We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel itself nice! Amazed at city tax and resort fee.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Verasa Napa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Verasa Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle Metro Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel itself nice! Amazed at city tax and resort fee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The resort fee does include valet parking but I think that should be an option. Further the city tax per night was ridiculous. I realize it is napa but at the room rates, wow. The hot tub was nice but amazingly hot. I was ok w it but I think I might be the exception. Loved having a glass of wine in the lobby but I will say one of the two nights we were there it was impossible to get service. One person in our party had to belly up to the bar to get service. It was a great location for walking to oxbow market and to main at napa. Loved that! Great location as well for driving 29 or Silverado Highway South.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
MayasMom4Ever,

Thank you for the review, and both the good feedback and the feedback for improvement. I can see how the local occupancy tax could seem pretty high, 14%, but it is equal to all other properties in Napa and San Francisco. Also the resort fee of $20, as you mentioned does include valet, and also includes our Wi-Fi, shuttle service to the downtown Napa, wine tastings each night in the lobby and a variety of other services.

Lastly, I will be passing along your feedback to the food and beverage team and I can ensure you that we will be addressing your concerns.

Thank you again and be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    268
    74
    42
    28
See reviews for
125
410
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Westin Verasa is a luxury property located near downtown Napa in the Oxbow area. The property is well maintained from the manicured landscaping, the lobby, and the suites. The suites located away from the street afford a very quiet stay and the one-bedroom suite has an ample kitchecn and dining area. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well appointed - we particularly liked the pretty stone tiled wall. Like the location - can walk to many restaurants you in downtown Napa at the Riverfront. We found the Oxbow Market and Model Bakery just down the street with delicious treats and small plates. Will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Hotel located cross the street from Wine Train - for quiet room try to book a room overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Karen T,

Thank you for the great feedback and tips for our future travelers and TripAdvisor readers. The feedback about our location and description of the rooms/property is spot on. I would also like to point out that there are some great rooms around the bocce ball and Solara courtyard, in addition to around the pool.

Another tip I would suggests is that as the summer approaches and the weather gets nicer and nicer, the pool is probably the best place in the town of Napa to be! With the beautiful scenery and salt water pool there is no other place in the downtown area that I would rather be.

We’ll hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay was way too short, a quick overnight girls trip in February, but I fell in love with this hotel. First off the rooms are beautiful. We booked two one bedroom suites and could not have been more pleased. The beds are comfortable, the decor inviting and the kitchenette a must when visiting the Valley. The concierge suggested Ristorante Allegria in downtown Napa for dinner (which is also a gem) and provided a shuttle to drive us to and from the restaurant. This hotel rates a best in class and service award from this reviewer. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
SCValleyGirl,

Thank you for this great review and it sounds like you had a fabulous time. On your next visit you’ll have to stay for an extended weekend so that you can really enjoy the property and our Legendary Napa Valley to the fullest.

We’ll hope to see you soon!

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Westin Verasa last week and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was a king suite with a full kitchen which worked out well so that each kid had their own tv to watch (one in living room and one in bedroom) on the day that it poured rain. The other 3 days were partially sunny so the pool was where we spent most of our time lounging. The location is great as we were able to walk to Oxbow Public Market numerous times for meals as well as downtown Napa. Staff was pleasant enough but not over the top friendly with the exception of the valet staff who were always great. Wine tasting and appetizers in the evening were fun to stop by on our way up from the pool or on our way out to dinner. Kids were super happy which is always my benchmark for how well our vacation went. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
RamengirlCA,

Thank you for the great review and although Napa is not well known for a vacation with the kids, it can end up being a very good time, especially in the spring. The weather is normally pretty good, not too hot and not too crowded. Also, our location makes it very easy to walk around and enjoy the area.

Also, the one bedrooms suite is a perfect fit for a family like yours. The king size bed in the bedroom, the sofa sleeper, the kitchen and 2 TV’s can make it a little more comfortable than most.

Thank you again and we’ll hope to see you soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great hotel with fabulous amenities and great staff. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. Balconies are a nice feature too depending on the side of the hotel you are on. We were on the entrance side so we had nice sunset views but had the loading dock directly below us. There is a roof so it isn't ugly per se but wasn't the best. The hotel is in a good location if you want to be able to walk to down town Napa, the wine train and the market. The Westin has a fridge in the room so you can pick up some delicious snacks at the market for breakfast, dessert or to go with that bottle of wine you bring back to your room. While I loved this hotel and it may be right for some I think I would look for a hotel further north into the valley for that true "wine country" experience.

Room Tip: I would ask for a pool or stream view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Juleszee,

Thank you for the great review and the very honest and insightful feedback for future travelers. I think you give a very good description of the hotel and I’m sorry that your room location wasn’t as great as some of the others. I also like how you highlighted some of the better points of looking toward the town of Napa. The hills and sunsets are amazing!

I also really like your feedback about a “true wine country” experience being a little north of the town of Napa. While it is true that most of the vineyards and small boutique towns and hotels are a bit further north they are often much more expensive, have less amenities and aren’t very easy to walk to and from.

All that being said, thank you again and we’ll hope to see you in the near future.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Incredible hotel. Beautiful inside and out. Next door to Napa Wine Train station makes it easy to enjoy both. Service was 5 star! Location is perfect. Free car service around the town of Napa to enjoy the shops and dining establishments. Nightly wine tasting in the lobby. Rooms are bright and wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Buckhill2,

Thank you for the review and we take great pride in being able to provide top notch, “5 star” service to all our guests. We truly feel that beside a great product, the one thing that will help differentiate us from others is our service. Thank you for the reinforcement and we’ll hope to see you again on your next trip out west.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Westin Verasa Napa is a beautiful hotel. The building and grounds are absolutely lovely and very modern. The foyer is stunning and very welcoming. There is a nice pool and hot tub outside which were a great way to relax in the cool March air.
Our room was a king suite with a kitchenette. It was great to have a mini fridge as well as the amenities to make our own food. The bathroom was my favourite part with both a tub and a shower. It was very large and spacious.
The hotel is also very centrally located. The Oxbow Public Market was a two minute walk down the street and the main town was a ten minute walk over the bridge. It is also located right by the wine train if this is something you would like to partake in.
We enjoyed two complimentary wine and appetizer tastings during our stay which was a great addition to the trip and a fabulous way to try some of the local wineries.
All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: As far as I understand all rooms are a good option as the hotel is situated further back from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Travellingduo2010,

Thank you for the pictures, the great feedback and review. This sounds like a wonderful trip and we always enjoy hearing about our guests travels. We’ll hope to see you on your next trip down to our Legendary Napa Valley.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Verasa Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.