We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Napa Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Napa Valley to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   101 Gateway Road East, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #21 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice hotel with a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location. It's not too far from downtown Napa and is reasonably priced. I also found the hotel staff to be very courteous. The breakfast was also quite good with lots of options.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    71
    14
    1
    7
See reviews for
43
68
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow! What an experience...I stayed here for my sister's birthday weekend. The lobby was wonderful, very nicely done. The staff was friendly upon arrival. Now...I don't know if it's just this Marriott (privately owned), or something I've forgotten. I was not accustomed to paying for my rooms entirely at check-in. I'm used to them holding $50-$100 dollars for incidentals, but the whole amount? I informed the front desk I was paying cash. Unfortunately, they wouldn't check me in unless I could pay by credit card. I had to find a bank, put the money on my debit card, and then come back to check in. This was very frustrating! Maybe you've experienced different.

Once checked in, my experienced was great. The room was extremely comfortable. My sister who is plus sized slept on the pull-out sofa bed, and had no complaints. The beds definitely measured up to Marriott quality. Felt so good we hated to get up each day.

Breakfast on the weekends is offered from 7-10 a.m. This is very nice in case you want to sleep in. The full hot breakfast included, sausage, eggs, pastries, hot cereal, potatoes, waffles, juice, coffee, yogurt, fruits, and even had a soy milk option (I was so excited). The inside gets a little crowded, so depending on the time of year bring a sweater to sit outside.

The fire pit near the pool made for a very nice evening gathering spot. Overall, this was a very nice stay, and I would do it again.

Room Tip: Get one near the elevator, as it is very easy to get lost with the room layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our time there. Although not in the heart of napa it was a 10-15 min drive to downtown. Did not find it inconvenient to drive a little further knowing we saved several hundred $. The breakfast was good and had a lot of nice selections. Staff was very friendly. Overall, we had a great experience and would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean and well maintained. Also an extremely friendly staff who know the valley well enough to make excellent recommendations based on your preferences. The outdoor fire pit is nice and the pool/hot tub were always clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The title is a bit hyperbolic yes, but it makes the point very well regarding the proximity of the SpringHill Suites to Napa. The hotel seems to technically be in Napa based on a couple of maps I've checked, but it barely so. We could see the nearby Mare Island Bridge in Vallejo, CA.

The important point is that the hotel is not on or near the famed Silverado Trail. So, as long as you know that going in you can plan accordingly. The drive into town or onto the Silverado Trail takes 15 minutes or more; more if you do it on a weekend.

That said, the property itself is simple and reminiscent of most every Springhill Suites property. There is ample free parking on the grounds and the property is well maintained. The rooms I peaked into all look to be similarly furnished and arranged with a living area separate (though at least in our case not physically separated) from the sleeping and bath area. The room was comfortable enough in that synthetic sort of way that family style hotels tend to be. There were no natural finishes or fabrics to be found. The room was set up to accommodate several people in that in addition to a king sized bed, there was a pull-out couch in the living room. The unfortunate issue for such guests is that there was only one sink in the bath area. So getting everyone ready to hit the winery tours will be - dicey.

The public spaces on the first floor, including the dining area where the complimentary breakfast is served is quite nice with lots of sofas and large chairs to make for a comfy web surfing experience on the free wi-fi network.

In my opinion, the best feature of the property is the beautiful courtyard and pool area. It feels resort-like in this area and the courtyard is a perfect place to have breakfast and to get some fresh air - I found I needed the fresh air after spending time with the synthetic furnishings.

There is a downside to the courtyard area though. The hotel is adjacent to Highway 29 which takes you into the Napa Valley. So, the traffic noise detracts in my opinion.

All-in-all the SpringHill Suites Napa Valley is a mixed bag to me. The good things are room rates (at least in winter), free breakfast and wi-fi, and the courtyard. The downsides are the hotel's lack of proximity to the Silverado Trail, its proximity to the freeway, and the lack of quality in the furnishings.

As a point of departure for family visit to the Napa Valley, you could do a lot worse. I would not recommend the hotel for couple on romantic trip to Napa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Its a very good hotel, is a very clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay. The staff accommodated our every need during our stay, very helpfull.THis hotel is a great option for familys with 3 kids like us. The hotel room can acomodate in 2 queen size bed e one sofabed in each room, 5 easily . Big huge TV, sofa/pullout bed and a microwave/fridge/sink. . Lobby has free hot breakfast in the mornings. Very comfortable, quiet place, and a nice wine bar. The internet was good. The swimming pool was hot and clean, a fire place beside the swimming pool is a friendly place for a party with friends.

Room Tip: rooms for 5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location isn't premier, but it's right outside of Napa and Vallejo, and it is more affordable than in the heart of Napa. The free breakfast makes this a great stay for a family on a budget. The pool looked nice, however, it was freezing when we went. People were still in it, but this weekend was not about a hot tub and a pool for us. In short, great stay for my wife, son, and me. They brought up a crib as asked and supplied a little sheet for it to boot.

There is a small half wall to separate the room from the "kitchen" area (sink, microwave, and mini fridge), the internet connection (wired thank goodness, more secure than wireless), and the sofa. The TV is in the middle of the room, so it can be seen by either the bed, or the "living room" area.

Room Tip: Go to this place if you want a good place to stay right outside of Napa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Napa Valley

Address: 101 Gateway Road East, Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Napa Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the custom built SpringHill Suites by Marriott Napa Valley. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott Napa Valley hotel is designed to Assure, Inspire and Renew travel life. This uniquely designed, innovative, all suite hotel will energize your stay by combining familiar comforts with travel smart features. The new SpringHill Suites by Marriott Napa Valley will serve as your fabulous oasis in the heart of Napa Valley. Start your day feeling refreshed with our complimentary breakfast. Whether you are here for leisure, wine tasting or business, we offer over 6,200 sq. ft. of event space along with a variety of catering options. Relax with a glass of wine at our fire pit or take a dip in our outdoor heated pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Napa Valley Hotel Napa
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.