We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, large rooms for Napa stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Verasa Napa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Verasa Napa to your Saves list
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice, large rooms for Napa stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed with another couple in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath "upgraded" suite, facing the river. The 2 bedroom unit has plenty of room, and a nice terrace. The rooms are are clean and quiet. Excellent beds. Our unit had a fairly long walk from the elevator and lobby.

Staff is friendly. We had one problem with the bill, which took some time to resolve, but eventually it was correctly handled.

Easy walk to the Oxbow Market - excellent breakfast items at Model Bakery. Bit of a longer walk to downtown Napa, though it's only 10-15 minutes. Unfortunately, we had cold and somewhat wet weather the second weekend in Dec. Even so, we walked to dinner both nights, and enjoyed not having to get into a car to go out at night.

I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room facing the river was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I would like to thank you and this is great feedback for all of our TripAdvisor readers. I think your suggestion of 2 couples in a 2 bedroom suite is a great option for people traveling together and your area suggestions and walk times are perfect.

We’ll look forward to your next visit and have a great new year.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    284
    76
    45
    34
See reviews for
136
440
19
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location is perfect, next to Napa Train, and the town's many bars and restaurants. Short ride to the wineries, a great spot to make a base when coming for a few days of wine tasting. They have almost nightly cocktails and small winery tastings, and the pool/outdoor areas are great. Getting to Napa River for a walk is a challenge, but once you figure out the shortcuts, not too bad.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the river for better views and privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review and feedback for all of our TripAdvior readers. On your next trip please feel free to stop by the desk and we have a few great options for scenic walks directly from the hotel. The river walk is a great option but for a bit longer stroll the Oxbow Preserve is under a .5 mile away.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Westin, despite the crappy weather that unfortunately came with our trip. The hotel more than made up for it. Our room was oversized with the kitchen in case we wanted to cook, but who had time with all the wine tasting? I loved the decor, and did I mention the bed? Heavenly is right! We ate in the restaurant several times and enjoyed each meal. The burger I had the first night at the bar was outstanding! Every evening there is a complimentary wine tasting, very nice. All of the people went out of their way to be helpful, whether giving directions, lending an umbrella, or giving a lift to a restaurant nearby. Speaking of restaurants, there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. (I just didn't want to walk in the cold rain.). I strongly recommend the Westin Verasa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for the perfect review and I’m glad to hear that the extreme amount of rain during your visit didn’t spoil all the fun that you had. I will be passing along your thoughts to the my Service Express team and also our entire food and beverage team. We love the great feedback and we’ll hope to see you again soon.

Next time we’ll make sure to keep the rain elsewhere.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was my first stay at a Westin and I doubt it'll be my last. The hotel was lovely. We were only in Napa one night, but I would've liked to be able to enjoy it longer. The room was very tastefully decorated, understated elegance is the phrase that comes to mind. Their "heavenly beds" are appropriately named, and super comfortable. The bathroom was especially luxurious. I liked the double shower heads in the shower. The valet (I'm trying to remember his name. Dustin, maybe?) was very polite and helpful when we arrived. And then when we got to the room I discovered I'd left my phone charger in the car, and he went back out and got it for me. One minor complaint, they have a $20 resort fee that covers the valet parking, internet, and some other things. Fairly common at high end hotels, but still a little annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for the honest and detailed feedback and I will pass along your thoughts to our valet and entire Service Express team. We always appreciate the positive feedback and the feedback for improvement. While I do fully understand the frustration with the additional amenity fee, we try to make it a low, reasonable cost, that combines a grouping of charges that at many properties exceeds $50 and even $60.

Thank you again and please let us know if there is anything else that we can do to ensure a great future visit.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have traveled a lot in my life and rarely am I surprised by luxury. I was amazed with the Westin; our suite was larger than the last condo I owned. The service was superior and the wine available at the bar is one of the most impressive lists I have ever seen. The breakfast is better than most hotels with quick service. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for this amazing review and I am glad that we were able to exceed all you expectations. I will be passing along your thoughts to our entire team and we’ll hope we’re able to see you again on your next visit to our beautiful Napa Valley!

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. The prices for offseason were incredible. A two bedroom suite has plenty of room for two couples. Our room was clean comfortable and quiet. The hotel is large so some of the rooms are a bit of a walk from the main lobby.

We were able to walk to the Oxbow Market and other shopping and browsing. That is a huge plus for breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for the great review and your feedback for future travelers is great. Offseason visits in a 2 bedroom suite, with 2 couples, is a great way to visit the Legendary Napa Valley.

We’ll hope to see you back soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I'm an SPG member and prefer to stay at Starwood resorts when I travel. I have never had a problem using my debit card at any other Starwood hotel. However at the Westin Verasa they will authorize your card upon check in for the FULL amount of your stay PLUS 40% to cover any amenities you may use. We were staying for several days so this turned out to be an enormous amount of money that was then pulled from my account, rendered unusable for the duration of my stay. It would have been nice to know about this crazy policy that I've only known to exist at this particular SPG hotel BEFORE my arrival - like as a disclaimer when I went to book online during the reservation process perhaps? Had I known in advance I would have brought a credit card with me for the hotel hold. I avoid using credit cards in general so didn't bring one with me. However the nearly $2000 authorization against my debit card was ridiculous and really ate in to my vacation budget.

Room Tip: Don't use a debit card to pay for this hotel unless you want the full amount of your stay plus 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for the providing us and our future guests this detailed feedback and I’m very sorry for the issues you encountered while staying with us. Our policy on debit cards and credit cards is the same, and is only to ensure payments can be made at the time of check out. Nothing is actually charged to the card but authorizations are made, which does hold actual money when using a debit card. The calculations of total room rate plus 40% are accurate, and depending on your room rate and the length of your stay, this amount can add up. That being said it should never be drastically more than the total cost of the stay once you factor in the taxes, the resort amenity fee and any incidentals.

Lastly I wanted to let you know that we are working on getting our authorization information added to our website and we're hoping it should be available to view just after the New Year.

I truly apologize and please let us know if you have any additional feedback.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#10 Business Hotel in Napa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Verasa Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.