We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the guest room of a two bedroom apartment, furnished in 1992” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Napa
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Like the guest room of a two bedroom apartment, furnished in 1992”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Let me first say that I came here for a business meeting and that I didn't pick to stay here, so I didn't experience anything other than the room itself and the room for business. So don't ask me about the golf, or the spa, or even really about the location. I'm just here to talk about the room.

I stayed in one of the "cottages". The parking lots and pathways are poorly lit, so bring a flashlight if you are arriving after dark. The room itself feels like you're staying in the guest room of a two bedroom apartment, furnished in 1992, with no access to a kitchen or living room.

The carpet is beige and has that "10 years of dirt" feel to it where you can't really ever get it clean. The bedspread, lamps, and chairs are a non-threatening blue, with primarily blonde wood furniture and a mismatched veneer side table.

The TV is a 27" (I think, maybe it's 25") tube TV...that's bolted to the stand in case you are feeling nostalgic and feel like stealing it.

There is the obligatory robe and Gilchrist and Soames toiletries that you find in a "resort". The towels, tub, shower, and sink are motel quality.

Oh, and there is a little sign above the thermostat that looks like it was made in the 70's that warns you not to turn the AC down below 72 degrees or (and I quote) "this will cause the unit to malfunction."

So that's about it. On the good side, the room was relatively quiet (although I could hear a neighbor every so often) and there is a nice little patio outside. Oh, and high speed wireless is reliable and is included in all the fees/cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Resort. We are disappointed that you did not have the quality experience that Silverado Resort and Spa has built its reputation on. I have reviewed your comments and will share them with our management staff promptly. We do have a number of beautiful rooms on property that are current and modern. Our one bedroom suites for example, include a spacious living room, full kitchen and separate bedroom area. I do apologize that your particular room was not what you had hoped it would be. I will personally be looking into the issues that did not exceed your expectations. We were pleased to hear that you did enjoy your patio and that the WiFi service was up to standards.

Again, thank you for taking the time out to review the Resort. It is with feedback such as yours that we hope to continually gain insight on what we can do to make this Resort the very best it can be.

Warm Regards,

Erika Phillips
Service Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    266
    160
    109
    60
See reviews for
142
375
12
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

This resort was SO beautiful! The main house is a renovated mansion from the late 1800's. The rooms are cozy, the breakfast was amazing, the spa is great. We didn't even get to the golf courses there, but they had tournaments going and room right off of the course if you're a golfing fan. The location was really close to all the wineries we wanted to hit too. It is a family resort with a lot of activities and camps for the kids, if you need that, but we were traveling kid free and other than the pool time we fit in, weren't bothered by noise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. The wedding itself was great, with the service and the reception outside in an area just of the golf course, and the resort did everything very well.
The rooms are a bit old worldy but they were very clean and very comfortable.
The resort fee is a bit of a rip off on top of an expensive room rate - it does not even include a paper at the weekends!
In general the staff were fine although there were a few who were actaully rude (the bar man in the Grill restaurant in particular).
The whole resort, grounds and surroundings are however very impressive and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Sad to see this once nice resort in such terrible shape. Had convinced our friends to stay there with us - what a mistake. Specifically requested rooms close to the main building when I made the reservations and when checking in, but it was ignored. Never got my morning newspapers. Carpet in room badly soiled. Service in Grill Room was very poor - never came back to see if things were Ok and had to track them down every meal to get our checks. Business center ran out of toner so could not print boarding passes. Paint peeling all over and carpet in main building has rips.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Friendliest staff I have ever encountered at any hotel or resort. My daughter had a meeting in downtown Napa on Monday we decided to get a room on Sunday and make a fun day of it. We had a wonderul day at wineries and restuarants in Napa. Unfortunately my daughter became very ill on Sunday night and was still very ill on Monday morning. We only live 2 hrs away but were not sure my daughter could make the drive home so I called early am and asked front desk staff person if we could extend stay till later in day to see if daughter would be ok to travel. They were very accomadating, helpful, and made a stressfull situation very managable, went out their way to help us and did not charge a dime for any extra services. The room was spotless, quiet and very comfortable. Grounds were lush and green. We felt very safe here. 5 minute drive to downtown and not far from the wineries, kind of off the beaten path but oh so worth it. Will stay here every time we go to Napa. Love it !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was my second trip to Silverado, and it was just as wonderful as the first. My boyfriend and I came with another couple for a couples getaway of wine tasting (for the girls) and golf (for the boys). From the quality of the room and amenities to the service to the large amount of space that you get for the price, it's a great deal. I'm already looking into two future trips back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We spent our anniversary on this excellent property. Our suite was beautiful with an awesome view of the golf course. The staff was very friendly and the management gave us a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. What a wonderful surprise...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, it’s all tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there’s more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it’s all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort’s restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. It’s all designed to ensure the perfect Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.