We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few minor improvements would make this great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“few minor improvements would make this great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

food was great, villas have some nicely renovated areas, but need to replace old carpeting and sofa in living area....need to heat the pool and put a hot tub in! Need to replace old air conditioners with new units or even better central air.Staff was great, did not golf but planning to next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassadors at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Silverado Resort and Spa. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing along your comments to our managment staff who will look into the improvements you noted. We know you will enjoy the golf courses during your next stay and will look forward to welcoming you back then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    266
    160
    109
    60
See reviews for
142
375
12
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

After reading many negative reviews about this resort, I was a little nervous about our trip. I was very relieved when we got there - we had a great experience! We travel quite a bit and although this was not a new, modern resort it had everything we needed and the grounds were beautiful.

Our Room:

We had the one bedroom Fireplace Suite with a golf course view (2nd floor). The room was recently redecorated and VERY nice. Large sliding windows with curtains you could easily close. The view of the golf course was amazing. The sunrise was beautiful coming up over the mountain. We had a nice kitchen with refrigerator, and everything we needed. We enjoyed our wine in the dining area and also had a nice living room with a plasma TV (overlooking the course). The king bed was very comfortable and I loved the bathroom with the "heater". Mornings are cold in Napa.

Dining:

We purchased the package that included breakfast. We received two $25.00 gift certificates every day we were there. There is a wonderful breakfast buffet on the weekends with an omelet bar and a regular breakfast menu on weekdays. The food was great. We did not have lunch or dinner at the resort - we were too busy driving around to the different vineyards and towns north of Napa.

Spa:

We had a pedicure and a massage. The women in the salon were very nice to visit with and did a great job. No problems at all - it was nice. We had a great 50 minute massage (should have purchased 90 minutes). It went too fast! The spa was clean and nice. It wasn't the most modern spa I have ever been to, but it was nice and clean. Great staff.

Golf:

My husband said that the golf was amazing. The greens were in good shape. The staff was very helpful. He did say that he preferred the North course, but the South course was still nice! We watched Johnny Miller as he taught a golf class one morning.

Overall, the resort is very nice. If you are looking for something similar to the Four Seasons, you will not find it in Napa. This place is older, but it has character and we did not have any problems with the staff. There were a few conventions going on while we were there, but they did not let it interfere with our activities. You check into the main "lodge" and then drive to your room. We had covered parking right in front of our room. We walked to breakfast every day in the main lodge.

Remember that this is the ONLY resort in Napa that includes two golf courses on site.

I highly recommend! We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Fireplace Suite Golf Course View on the 2nd Floor = awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about Silverado Resort and Spa. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. What a treat to be able to watch Johnny Miller teach a golf class during one of the mornings that you were here! We really appreciate hearing about your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We arrived around 5?30 p.m. and discover that our bedrooms were very basic. Ours had window door that was half blocked by the curtains. It meant that the room had very little natural light and the worse: the humidity smell was terrible. My brother´s room was like any room you rent in a motel... no privacy at all. We had to make an upgrade and we got a nice room with fireplace and a small patio and my brother got a nice room in the second floor with a balcony... It meant 100 bucks more....
The breakfast...delicious but very expensive!!!! I only take coffee and some bread and they charged as if I had full breakfast. Monday thru Wednesday they have a small buffet and you can order from the kitchen, but on weekends you have to ask for the buffet, no matter what and they charge 25 USD plies tax plus 20% service.... Toooo expensive.... Go to Napa town for breakfast. Athousand times better and cheaper!!!

Room Tip: Ask for fireplace bedroom. Second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lovely resort, but the rooms are small. Shower nice size and having a real key instead of a plastic one is a nice touch. The rooms need a safe. The staff was professional and the spa was great but of course the services were pricey. They ask you if they can automatically add a 20% gratuity before your service; when did a tip become included instead of an expression of a job well done? Great location for visiting the Napa and Sonoma wineries.

Room Tip: All single rooms seemed the same. Looks out over nice courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangevale
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were surprised to see how small and dark our room was. There is virtually no natural light in the room. Thankfully we are in the Napa Valley so we could occupy our time and use the room only to sleep. Had I intended to lounge around the room it would have been depressing. The internet connection was terrible thus our IPad signal went in and out as well as our laptop connection. An AC compressor is below our window. This unit goes on and off during the night. Our room was very clean and well stocked. The staff members have been especially accomidating. Our dinner at the grill was excellent. Their grounds were beautiful. Our only complaint really is that our room was void of natural light and we had no view whatsoever. The decor in our room was nice and comfortable. It was evident they were doing the best they could to update the room but the white walls and white linens could not make up for the fact that we had three narrow windows side by side that looked toward the parking lot and provided very little view of the lovely surrounding areas. If you don't have a view of the golf course you will not have a view. My husband said staying in these rooms is like sleeping in a cubicle.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the top floor that faces West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Good for traveller who booked golfing at ther resort (separate charge)

updated bathroom, very friendy and helpful concierge

--
60s room, very expensive and compulsory 22 /day resort charge, inconvenient cottage away from lobby
LCD TV with only analog channels

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

It is a golf and country club, and an aging one at that; but it is incredible.

I have really enjoyed it, for years. It seems a place that I end up returning de facto, when we can't afford something like Bardessono...

There are a multitude of rooming options for every price point, it is very close to other wineries (not to mention the more bucolic and less trafficky Silverado Trail for wine tasting...) while still being in a more private area than the teeming madness and crowds of places like Yountville. Relaxing as all get out.. pools and hot tubs, tennis courts and golf, everywhere. The Royal Oak restaurant in the clubhouse is phenomenal, and the Clubhouse has a great bar / lounge too. The breakfast buffet is a treat too.

There is a lot of complexity in owning a resort that has so many separate owners of units... so you may walk into a dated unit with old art and furniture, or one that is fully updated with modern amenities... but this inconsistency is that of the owners, and not the operator... so don't hesitate to ask if the unit you are booking has been recently updated!

They seem to offer deals and packages on their social accounts too... so look out for them!

Cheers.

Room Tip: Ask reservations if the room has been recently updated by the owner, or if it has been a bit since i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about Silverado Resort and Spa. We are so happy to hear that you have been a valued guest for the past few years and we will look forward to welcoming you back for many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, it’s all tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there’s more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it’s all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort’s restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. It’s all designed to ensure the perfect Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.