We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Wine Train

Napa Valley Wine Train
1275 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559
+1 800-427-4124
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$214*
and up
Viator Exclusive: After-Hours Grgich Hills Winery...
Ranked #12 of 163 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Wine tasting, Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Napa Valley Wine Train provides a relaxing three-hour, thirty-six mile round-trip journey from the historic town of Napa, through one of the world's most well known wine valleys to the quaint village of St. Helena, and back.Guests aboard the Wine Train enjoy a freshly prepared lunch or dinner inside a fully restored 1917 Pullman Dining Car or 1952 Vista Dome car as they pass the vineyards and wineries of Napa Valley. They also have the option of pre-purchasing a winery tour.
Northern California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great anniversary trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fun ride on an old train. We brought our own Napa wine but they had a nice list. Food was great and so were our waiters.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,145
    372
    94
    56
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Organized but Leisurely; Pricey but Gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The fun began in a packed room at the Train Station with the daughter of the Grgich winery giving an enthusiastic history of her father’s beginning in Croatia to eventually studying with Mondavi in California and then establishing his own winery and winning the 1973 Paris Judgement! 2 tastings of their wine were efficiently distributed to a full room. The train is well-organized with reserved seating in padded chairs looking out windows for an appetizer and then moving to a comfortable dining car for the remainder of the meal. Although billed as a lunch, the gourmet meal had dinner portions. The selections for lunch were varied and presented and prepared exceptionally well. They seated us on the opposite side of the train for a different view on the way back from St. Helena. Friendly staff. We wished more of a history of wine, wine-making and other vineyards would have been available as part of the package during the train ride. Extra wine, even though wonderfully paired with meal choices, can significantly increase the cost for the 4 hour experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Napa Valley Wine train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Napa Valley Wine train is structured for the more "mature" group of people. But the food and service were unbelievable

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Porsche Club Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our group had a cabin all together which was really nice. The Napa Valley Train ride was great, the food was good and the service was excellent! We'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“" A Taste of the Napa Valley "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was truly a lovely experience! We did not know what to expect, this was our first time to Napa Valley. On a friends suggestion we made our reservations to include the gourmet luncheon in the observation car. It was absolutely fabulous!! From the moment we checked in, it was a warm friendly atmosphere. The vineyard represented was very good, introducing us to their wines before we boarded, which we thought was a wonderful way to understand their product. The food was outstanding and the service excellent! We especially enjoyed talking with our hosts from the vineyard as well as the friendly chef and his staff. A nice way to see the beautiful vineyards!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Valley Wine Train also viewed

 

Been to Napa Valley Wine Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Wine Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.