We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quixote Winery

Quixote Winery
6126 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558
707-944-2659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 148 things to do in Napa
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everybody there has great wines, but just Quixote has a passionate and eccentric story. Their place is really beautiful and different from everything that we could ever seen. David took us for a tour in the cellars with their unique steel barrels decorated by their employees.. their winery has more than grapes and good structure, they have soul. You can't miss this place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, Manager at Quixote Winery, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for coming and experiencing Quixote Winery. We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Estate off the Beaten Track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

David, Head of Hospitality, gave us a wonderful tour of this unique winery, set off the beaten track. The architecture is colourful and unique and the story behind the building is fascinating. Quixote's whole approach is different from all the other wineries we visited. It is fun, educational and very personal plus the Syrahs were lovely. Definitely make an appointment and see it for yourselves.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Calling all art/wine aficionados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This winery has an exceptional back story and David, head of hospitality, is just the man to tell it. We had a little trouble finding it but once we saw the unique building, designed by Friedensreich Hundertwasser , we were glad we had persevered. Just wandering through the buildings would've been worth it but the big reds, especially the Petit Syrah blends are wonderful. David kept our interest for over an hour with information about creating the winery and creating the wines.
We visit the wineries in Napa for a variety of reasons (you can buy wine online after all) : entertainment, education, to add depth to our aesthetic appreciation of the wine... Quixote hits all the bases and frankly is just plain fun. Quixote restores one's faith in the idea that we drink wine for pleasure!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic wines in a trippy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a do not miss site for architecure buffs. Completely hidden from the road, the winery reveals itself bit by amazing bit as you approach from the parking area. Your reward for making an appointment is not only the chance to see the amazing architecture, but to enjoy some of the best syrah you will ever taste.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Estate, Interesting Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Quixote is an off the beaten path gem replete with whimsical architecture. We had a wonderful tour of the facility, full of colorful stories regarding the designer and his charismatic nature. The tour ends with the tasting and cheeses in the back patio. Petite Syrah was exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quixote Winery also viewed

 

Been to Quixote Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quixote Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.