We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale in the Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Save Saved
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine Wanderlust
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersGold level
Concord, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Upscale in the Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the very moment that you walk into the lobby, you are treated as a special guest. You are greeted by staff who are waiting for you with their iPads to check you in. The rooms were very newly decorated and upscale. Towels could have been a little nicer, but verything else was wonderful.

Room Tip: Room #518 was a larger king room and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    615
    288
    62
    15
    9
See reviews for
75
646
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was my first experience of a (Hyatt) ANDAZ hotel I was most impressed. The check-in was quick, friendly & efficient. I was given a lovely room on the 5th floor - everything you could want, but what impressed me most was not only the high quality of the fittings & furnishings but also the attention to detail right down to a pencil sharpener & rubber/eraser on the desk & even toothpaste in the bathroom.
The non-alchoholic drinks in mini-bar were complimentary & there was a handy coffee machine. Wifi is free & fast. The bed was very comfortable & ensured a great night's sleep.
Room service was prompt & polite. The location is excellent for downtown Napa & for touring the stunning Napa valley
The only thing left to say is - many other hotels could learn alot from the standards set by the Andaz Napa!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for my birthday with my husband, just for one night.. we loved it!! You walk into a unique lobby which has this beautiful large woodwork that you can not miss. Check-in was quite unique as well.. I've never checked in to a hotel sitting on a large comfy chair or have ever been offered wine or champagne. There's a great bar in the lobby with more seating to lounge around.

They recognized that it was my birthday and I was given my requested upgrade. I think that I may have received more as I only requested an upgrade for a large soaking tub but also got a large sitting area, with fireplace that was visible in both the bedroom and sitting room. This also came with two large flat screen TVs. Pretty awesome. The only downside was that I wasn't notified that I was given my upgrade until I asked. If I hadn't received the upgrade and found out when I walked into my room, I would've been disappointed and would've insisted on getting it. Just wouldn't have been convenient.

Our room was gorgeous.. modern yet very comfortable. The king size bed and linens were HEAVEN! We spent most of the day lounging in the bed, taking advantage of the huge soaking tub and walk in shower. We were only there for one night, couldn't let the room go to waste. The black out drapes were a plus as we were able to nap midday without being bothered by the sun. Can't express enough how much we loved the comfy bed!

The concierge as well as the rest of the staff were extremely friendly! The concierge suggested a few great restaurants to try and the one we decided to go to was awesome! Uva Trattoria off of Main and Clinton.

Ate breakfast downstairs in the hotel restaurant.. hands down, best french toast my husband and I have ever had. We also had an omelet which was delicious too. The french toast was on a baguette with chocolate, fresh cream and peach compote... yum! The only downside was that I was given the wrong bill - it was for another table and was also given mine.. they were apologetic about the mix up and breakfast was on them!

Check out was available online- which i thought was way cool but I checked out the standard way. I thought it was very interesting that they used Ipads for all of the check-in and check-out procedures but it made everything very relaxed and efficient.

Overall this was a fantastic stay at a fantastic hotel even though it was for only one night. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: When making your reservations, book with an upgrade for a soaking tub-well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a trip to Napa. Everything was great. From my room to the service. The concierge service was tremendous. Very helpful and very nice. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights this past week and couldn't be happier. The entire staff was cordial and warm through everything. The room was spacious and appointed nicely. Breakfast was delicious. Greg and Marcella were very helpful and I would recommend it to anyone staying in napa.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When visiting the Napa Valley, we usually stay at a small hotel or bed and breakfast. Very often weekends in Napa Valley require two night stays. We live close enough that a one night stay is perfect for us. This stay was for just one night on a Sunday. The Andaz Napa Hotel in downtown Napa was suggested to us by the winery we were visiting. I can't tell you how pleasantly surprised and delighted we were with this choice. The facility is modern in design but still warm and beautiful. Check-in was completed in comfortable chair, via iPad, and of course a glass of wine! The staff were just wonderful. From the welcoming greeting on they were attentive, pleasant, and genuinely interested making our stay as perfect as possible. Our room was modern, immaculate, and very comfortable. The room had two areas. One a sitting area with TV and the other a bedroom which also had a TV. The bath was spacious and the shower very soothing. We did not eat in the hotel but they made a great recommendation that went to on Monday for lunch. Being downtown, there were shops, restaurants, and a lovely river walk to stroll along. We will not hesitate to stay at the Andaz again and highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful experience, from check in to check out. Staff were courteous, efficient and professional. Room was exceptional. It a fireplace, two TVs, separate tub and shower. Restaurant was excellent also. Hyatt should be proud of this property and staff. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a large loft room and I highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#8 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.