We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Verasa Napa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Verasa Napa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff at the Westin Verasa makes everything easy for their guests. The rooms are nicely appointed, with a small kitchenette for longer staying guests. The bar and common spaces are comfortable and appealing, definitely a nice place to relax with a glass of wine. My only disappointment was not being there long enough to try out what looked like a great pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for the review and the great feedback to our future travelers. I hope on your next trip to Napa your able to fully indulge in all the hotel and all that wine country has to offer. I recommend a day out wine tasting, dinner at La Toque and a soak in our salt water spa before bed. To me this would be a perfect day in wine country.

Have a happy holidays and we’ll look forward to your next visit.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    271
    76
    43
    29
See reviews for
130
414
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Napa that would offer great accommodations at a great location. We found the Westin to be both! The rooms were very comfortable and we had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard with the pol and fire pit. This a a lovely low-rise property right along the Napa River. It was a short walk to the OxBow Market and the Model Bakery. Although you could walk into town in 10 minutes, we decided to take the complimentary shuttle from the hotel. Eugene, the shuttle driver was great, he gave us his cell number and we just called him when we were ready for a pick up after dinner. The parking attendants, specifically Sal and Brett were also very helpful, offering us tips on wineries. Every night from 5pm-7pm the hotel offers wine tastings from a local winery and tapas in the lobby. That was a fun way to start the evening before heading to dinner. The lobbly is lovely and a very comfortable place to relax with a drink or sit out by the fire pit.

Now for the not so perfect...we had a few problems with our room keys that became inactivated about 3x over the 5-nights stay. I was also disappoionted that the front desk did not call our attention to the fact that we would not receive Starwood Points as the names on our hotel reservation (my name) and Starwood Preferrred Guest acct (my Husbands name) did not match. I am now having to work this out directly with Starwood. Last but not least, the valet had an accident with our rental car, denting the side of the car on a pole in the parking garage. This was kind of stressful, but we realize that accidents happen. To the hotel's credit, they handled the matter very responsiby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for all the great recognition and detailed feedback for our future guests and I apologize for the various issues that you experienced. I will be thanking the staff for a job well done and I will also be speaking with our Engineering team to find out what might have happened with your room keys. Although the deactivation of room keys does happen from time to time, 3 times in one visit shouldn’t.

I would also be interested in making sure that your points are properly rewarded, so please feel free to contact me directly and I will do whatever I can to ensure that your points are credited to your account (nbaslaw@westinnapa.com).

Lastly, I deeply apologize for the inconvenience of having some damage occur to your rental car but thank you for allowing us the opportunity to make sure that it was all taken care of.

Have a happy holidays and we’ll look forward to your next visit.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in several hotels on a whirlwind California adventure, and hands down - this was our favorite hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the room was perfect and homey, the bed soo comfortable. We took advantage of the hot tub and the hotel bar - great drinks. Not a bad thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
That sounds like a great trip and thank you for the review. We love to hear about our guests great experiences and the Westin Heavenly Beds are almost always great night’s sleep.

On you next tour of California we’d love to welcome you back and we'll hope to see you back soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Convenient to wineries, the best restaurants, the wine train, the market and Oxbow the Westin Napa is a good choice. The salt water heated pool and wonderful views add to the experience. Service is excellent and friendly. We will definitely stay here when we return.

Room Tip: The suites have a full kitchen equipped with cooking needs. If traveling with or visiting family con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for all the excellent review and we love to hear what our guests are experiencing while staying with us. It sounds like a fun trip and we can’t wait to see you on your return visit.

Have a great holiday season and we’ll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is not what it used to be...

Over a year ago, I stayed at this hotel and it was a very enjoyable experience. I just did another stay here, and it was disappointing. Several of the staff members were somewhat rude, and overall the feeling of happiness was gone from this property.

There are signs of wear and stains in the bathroom that wasn't consistent with the quality of a Westin. Everything about this hotel has just diminished year after year. So just in comparison, the property has seen its better days and could use some staff re-training on what it means to be a top notch hotel.

And for the platinum amenity, they advise that you can choose breakfast, but they are only able to provide you with cold continental breakfast...cereal and milk. There isn't even an option to get a hot breakfast (they say the restaurant on property is not owned by them...which is a huge copout). THIS IS WORSE THAN YOUR TYPICAL MOTEL 6, as most discount places even offer you something nicer. Last year, they were able to offer hot breakfast as part of your platinum amenity...so disappointing for such a former grand dame.

On the bright side, the additional wineries that were supposed to have been arranged were done well

Room Tip: I have only stayed here in trips on napa weekends the past few years, next year I am considering sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback about your experiences and I’m sorry for the various issues and concerns that occurred during your stay. Guest service is our top priority and is a constant focus of all our hotel trainings. Having staff that are deemed “somewhat rude” is unacceptable and I will be speaking with our entire team.

I also want to emphasize the importance of our Platinum and other elite SPG members. The new SPG amenity options, released in March of this year, has been a great upgrade. The new Gold amenities and the change in Platinum choices has been a great enhancement. As you mentioned, Starwood did add the complimentary continental breakfast option which is one of the 3 choices and most likely the best value for our property. The breakfast is good for up to 2 people and is a great base for a day wine tasting. If the basic continental isn’t enough, we can always add some additional items off the menu and you would only be responsible for those items.

I know your most recent stay wasn’t exactly how you anticipated or expected but I can guarantee a better visit next time if you would be willing to give us another shot.

Thank you again and be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago, After a long day of traveling we got to our hotel. The women at the desk asked us if a first floor suite would be ok.We had booked the suite months ahead of time. When we got to our room, we found that it was over a busy noisey street. I called the front desk to request a room change. She said that the rooms were first come first served and that was the only room left. I told her that the women who checked us in made it seem like we had a choice. This women then said that she would move us into another room but, that never happened. We had to put up with the noisey street through the nights. I have to say that the valet staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room that is facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and our future guests with this detailed review and I’m sorry for the multiple issues that you experienced while staying with us. We never want our guests to feel as though they are staying in accommodations that are less than expected or have to deal with an uncomfortable night’s sleep.

I’d like to apologize on behalf of my entire staff for the lapse in communication and thank you for the kind words about our valet team.

Please feel free to let us know if there is anything else we may be able to assist with

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time in Napa Valley and we chose the Westin for its reputation and location. Little did we know exactly how great the location was. A 5-10 minute walk gets you to downtown Napa which has much to offer in its own right.

There are many packages here - we took the complimentary breakfast package. Both my girlfriend and I agreed that was the best breakfast we had on our trip which included Napa/SF.

Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review and the compliments about our location, experience and the endorsement of the best breakfast in SF/Napa!

We’ll hope to see you back soon on your next trip out west.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Verasa Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.