in downtown Napa and within walking distance of lots of cute shops and good restaurants. I picked largely based on location, but also because the room size was generally bigger than other hotels and the double occupancy rooms were two king beds (as opposed to two queens). Before I arrived, the concierge was lovely enough to make some restaurant suggestions and reservations. She also recommended a wine tour (Platypus Tours - $99/ea) that was very reasonable (and a ton of fun)!

The hotel room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was amazing and the marble bathroom was roomy and well-lit. The mini-bar was complimentary - that's right, drink as much soda or water and have as many snacks as you want, all at no charge. There is a fancy coffee maker in the room and when we ran out of coffee pods, we called downstairs and more arrived in just a few minutes. The room comes with a DVD player and the hotel has a large collection of movies you can check out for free.

The hotel lobby is very upscale and contemporary in design. They greeted me with a glass of complimentary wine and advised of the hotel's many amenities. They offer a daily happy hour with complimentary wine and snacks. They also offer free chair massages - sure it's just 15 minutes (and a subtle advertisement for a nearby spa), but it was a really nice touch. In the morning, you can pick up a complimentary paper, some fresh fruit and various coffees and juices.

Every time we left or returned to the hotel, a friendly staffer opened the doors for us and greeted us by name. The hotel also has an outdoor area with a fire pit and a bar - super nice and a good place to taste some of the wines you purchased during your visit to local wineries.

Although we didn't try it, I've heard the on-site restaurant has one of the best breakfasts in town. And I heard that from many people, none of whom work for the hotel. Next time, I will try it for sure because the choices we made on our own came with mixed results.

I've stayed at many hotels over the years. This place had just the right combination of polite staff, friendly and helpful suggestions and a real sense of being welcome - all without the goal of increasing revenue to the hotel. If I were staying in Napa again, I would not hesitate to stay at Andaz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.