We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating in every way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Napa
california
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very accommodating in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently had a family reunion and needed four suites to accommodate seven families. The reservation team was great to work with. They understood our needs and accommodated every detail, placing us very close together and close to a pool, which was perfect. We wanted to get in a bit early to stock food and party preparations, and we were able to do so (with advance notice). We had a quick check-in with the front desk, and they also accommodated a late check-out for us. The suites were excellent! Comfortable beds, beautiful views, well-stocked and maintained bathrooms and kitchens. We prepared meals for 20 people in the kitchens (one kitchen per meal), which was just great. We did bring additional plates and silverware to make life a bit easier (to avoid having to schlepp from suite to suite and then figure out what goes where at the end of our stay). We also enjoyed The Grill for Sunday Brunch -- everyone enjoyed the food and the attentive, friendly service. All in all a great stay and we felt very well cared for by the Silverado team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
So glad to read of your pleasant stay with us! Aren't the kitchens great? It sounds as though you had a very successful family reunion and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    251
    155
    104
    59
See reviews for
134
361
10
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this resort for two nights as part of a business conference I was attending there. The rooms are quite small which wasn't a problem for me as I was only sleeping there but for a leisure trip I would want a larger room.

The setting and location is fantastic with a golf course that looks to be in good condition, several tennis courts, a large gym facility, outdoor pool, spa etc. The surrounding area is green and spacious. A very relaxing feel to the whole thing.

Our conference and group meals were well supported; spacious, good service, good food - no complaints at all.

The one real negative for me is that the rooms are spread out over a large area and for many of the rooms (mine included) you need to get a shuttle to and from the main building. Going from the main building to your room is OK because there is normally a shuttle (golf cart or van) available but when ordering a shuttle to collect from your room, the service was inconsistent - sometimes it would arrive straight away and other times there would be a long wait. This was a particular problem for me and some of my colleagues as we were running to a tight schedule around our conference. To be fair, the guys running the shuttle service do their best to fulfill requests and work hard to please but sometimes there simply weren't enough of them on duty. Perhaps this was a problem mainly because we were a large group and many of us wanted a shuttle at a similar time - but still, if you are going to attract conference visitors, this is something you need to plan for and expect.

This aside, it is a lovely property and I am looking forward to returning in a leisure capacity as I didn't get a chance to experience the facilities as much as I would like.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words! In reading your review it sounds as though your business conference went well. We are pleased to hear it! Yes, I can understand where rooms being in different locations around a large property can get frustrating. I am glad that you took advantage of our shuttles. We are currently looking into how to make that system more efficient for all guests needs. Again, thanks for reaching out, we hope to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a shame.
Very acceptable golf resort. Nice grounds, amenities, restaurant(s)....but be prepared to deal with parking hassles !!!
Seems that only the "suites" include a dedicated parking slot for your car. These are covered car ports which are a very nice convenience included in the room rate paid. Problem is... these car ports are marked with BOTH the standard and suite room #s, an obvious error and invitation for confusion. Compounded by poor / incomplete information conveyed at check-in.
Every nite another car was parked in our slot and the owner(s) could not be located. No place else to park. Created a headache every day /evening for us and in fact, altered our evening plans on 2 occasions. Totally unacceptable!!
Too bad!!!

Room Tip: Indicate on check-in that if another guest parks in your car port, you insist on another parking alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am sorry that your visit was ruined by an unfortunate parking situation. When you check-in, the process should be clearly explained and marked out for our guests and I do apologize if this was not the case. The covered parking areas are reserved for our suites and there are adjacent parking lot areas for those staying in other rooms. With that said, we will do a follow up with our front desk associates to make sure the proper information is given out each and every time. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a room that looked out over the driving range. Big room. Suite with separate living and bedrooms. Kitchen area if you wanted to cook. Very clean. We enjoyed the view. We ate in the Grill and the meal was very good.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your review! I am pleased to read of your pleasant visit with us and hope to see you back at Silverado soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are neither golfers nor spa enthusiasts but we stayed at this resort as it was the location of a wedding we attended. We arranged to stay with another couple attending the wedding in a two-bedroom suite. Our experience didn't begin well. We arrived early in the afternoon, and were told that check-in was at 4pm and our room wasn't ready. We asked the desk clerk if he could (a) find out when it would be ready and (b) tell housekeeping that we were waiting to get access to our room and request that they prepare it as soon as possible. He turned out not to be able to do either. He did, however, take my cell phone number and suggested we enjoy the grounds and he would call me as soon as our room was ready. It was very frustrating watching other guests at the wedding show up and be told that there rooms were ready (we found out later that some were staying in adjacent suites), while we were being ignored. We walked around (and around) the grounds until finally we decided at 3:30 to check back to see if our room was ready. We found that it was but our desk clerk had gone off shift and hadn't bothered to tell his replacement to call us. The remainder of our stay turned out to be much more pleasant. Our suite (803) was spacious and well laid out, though we found there was a very uneven selection of plates and utensils when we tried to fix breakfast for a group of friends. We were far away from the main resort area and, as others have mentioned, you needed a car to get there, but we actually preferred that arrangement, as we spent just about all of our time off-site while we were at the resort, except for the wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you experience at the Silverado did not start off as it should've. The check-in process should have been a lot smoother for you than it was. I can understand your frustration with this and will take a look into why it happened and why your cell number was not given to the next on-shift associate.

It was nice to read that the remainder of your visit was enjoyable. I do hope there will be another opportunity with you some time in the future to give you the type of visit Silverado Resort has come to be known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently went for a work conference and were very nervous after having read the previous reviews.

The Rooms: We heard that some of the rooms had been renovated and were pleased to have been in one of those rooms. We had a 1 bedroom king suite. It was very nice. Stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. New bathroom. It wasn't the Ritz of course, but it was a very nice condo and I would absolutely stay there again if we go to the area. The bathrooms were very nice. New shower curtain, spacious tub, new flooring, sink, etc.. It felt very clean. I am extremely picky about cleanliness and bathrooms, so if I felt ok about it so should you.

Before I get into the details of the property I'll explain what I know about the renovations. Apparently the resort was very aware of the 1970s conditions and required all of the property owners to authorize a very significant (I heard the number $60,000.00) upgrade in order to be allowed to have the resort continue to rent their property. The units are all owned by individuals and the resort rents them out. I know they are not finished just yet, but I think if you ask for a renovated room you'll be absolutely happy.

General Comments: This is a great place to stay if you aren't going out to the Napa Valley area as a wine connoisseur. The golf course and grounds are beautiful. There is a very nice spa. The pool is very well kept. It's not an exotic or tropical feel by any means, but it's not the southern coast of CA, so it's about what you would expect. The resort fee includes fitness classes which are also nice. For $20.00 a day you can use the driving range as much as you would like. You have the opportunity to do tennis clinics and ride a bike. It's just a very nice place to go if you would like to have things to do and don't feel the need to be at the wineries all day.

Staff: The staff is great. Extremely professional and helpful.

Food: The food was excellent. Actually, all of the food we had while in Napa and Sonoma was outstanding. The outdoor dining areas are great. It would be a great place to host a party or even a small wedding reception. They have a beautiful covered back porch and and patio area for entertaining.

Spa: I didn't use the spa. I had a massage at another bed and breakfast. The costs were just outrageous. I know everything is inflated in California, but it was just a whole different level. If you are coming from a place with a great cost of living it will be tough to pay that much for the same thing. I do know one woman received a deep tissue and she said it was great. She also got a manicure which looked very nice.

We would probably not go back to the Napa area again unless we had some kind of business conference there as it just isn't the kind of place we want to spend our vacation money, but if we do go back, which is likely, we would love to stay at the Silverado again.

Room Tip: Just be sure to ask for a renovated room! It's also a sprawling resort, so if you do not want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Your title says it all! We are thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations! This is what we like to hear back from guests each and every time they visit with us. This is what we aim for. Thank you very much for your kind and honest review. We do hope that you end up back in the Napa Valley again, so we can warmly welcome you back to Silverado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genval, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Siverado.The hotel is in a golf court....so your room can be far from the reception and restaurant for the breakfast.You need your car!!!!The standard room we had was clean and comfortable but very small because it is a part of a 2 bedrooms suite...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. Yes, there are some rooms that are further out than others, but we are always glad to provide a shuttle service for those guests. You will find that the rooms that are a little further from the main area of the Resort actually provide views of our golf courses and beautiful surroundings. We also have other room types available that offer more spacious accomodations. We do hope you will have the opportunity to come back and experience them for yourself. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, it’s all tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there’s more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it’s all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort’s restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. It’s all designed to ensure the perfect Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.