We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Napa. We hope to stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Napa to your Saves list
Andaz Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersGold level
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great choice in Napa. We hope to stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

We loved our stay at Avia. Wonderful part of town for easy walking and dining. The room was nice and bright and the beds were very comfortable. We drove to the vineyards each day and were excited to return to our lovely accommodations. Make sure you visit the terrace outside in the evening. You can sit by the fire with your own wine, and visit with the other guests.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    290
    63
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
658
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had a great stay at the Avia while we were visiting the Napa Valley.

We were there with our 18m old daughter and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate for us in terms of warm milk and food restrictions for our daughter.

The concierge got us reservations at "Auberge du soleil" which was 'booked' according to an online booking site.

We had a great stay and very much enjoyed the hotel/room and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. charles, mo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

While in San Fran for business my husband & I decided to spend a day in Napa. We travel to Napa/Sonoma yearly. We thought we would try the new Avia Hotel. It was not what we envisioned. Our suite w/tax was $379 nightly. I had called the day prior to inquire about early check-in and was told 'NO', instantly. We arrived at 2:30 and attempted to check-in and with no eye contact from the from desk attendants, we were told no, and not before 4 pm. Traveling monthly, and in the hospitality business I understand being busy and fully booked, however, I also understand, ALL rooms are not instantly available at 4 pm. We were told we could leave our number and they would cal us when our suite became available. Our phone didn't ring. We returned at 4:30 and our room was ready. We got to our room and the keys didn't work: back to the front desk, stand in-line, show id, rekey cards......finally in our room. Open the drapes and we have a 5 story solid cement wall the length of the hotel. What a view! and I paid $375 for it. We were told they have 'free tastings' from 5-6pm with food pairing from the chef. We got ready for dinner and went to the free tasting, which is hosted by a local vineyard, so no expense to the hotel, except for the food pairings, which NEVER appeared.
In summary the pictures look good in the advertizements, but my money can get me more bang for the buck at any number of establishments in the Valley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Over the years, I've avoided staying in Napa when visiting wine country. The hotels and B and B's are just too expensive and pretentious. I fell in love with Avia Napa, the relaxed, yet chic decor. Great room service, casual wine bar and helpful staff. The location in the heart of downtown is perfect, and if a special is on, or it's not a busy weekend, the rates are relatively less expensive than some other places. We had a fireplace suite, upgraded, and I must admit I'm spoiled for anything else now.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here last year on my first trip to napa. The hotel is brand new and centrally located in downtown napa. Self park is free behind the building. We got the master king suite w lux tub and it was fabulous. The tub was very romantic, the shower was great and the bed heavenly. Had dinner in the restaurant one night too and it was pretty good. I am more a modern clean high end hotel kinda gal than a bed and breakfast kinda gal and this hotel beat the b&b I stayed in in yountville 10 to 1 and but was half the price. Loved loved loved!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Classy hotel in the heart of downtown Napa. Top notch place if you desire to stay in the Napa area, that provides good access to all of the areas attractions. I only wish the hotel had it's own gym and pool facilities. This would have made it a top pick for me.

Room Tip: If you would like a room with tub in your bedroom area, ask for it. Great treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband calls me a hotel snob. In fact, during our visit to Napa valley, I checked out of a subpar hotel in Calistoga after one night to try the Avia. What a good decision! It's a rare occasion that I stay in a hotel room that I don't have a complaint about. This hotel was quite splendid! The room and bathroom were huge and very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the hotel was very modern. The only complaint I've read from other reviewers about this hotel is that the town of Napa isn't as quaint as the rest of Napa Valley. I agree, but given the value of this upscale hotel and the fact that one can get from Napa all the way to Calistoga in less than an hour, it's a great place to sleep while exploring this beautiful part of California.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.