We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Verasa Napa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Verasa Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 48 hours in Napa Valley last weekend for our anniversary. As always the Westin brand delivers with the comfortable beds, heavenly showers, and functionality in general. The Front Desk staff were very friendly and professional. They told us about a ritual wine tasting in the lobby (very local experience) which we took advantage of. and the Concierge, Christian was able to recommend a great italian restaurant in town, which exceeded our expectations. Great place overall!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Varj7,

Thank you for the great review and excellent feedback for our TripAdvisor readers and future travelers. From the review and the photo it looks and sounds like you had a wonderful anniversary and we’ll hope to see you back next year.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    271
    76
    43
    29
See reviews for
129
414
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am not going to lie, we chose this hotel based on it's proximity to the Wine Train Station ... and the fact that Mr. Loafer is a seasoned customer of the group. So the main purpose was to bob and weave safely across the road after having spent an evening "oiling our own wheels" on 'ole smokey.
Do not be afraid : the train station is hardly of the Kings Cross/ Grand Central variety. In fact I don't think I heard a train related noise during our few days stay, except for the one we were booked on of course. The hotel location does benefit from the pleasant side effect of the hotel frontage feeling very open and airy, as a result of having such a low rise neighbour.

The hotel has on site valet parking, boy do those chaps earn their wages. If only they got stair miles for every trip to the garage. A more lovely bunch of guys you could not hope to meet - outstanding ambassadors for this hotel. Lovely check in, smooth. As we arrived later in the
day we had a meal in the bar/restaurant, the bar guys are so laid back as to be almost horizontal! The quality of the food was outstanding - hit just the right spot after a schlep by air from London, was fast-ish but fresh and oh so delicious. Big shout out to the kitchen! The cleaning staff I never saw but they worked their magic somehow. The staff who meet you going about their business always acknowledge your presence - very professional.
Great room and bath. Modern and well kept. Kitchen well enough equipped we could have done some self catering : plenty of great local artisan suppliers just up the street in Oxbow Market - but the purpose of our visit was wining and dining.
Very busy at the weekend. The staff remained smiling and helpful despite some extra demanding patrons.
We used cabs to travel to Yountville from here at a cost of around thirty bucks. It's pretty quick to travel around from this area. The town is a short stroll away - and quite characterful - check out the historic homes if you've time to while away. I wish the historic society would have a word with the people who own the 1930's store building about the definition of "in keeping with" although the staff in the liquor store incredibly helpful. A neglected town gem I feel.

A great visit, a home from home, with cleaning angels thrown in, what's not to love. Great job - keep up the good work guys. Extra snaps for the valets and bell staff !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Iowquayloafer:

Thank you for this outstanding review and perfect feedback for us and our future travelers. I will be passing along your thoughts to the Housekeeping team, Valet Team and Food and Beverage team about the quality of work and outstanding service.

The description of the area and of the location is very well depicted and the feedback about the town is spot on. We’ll hope to see you again on your next visit across the “pond” and we hope your next travels continue to be as great as the last.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had the fortune of attending a work conference at this lovely hotel. We enjoyed 3 lovely days and 2 comfortable nights here.

Breakfast and lunch were served in the meeting room and we had a nice selection of delicious items to choose from. The staff was friendly and attentive despite a busy, full house.

The common areas as well as the individual private room spaces were all clean and well maintained. My room was fantastic, with a pretty view.

Next time, no work to distract me from enjoying everything this hotel and the beautiful surrounding neighborhood has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
NYIFan,

Thank you for the feedback for us and our TripAdvisor readers and this sounds like a great way to travel. Mixing a little pleasure in with a hard day’s work. We love to hear about all of our guests feedback especially from our corporate travelers.

Napa has always been well known as a place to come and enjoy on a leisure trip but we are expanding that idea to include our business and corporate travelers.

Thank you again and we’ll hope to see you on your next trip to the area and maybe next time it will include some additional leisure time.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit of a mixed bag. The restaurant, La Toque, is truly amazing. The food and service were absolutely terrific. On the other hand, we had a mini-suite, which seemed like a work in progress. It was large, had a very comfortable king-sized bed, but had very limited closet space and dressers. The clothes closet had no doors or curtains, so you looked at your clothes from the bed. Likewise the bathroom was also very large with both a bath and shower, yet there was only one sink and no shelf space for toiletries. We also had a kitchenette which for some reason had 2 microwave ovens. Like I said before, it seems like they haven't quite figured out what exactly they want this hotel to be. It has the potential to be first-class, but they aren't there yet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Ojaijim,

Thank you for the good review and both the good feedback and the feedback for improvement. In regards to your positive comments, I will be passing along your thoughts to our La Toque team. I would also like to add that I too feel that La Toque is one of the top restaurants in the Napa Valley and is currently the only Michelin starred restaurant in the town of Napa.

In regards to your rooms strange configuration, I was able to figure out what the cause of your concerns was. It seems that you were placed in one of our ADA wheelchair accessible rooms, and I apologize that it wasn't discussed with you at check in. Because of the ADA laws about heights and clearances the room you were in has had some modifications. The lack of closet doors is to allow for sufficient space. The lack of shelving in the bath is to allow for wheelchair access to the sink and to have enough space in the bathroom to fully turn around. Lastly, the 2nd microwave is to have a microwave at a low enough height for those in wheelchairs.

After reviewing the room that I believe you were staying in I can fully empathize with the feeling that the room was unfinished but it is all set up that way to accommodate full wheelchair accessibility and with the fixed amount of space in the room we had to make some outside the box changes.

Again, thank you for the 4 star review and I will be meeting with our management team to see what solutions we can come up with for your concerns.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay here. The suite rooms are great because you get a living room "hang out" area, dining room, and full kitchen which saved us some $$ on eating out. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. At first I wasn't thrilled with having to valet our car every time we arrived, but the valet staff was super friendly, fast, and accommodating and it wasn't a hassle at all. Also, if you don't need room-cleaning/refreshing services daily (we usually opt of of this for privacy sake), then you can indicate so with a hang-tag on your door knob. You'll get a $5 restaurant voucher each day you decline it, which we put towards breakfast the day of departure. I liked that I had that option. It was great, we would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Roz B,

Thank you for the great review and this sounds like you had a great trip. The Make a Green Choice option you referred to, when you don’t get your room service and you get a $5 food and beverage credit or 500 SPG Starpoints, is a great option for those that like their privacy or those that don’t tend to like to have their room serviced by housekeeping. This option is available at almost all Westin properties worldwide and can be a great bonus to our guests.

I’ll be passing along your great feedback to the staff and especially to our valet team.

We’ll hope to see you again on your next trip down to our area.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Metro Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The resort fee does include valet parking but I think that should be an option. Further the city tax per night was ridiculous. I realize it is napa but at the room rates, wow. The hot tub was nice but amazingly hot. I was ok w it but I think I might be the exception. Loved having a glass of wine in the lobby but I will say one of the two nights we were there it was impossible to get service. One person in our party had to belly up to the bar to get service. It was a great location for walking to oxbow market and to main at napa. Loved that! Great location as well for driving 29 or Silverado Highway South.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
MayasMom4Ever,

Thank you for the review, and both the good feedback and the feedback for improvement. I can see how the local occupancy tax could seem pretty high, 14%, but it is equal to all other properties in Napa and San Francisco. Also the resort fee of $20, as you mentioned does include valet, and also includes our Wi-Fi, shuttle service to the downtown Napa, wine tastings each night in the lobby and a variety of other services.

Lastly, I will be passing along your feedback to the food and beverage team and I can ensure you that we will be addressing your concerns.

Thank you again and be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Westin Verasa is a luxury property located near downtown Napa in the Oxbow area. The property is well maintained from the manicured landscaping, the lobby, and the suites. The suites located away from the street afford a very quiet stay and the one-bedroom suite has an ample kitchecn and dining area. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well appointed - we particularly liked the pretty stone tiled wall. Like the location - can walk to many restaurants you in downtown Napa at the Riverfront. We found the Oxbow Market and Model Bakery just down the street with delicious treats and small plates. Will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Hotel located cross the street from Wine Train - for quiet room try to book a room overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Karen T,

Thank you for the great feedback and tips for our future travelers and TripAdvisor readers. The feedback about our location and description of the rooms/property is spot on. I would also like to point out that there are some great rooms around the bocce ball and Solara courtyard, in addition to around the pool.

Another tip I would suggests is that as the summer approaches and the weather gets nicer and nicer, the pool is probably the best place in the town of Napa to be! With the beautiful scenery and salt water pool there is no other place in the downtown area that I would rather be.

We’ll hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Verasa Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.