We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Napa
omaha, ne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

During our first visit to wine country, we stayed at the Silverado Resort for just two nights. We wish it could have been longer. It's about five miles from the town of Napa, and very convenient to all the wineries. It's like visiting a remote plantation, with rolling hills, shade trees and all the quiet you need. The units are spread out, but you can walk to the main building in less than 10 minutes. We had a two-bedroom suite overlooking the golf course. Yes, the furnishings are a bit outdated, but there was plenty of space and everything was well-maintained. Wifi was a little glitchy, but to really enjoy the area, you need to disconnect and relax anyway. Staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your recent stay at Silverado Resort and Spa. It's fantastic to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and we'll look foward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    266
    160
    109
    60
See reviews for
143
375
12
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a three day golf in the morning wine tasting in the afternoon trip at the first of July this year. The accomadations were very nice and the golf courses were spectacular. We look forward to making this an annual event.

Play golf in the morning and be tasting wine by 1pm. Good for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Your kind words are most appreciated and we hope you will have the chance to get back to the Resot soon to stay and play!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Silverado for a special event in June 2013. It was our first trip to Napa and we loved the area. When I called to request an early check in before we arrived I was told our reservation had been cancelled ... They did fix the problem, but an early check in was out. We ended up being moved from room to room several times and I think they finally upgraded us, which was greatly appreciated - but I felt like the hotel staff had no clue what was going on. I have worked in a hotel before, and their lack of communication and kindness with guests shocked me. It even took a long time to check out, which should have been easy. I think Silverado has rested on it's laurels for too long and needs a good overhaul when it comes to the room / hotel management.

That said - the room we had was fine and the location was great. The units were worn, but fine for the days we were there. I think if I was spending a week or two there I would have been a little more picky. We enjoyed the restaurant and the food was very good. Service was great.

The Event Staff was FANTASTIC!! I can't say enough about the beautiful event we attended there and the staff that were wonderful. Glasses and plates were quietly whisked away and new glasses and plates were in their place. This place knows how to handle a special event and make it seem effortless.

Location of the resort was great. Easy access to many wineries and to activities at the resort. Bike riding was very fun. The golf course looked beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit to our Resort. I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you had when checking in and out. We will make sure to review this process with our Front Desk associates so that the process is seamless for the next time.

I appreciate your very nice comments about our event staff! We feel we have the best event staff in the valley and are so glad you had the chance to experience our team first hand. I will be passing along the kudos to those associates, as they will be thrilled you mentioned them in your review.

In the meantime, we will continue to work hard to improve the areas you noted and I do sincerely hope that you will be a guest of the Resort again the next time your travels bring you to the Napa Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at Silverado both before and after the change in ownership and management. Before the changes, on our visit in June of 2010, it was ok but the condo accommodations were a little worn and threadbare. The golf courses were pretty much the same. Service was adequate -- no real complaints although sometimes it took awhile to get a response.

On our recent trip we had a great time. Very nice upgraded rooms & condos (make sure you go through Silverado to get the upgraded accommodations) and super service. Both the hotel management (Dolce) and golf management (Troon) are great. Friendly and highly responsive, right down to the smallest detail. The golf course redesign on the North Course is great too.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Be sure to go through Silverado itself to get an upgraded room or condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear from guests that had such a wonderful visit. It sounds as if yours was just that! We are glad you had the chance to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. While the project isn't quite complete yet, we are happy to hear such great feedback! We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently visited Silverado during the week of the 4th of July. We were there for 5 nights and it was truly like stepping into another world.

Relaxed in the word I'd associate with Silverado. There's not much one needs to do while there - the staff handles everything with finesse.

The service was spectacular! There was always someone around if anything was needed. Room and turn down service was spot on - never intrusive and were always respectful.

Our room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. I'm still thinking about the pillows I rested my head on at night. It was long before I was sound asleep! The room was immaculate to boot!

The food was top notch. Be sure to stop by the Grill anytime of day!

Silverado's location is exceptional. It didn't take long to partake in restaurants, wineries or shopping.

Silverado is definitely a home away from home. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. This is the type of review we hope to receive from every guest that walks through our doors. Relaxed is exactly how we hope our visitors feel when staying at the Resort. We will be sure to share your words with our associates. Thanks again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

During our stay, we had numerous issues with the hotel management, on two occasions our items were removed from our room, without consent. The reason we were given for these mistakes was "human error". When a problem comes up, none of the management will take responsibility for it, and you just get passed onto the next manager/director. The general staff are all very friendly and happy to help, the grounds are beautiful, it's just a shame that the management let's the hotel down severely. To sum up, there are too many managers, and not enough helpful staff, and for this reason i would not return to this resort, or any other Dolce managed hotel.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I want to start by apologizing to you for the service you recieved while you were here. I can assure you this is not typical of the Resort and I am very disappointed to hear that this was your experience. This type of feedback is something we can use to share with our management and associates to be used as a training exercise. I do appreicate that you brought this to my attention. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future as I know we can do a much better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have done several trips to Silverado as a great place to relax with our young daughter and enjoy Napa and especially their tennis center. It can be a little tricky picking the right condo from the descriptions on the website and there's a range on the rooms, but we have found it nice and comfortable and a good value for Napa Valley. Really the only knock on the place is that you can wind up with a unit that hasn't been renovated lately. If you are into tennis, it's a fun place to play as Jacob and the pros do a really great job with the clinics and the courts are close to the pool and fitness center.

Room Tip: Check out pictures online to make sure you are getting a unit you'll like
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Silverado Resort. It is great you had a chance to relax with your daughter and enjoy our tennis center. We always receive such rave reviews about our tennis team and will definitely pass along your kind comments to Jacob and his associates. We hope it won't be too long before we see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, it’s all tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there’s more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it’s all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort’s restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. It’s all designed to ensure the perfect Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.