We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mermaid Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Island Oyster Company

Hog Island Oyster Company
610 1st St, Ste 22, Napa, CA 94559
(707) 251-8113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 249 Restaurants in Napa
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mermaid Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hog Island in Napa is tucked away in an interesting market full of neat stuff. Definitely plan to walk around before or after the meal; I would suggest after because they have lots of great dessert places! Anyways, when I dine here I like to sit at the bar and watch them crack oysters for me to eat (fresh and yummy! :P). If you're ballin' on a budget, make sure to come during happy hour which is Tuesdays and Wednesdays 5-7 PM for half off oysters!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    80
    18
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best oysters ever period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fresh oysters were great, wife had prepared oysters also good. Only bad point is that they close early and not available in late evening or for late supper

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is located inside the Oxbow. You sit on stools for hte msot part. This may be hte best fish stew I've ever eaten and I've had bouillabaise in Marseille and fish stews in Navare Portugal so it's not like I don't know stew! The oysters great too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Vibe. Great Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have only eaten oysters here, but they were excellent. I love the outdoor seating. Very friendly service. Oxbow Market in general is a must see

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always stop at one of their outposts whenever I'm in Northern California--either the oyster farm in Bodega Bay, the restaurant in San Francisco's Ferry Building and now this one in Napa. Great kumamotos, other seafood dishes, salads.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Island Oyster Company also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hog Island Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Island Oyster Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.