We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - rooms a bit dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great location - rooms a bit dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband had a partner retreat at this property last fall, and I can't say I was disappointed with it being in Napa! I hear that it is fairly difficult to find 60 rooms in one location in Napa, so I can see why they picked the Silverado. It appears to be individually-owned condos surrounding the main house of the hotel, and they manage the renting of the condos for the property owners. Consequently, the room we stayed in was dated and could have used new carpet, etc. However, it was convenient in that we had a covered parking spot right out front of our room, and we were in a great location for getting around Napa. The overall property was nice, and they did a great job of hosting our group.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear brooke103,

Thanks for your review! I am glad to hear things went well for your husband's retreat here at the Resort. Based upon your comments it sounds as though you may have stayed in one of our deluxe rooms. I highly recommend that you come back and try one of our premium rooms as I am sure you will love it. All of our premium rooms have just been renovated and we are receiving some great reviews on the new look.

I hope it won't be too long before you can come back again and try them out. Again, thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    266
    160
    109
    60
See reviews for
142
375
12
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the Silverado last week, after not being there for quite some time. We had always enjoyed our previous stays, and appreciated the heritage of the hotel, golf course and property. Admittedly, there had been some newer, more current choices in the past.

The new rooms are fantastic. They are designed much like small custom homes, and have a ton of great touches.

I hadn't played the golf course since the makeover, either. I always enjoyed the heritage and history of the old layout, but Johnny Miller really outdid himself this time. The course was beautiful and pristine. The clubhouse staff and starter were fantastic and super helpful. Overall, one of my best golfing experiences (regardless of my score) that I have had in the past few years.

The food was great, and service was fantastic. They had a very eclectic selection of entrees, even at breakfast. My wife ordered one of our favorite dishes that we have never found inside the states.... chilaquiles.

I can't speak for the spa, personally, but I can tell you that my wife came back refreshed and said it was a great experience.

All in all, one of the best couples getaways that we have had in our 17 years of marriage. She got what she wanted to do... Spa and wine tasting, I got to do what I wanted to do, Golf and hang with her in a great private space.

We will be back soon and often!

Room Tip: I personally liked that our room opened straight up to the range and chipping green. When my wife w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Michael,

Now this is the kind of review we hope to get from every guest that walks through the doors of Silverado Resort and Spa. Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad that you had an excellent experience and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Thanks again for your review!

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My friend and I arrived at the Mansion at Silverado for our birthdays. We arrived on May 2, 2014, at 3pm. We were greeted by friendly Bell Captain Mark who opened our car doors and helped us to the Mansion for check in. I requested to have my luggage brought into the condo and Mark assisted me throughout the check in process and opened the gate electronically while driving behind me towards the gated condo area.

Mark and Malik, a new Bellman on his first day of work at Silverado, brought in my many pieces of luggage, coolers, and shopping bags. They placed each item in the proper rooms, kitchen, and living room with friendly smiles, and professional service. Due to several cars being parked improperly behind my carport, it was difficult for me to get into my parking space. Mark called security immediately to correct this situation and the cars were removed so that I could exit the carport without damaging my car!

When it was time to depart, I called the front desk and asked for a Bell Captain to help me with my luggage. Enrique arrived with a smile and happy disposition. He was professional and efficient.

The two bedroom suite was clean, with a fireplace, and beautiful view of the golf course. When we needed toothpaste, the housekeeping staff brought it right to our door even though the hour was late.

We had the pleasure of the professional services at the Spa, including a fantastic haircut from Kristin, and restorative massages from Jose and Christine. The amenities were above and beyond our expectations and the pool area is wonderful!

I will certainly be returning to Silverado!

Room Tip: Lower level units are easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit with us and really glad that you took the time to mention some of the great associates you had encounters with. Mark, Malik, Enrique, Kristin, Jose and Christine, will no doubt be very happy that you mentioned them in your feedback.

I appreciate your time and hope that it won't be long before you can come back and visit us again.

Warm Regards,
John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a confirmed reservation for a "Junior Suite Mansion Superior." When we were being driven to our room, we discovered we had the lowest level room (240 sq ft) which was far from the main hotel and did not have parking by the unit. The check-in clerk did not even mention that they did not have the room we reserved, nor was an offer made intially to adjust the price! Only when we returned to registration did the clerk acknowledge that he gave us a much lower level room and that no other rooms were available. We spoke to the manager on duty and although he was nice and offered to comp a night, he too said he had no other rooms. In the end he comped us two rounds of golf. We had to spend 90 minutes on the phone before we were able to find another suitable place to stay. First time ever that we have had a resort not honor a reservation. They did not even send an email or call to let us know ahead of time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to Silverado. I am so sorry to hear that your visit was not what you were hoping it would be and that your room reservation was not honored. We did have a tricky situation over the weekend of your visit with us and one where we had to make some room moves. While we do always try to contact our guests beforehand if we ever encounter this situation, it sounds like this particular situation was unavoidable and happened last minute. For that we are very sorry. We would like you to know that this isn't something we typically run into and I hope it won't deter you from visiting us in the future as I know we would be able to make your next stay much more enjoyable. I appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,
John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were there to look at having our wedding there. The staff was really friendly, and Mark was really helpful in showing the different venue sites available. The golf course looks well maintained! Mark was really knowledgeable and friendly. Would like to come back and play golf sometime!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. I am glad to read that you were impressed by our staff, particularly Mark. We would love to have you back for a round of golf and maybe even your wedding! Please come back and stay with us soon.

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We arrived for a conference only to discover that the reservation made by the company was for the next day. They accommodated us, but our room was the equivalent of a motel room of another era, replete with under the window wall air conditioner and an old Phillips TV that only showed a few channels, all quite snowy, so that watching it was not worth the time. The room had been cleaned, but there was no soap and even when we requested it we only received 1 bar so that we had to share it with the shower. The next day after the room was cleaned there still was only the one bar, so that I had to call again before finally receiving a bar of soap for the sink and replacement shampoo. Calling was another issue, as there was no answer at Housekeeping, Concierge or the Front Desk. What was so frustrating was that everyone we knew at the conference had very comfortable two room suites with flat screen TVs. There was no sense asking to move as we were only there for three nights, but as the spouse of the conference attendee who was recuperating from surgery I ended up spending a lot of time alone in that dismal room.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite as close to the main building as possible, as the rooms are spread out and you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I would like to extend my thanks to you for taking the time to let us know about your visit with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than exceptional and that you did not enjoy the room you stayed in. We do have many other additional options to choose from and most all of the rooms on property have recently been remodeled. I do hope that you have the opportunity to return and experience one as I am confident you will have a much better experience.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday because I wanted to check out the tennis club on site. Lots of tennis courts, most were empty because golf seems to be more popular I guess. Anyways, we paid for a group lesson with the tennis pro and that was fun. The restaurant was kind of upscale but affordable. Sadly, the room was old, out of date but comfortable. At 1am, we awoke to a loud domestics violence argument across the hall. We quickly called security to check it out as we heard glass being thrown. To make a long story short, we had to call security three times before the local sheriff arrive at 2am to make an arrest. Needless to say, we did not get a good nights rest. But this is not the hotel's fault, just an lucky incident.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, it’s all tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there’s more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it’s all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort’s restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. It’s all designed to ensure the perfect Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.