We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed one night at Silverado during our 3 week California vacation this August. Our purpose in Napa was to bicycle amongst the vines, which we have previously done in Pessac, Paulliac, Burgundy, and Chianti, and to celebrate my daughters 16th Birthday at Thomas Kellers classic bistro Bouchon. It was a night to remember. Next morning we left for Lake Tahoe but my daughter forgot her presents and cards in a box in one of the hotel rooms. After some to and fro, they sent it all the way to our home in Norway. Any hotel that does is a place I can recommend. The rooms are a bit run down, but fear not. By late this year they will all have been totally redone and then the whole package will be as good as the location and service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I was delighted to hear that you chose us as the place to stay to celebrate your daughter's 16th birthday. From your review, it sounds as though she had a very enjoyable birthday and we were glad you were able to bicycle throughout the Napa Valley. Your kind words are very appreciated and we will look forward to your return (all the way from Norway!) in the near future.

Thank you for your review!

Warm Regards,

John Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    266
    160
    109
    60
See reviews for
142
375
12
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was up in Napa with some friends for some wine tasting and had a wonderful time. I booked us some rooms at the Silverado Resort since they had better rates than other four star rated hotels in Napa Valley. So value I would rate it okay. However, my expectations of a four star resort exceed what this hotel was able to provide.

The hotel is made up of timeshare based property, I knew I was in for some fun when the front door of the room was an older metal sliding glass door. The room was adequate and the television was buzzy and not clear. My biggest complaint with the room was the curtains, or rather lack of quality curtains. They are standard curtains and not hotel blackout curtains, so don't expect to sleep in when the sun comes blaring into your window. The sliding glass doors are not double paned and allow every sound to come drifting into your room.

I had breakfast at the Silverado Grill and quite simply was horrible service. I had to ask for coffee three times before I actually received any. Food was okay, nothing special but at least prices were fair.

I would not recommend or stay at this hotel again. The golf course did look beautiful but didn't play. Was there for the wine and not the sports.

Room Tip: Request a golf course view and an upstairs unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

For some years now, probably since about 1999, we have been regular guests of the Silverado Resort at least once or twice a year and in the last couple of years we have noticed a real decline in the hospitality staff and the resort itself. Last October we brought another couple with us to Napa for some Wine tasting and to enjoy a weekend visit together. We had told them of the wonderful veranda overlooking the 18th hole and how nice it was to sit and enjoy the view. unfortunatley we were not allowed that option, they had booked a private party on the veranda and the only other option was to sit on the front porch as people were checking in and view all the chaos at the bell desk.
Again my husband visited the resort this May with a few friends to play in the Johnny Miller Golf Tournament. They had nothing but problems with their room arrangements, and the billing disaster that lasted for weeks after he was there and the time he had to take to make sure they got it cleared up was just the topping on the cake.
So we gave it one last chance and again went this September with my father and brother who have never been to Napa Valley. Well we booked well in advance and had some room requests nothing to outragous, you know one room with a king and one with 2 double beds... They believed with the amount of time there should be some openings to get the room with 2 double beds. Who would have thought that a resort that big could not get that right. Well check in was embarrasing having to tell my dad and brother they had to share a bed! Then when we asked the front desk clerk if the rooms were at least near each other, she replied somewhat. One side of the resort from the other is not exactly somewhat. They refused to find anything near together, and could only reply they were over booked and had some contract groups in and we were welcomed to leave and not check in and go somewhere else. Friday night in Napa Valley at high season, doubtful. That would probably have helped their overbooked problem. So to make the best of things we tried to enjoy the rest of the property and out time together. How about dinner and a bottle of wine on the Veranda.... well half way through dinner we were told we had to leave the veranda they had a private party coming in....
Well we are done! They only want to cater to groups or contract conventions and not to individual travelers, so be very aware.
The rooms are old and out dated... the only money being spent seems to be on the course....And T.J. the front desk manager, needs a little help in the customer service field.... Definitely would not recommend this property to any friends or enemies....

Room Tip: Try another property, newer something from this century.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

For years, I had heard of Silverado Resort and it was on both my wife and my bucket list. Was so excited when we got there. Then the terrible experience started when we arrived at the 4 pm check in time, only to be told that our room was not ready. We waited in the bar for over half an hour and only after my wife badgered the front desk did we get a room.

Now the room, it was OLD! Like walking into a time warp. Brown shag carpet from the 70s, a TV that was exactly the same model as my own bedroom TV that I donated to Salvation Army, watched snow on every TV channel, read under a broken nightstand lamp bulb, cooled by an air conditioner that only worked on high, tried to charge my cellphone on an electric outlet that didn't work, wanted some wine for sale in their mini bar but couldn't find a wine opener.....

Totally disappointed! No comparison to the ambience and service to Pebble Beach, Mauna Kea Resort, La Quinta in Palm Springs.etc.

As for the golf shop, they need a merchandising manager that has heard of at least Under Armor, Adidas, and Nike. I was ready to buy at least logo golf shirts for my wife and myself, but only found dated golf merchandise. Walked out empty handed. Am a very avid golfer, but after this experience, had no desire to play either golf course.

If you desire a remote resort, this is it. The wineries and restaurants that we visited were at least 15 miles away. Try driving back to the resort after eating dinner and drinking a bottle of Cabernet without any highway streetlights or resort signs.

Burst our bubble! Can't recommend to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the parking lot otherwise to expect to walk at least a quarter mile to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Over the past 2 years I have stayed here four times for work conferences. I will say right away that the conference facility was great and that the food service -- both the actual food and the service -- was really excellent. So as far as a place to have a conference it was really good and I would recommend it.

As far as the rest of the resort, the rooms are very clean but I certainly wouldn't pay resort prices for them. On the main campus there are so many lights that I couldn't sleep in one room because it was just as bright at midnight as it is during the day. For one meeting, they put me out at "the cottages" which is a bit of a walk and even though I was told it was fine to not have a car, the shuttle service took 15 minutes to pick me up. I was also rarely impressed by the front desk staff. The rooms usually weren't ready on time and when I asked for help with specific things the staff was courteous but not really helpful.

The spa is very nice but at $25 for a day pass when I just wanted to use the lap pool it was another thing that didn't add up as far as customer service. But the spa was really nice if you were going to use it all day. And the golf courses and tennis courts, which I didn't have any time to use, did look really well maintained. The setting itself is also beautiful.

I would not take my family there for a stay but I would on the whole recommend it to employers who need conference space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had stayed at the Silverado Resort before but, it was years ago. When we had friends that wanted to go up to the wine country, I felt very confident in booking at the Silverado. BIG mistake, I should have read the reviews. Check in was 4:00 pm and we got there at 4:30. One room was ready and the other was not, but said it would be about 20 more minutes. The desk told they to go to our room and they would bring the keys when it was ready. When we checked in, I asked for an upgraded room and they said they were fully booked that night. After a drive from the bay area and wine tasting all day, we were ready for our room to relax. Over an hour and a half later, our friends called the desk and they said, yes, your room is ready, come get the keys. After telling them, the deal was to bring them to the room, they finally did. When we got into our box (the room), we noticed their was a mini bar and at check in we were not even asked if we would like a key. Our friend had noticed other people checking in had been asked. I asked for a map of the hotel and they sort of waved their hand and said the bell valets would show us our room. They were not the front desk that wants to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Our room was very disappointing, it is basically the 2nd bedroom of a 2 bedroom suite. You enter through a slider and there are no other windows, except for a window if the bathroom. There is no ventilation in the room, not even a fan and you can not sleep with the slider open. Your only choice is to leave the nosiy air conditioner on all night. The drapes over the slider are so thin and dirty, it was like trying to sleep during the day time as there were so many lights outside. Great for the pathways, not so great for the room. The TV reception was terrible. The toilet seat was chipped in two places, so it looked dirty. You just didn't even want to use it. Upon checking out, I tried to use the TV to check out like most places and couldn't. I called the front desk and ask them if I could check out over the phone, and they said I had to come in the lobby to do so. So I had to go in and wait in line to check out. It amazed me that their were people hecking in at 10 in the morning and getting keys. Checkout was 11, check in was 4. Obviously they were not full, like I was told and had people coming in for early checkins. When I finally got my turn to check out, I was not even asked, "How was your stay", not even told have a nice day or thanks for staying with us. The housekeepers carts are all over the paths when you try to walk around. They just park them. When the bellman was trying to get us to our room, he had to try 4 different ways as the maid just block everything. He finally got us close, but we still had to walk a bit. Postives are we got a paper in the am and the bellman were very nice. Will never stay here again, nor reccommend others.

Room Tip: I do not know of any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your experience.

We are so sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything but pleasant. I can certainly understand your frustration with the challenges you had with our Front Desk team. Your comments have been given to their manager who will address those issues directly with them.

You were correct in stating that your resort guestroom was the second bedroom of a two bedroom suite and is a much smaller room than our one-bedroom suites. While the resort guestrooms are more affordable, the one-bedroom suites do offer more spacious accommodations, including a full size kitchen, living room and separate bedroom area.

Thanks again for letting us know about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sorry I can't gush over this resort but that still doesn't take away from its good points and hence the title and rating of this review. Food was excellent. Good, attentive service all around. Gym and spa are good but located across the road from the resort complex, slightly inconvenient. Didn't golf but the courses and grounds looked picturesque and well maintained. The resort accommodations,decor, kitchenettes while spacious and comfortable do indeed have the 70s dated look as another reviewer noted. Old world charm shall we say! Close to Napa wineries and wine tasting but not close to town. Seems family and budget friendly.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor unit if you have luggage. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! It was great to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service provided by our associates.

We are doing our very best to start renovating the rooms here on property, but please understand that it will take some time. We know that the wait will be worth it in the end, as our guests will love what our new guest rooms will look like.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, it’s all tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there’s more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it’s all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort’s restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. It’s all designed to ensure the perfect Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.