We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers all the amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel. The rooms are spacious,especially if you reserve a mini-suite, with a small living room. The hotels modern decor gives it a nice ambience. The staff was attentive and provided great service. The hotel offers valet but we opted for the self parking that is behind the hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that is close to good restaurants in downtown Napa and a short drive from the regions wineries this is the place for you. We have stayed there twice and definetely plan to stay again. Enoy!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    290
    63
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
658
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

What a great find! Terrific property in Downtown Napa. Walkable to restaurants with easy access to and from I-80 without having to go up into wine country, but still less than a mile from Silverado Trail and Rte 29.

Property apparently was taken over by Hyatt earlier in 2012 but most of the staff has been held over. I like Hyatt, but as a mega-chain, there is a risk of putting profits before exemplary service. Employees are quite insistent that they will only change for the better, and right now, I'd say this property stood out in terms of the value we received. We also enjoyed the two gas fire pits on the 2nd floor terrace. Free parking in the deck right behind the hotel was great as well.

One knock? The A/C unit turned off and on frequently, and was loud enough to disrupt our sleep. If the fan stayed on constantly with only the compressor turning off and on, I don't think it would be as disruptive. Or, add a white noise machine and call it "spa like amenities." :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing 1st Ave offer nicer views, but we did have a Harley rider and a garbage truck wake us u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel in downtown Napa. The hotel is centrally located in the town and there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. This hotel recently became part of the Hyatt family which is how I learned about it.

Since I am a diamond member for Hyatt they upgraded us to a suite. Your initial impression would be Wow, that is nice. Well, this was the smallest suite I ever saw. It also overlooked their patio bar and fire pit so we had to keep the curtains shut all the time. People could see right into the room which was extremely annoying. The service was OK at this property, but this is certainly not a typical 'plush' Hyatt hotel. There was no pool either which surprised us. The bathroom in the room was very large and the shower was big enough of 2 if that interests you.

We were also disappointed with the town of Napa itself. We were there the weekend before July 4th. I thought this would be a crowded weekend, but there was NO one there. The town was empty and we had no problem walking into restaurants. However, it gave you the impression you were kind of in a ghost town. Perhaps it is busier in the fall, but in the summer month of June, it really had no night life or people around. I would recommend staying up in Napa valley instead of downtown Napa.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room that does not face the patio area if you would like privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in early July. The rooms were nice, large, with a nice large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The first night we were there a group of people were outside our window at the fire pit and we're pretty noisy. But we only experienced that one night so it didn't become an issue. Breakfast was good. The restaurant has it's own take on some classics that were nice. We used the workout club next door several times. Better than a small room in a hotel. On the 4th of July walked to the fireworks in downtown Napa. That was a nice touch. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Avia 4 nights in April and really enjoyed it. The location of the hotel is very good, within walking distance to restaurants in downtown Napa. The rooms were good and spacious. Refrigerator in the room was very useful to keep water overnight. The beds were comfortable and linens felt good. Rooms were clean and neat, nicely decorated. Water pressure in the shower was good. Staff in the hotel was wonderful and very helpful. They even sent some items my husband forgot in the safe to our home address. They allowed us to park our rental car free of charge in their parking lot (in the back of thr hotel building).
We hired a driver to drive our rented car to take us to the wineries. It was a great idea, as we were not worried about drinking too much. We will definitely be back.....soon, I hope!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My boyfriend & I traveled here in June 2011. We were really impressed by the hotel, our room was immaculate & cozy (we upgraded to one of the suites) and the staff was great. Loved the patio and the firepits. The location could be better, but we enjoy the Oxbow market (went there for dinner one night & had a great steak dinner for under $30. Also really enjoyed Kara's Kupcakes!!) and we ate at Tyler Florence's restaurant in downtown one night. Through the hotel, we booked a Platypus Wine Tours, which I really loved (we still talk about some of the wines we drank on that trip!)

We would probably stay somewhere more centrally located in wine country next time, but I really enjoyed our stay at the Avia Napa!

Room Tip: If it's a bit later on the day you check in, go to William Hill Winery. Great wine & absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business in May and found the hotel spot on. Good size rooms, comfy beds and clean. Large bathrooms with walk in shower. Satff really friendly and breakfast excellent!
The only downside is the location - downtown Napa is not really that exciting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.