We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jarvis Estate

Jarvis Estate
2970 Monticello Road, Napa, CA 94559
+1 800-255-5280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 216 Activities in Napa
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jarvis Estate is a family owned winery dedicated to crafting a limited quantity of preeminent wines from our sustainably farmed, estate vineyards in the rugged hillside, four miles east of downtown Napa Valley. The Jarvis Estate winemaking facility is entirely contained within 45,000 square feet of cave tunneled into the scenic Vaca Mountains,and is not only a visual masterpiece, but a technical masterpiece as well. Wines are produced only from estate grown grapes and are cave-aged to perfection prior to release. Varietals include: Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Verdot, Tempranillo and a two proprietary Bordeaux blends.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Jarvis in June, at the suggestion of a colleague whose sister is a member of their wine club. The entire operation, with the exception of the vines, is housed in underground caves. The story of its inception and the beautiful caves were very interesting. The tasting was excellent. I much prefer red wine, but actually enjoyed the white as well. I strongly recommend trying it out. The tasting and tour is more expensive than at some other vineyards, but the unique environment and quality of the wines makes it definitely worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    22
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bramley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Compared with the majority of excellent vineyards in the Napa and Sanoma valleys, we found the Jarvis tasting experience much less personal and less engaging. During the tour itself, we felt that there was a time schedule to follow, and so we couldn't linger, or ask too many questions, and it was clear to us that we must depart before the next scheduled group were due to start. The price of the tasting experience at $60 per person was not justified; really far too expensive. And don't get me started on the price of the wine bottles, should you decide to purchase one or two.....The bottles started at over $95 each, and really the wine is not that great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“With so many choices- Jarvis should be number 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

With so many wineries to choice from we sort out recommendations from friends and family.A family friend suggested we make sure that we visit Jarvis, his number one choice and now ours. He is a member of their inner circle, a wine club where members receive shipments of wine, etc. The week before our trip, we actually had a bottle from the Jarvis estate and commented on how delicious it was.Talking to our experience, we enjoyed every part of the tour and tasting. The winery is located in a tunneled out cave in a beautiful mountain which has a water fall inside. Everything about the winery is very cool. (I believe the tour guide said the women's restroom was featured in a magazine.) Once inside, we were greeted and made to feel very comfortable. The tour was well organized in terms of knowledge and timing. Our guide was delightful. He really knows what he is talking about and was able to answer all questions from the people in the tour.( We attended another winery tour and they did not compare to the experience we had at Jarvis.) Having a tour guide that has a passion for the industry and a commitment to having you have the very best experience at the tasting made it easy to see why everyone bought bottles including us.The tasting room was lovely. We sampled 6 wines from 6 different glasses. Cheese was also provided as past of the tasting. Jarvis produces a limited number of bottles of each wine. Our favorite was the Merlot 2010.We also enjoyed the Lake William 2007 and the Finch Hollow Chardonnay 2011. Actually, we enjoyed everything about the tasting and the tour! Reserve early.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best wine tour in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband I visited Jarvis Estate while in Napa in July. It is an absolute fantastic experience. This winery is completely inside a cave. The wine tasting is held in a room and you are given 6 glasses to taste six different wines. Each wine was superb. Their wines have won Wine Enthusiast 90+ awards . Visit this place it is worth it. Be sure to reserve a tour ahead of time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We toured Jarvis on our last day in Napa, and it was spectacular! The caves made for such unique experience. Our tour guide Rob was very funny and ends with a sit down tasting with cheeses. We ended up joining their club, and look forward to enjoying our Jarvis wines for years to come.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jarvis Estate also viewed

 
 

Been to Jarvis Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jarvis Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.